We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do when in Stirling.....”

Stirling Ghost Walk
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Stirling Ghost Walk - now nearing it's twenty-fifth year - is a guided dramatic guided tour of Stirling's historic Old Town, using comedy and drama to recount frightful tales from the history and folklore of the area. Tours run at 8.30pm, Tuesday-to-Saturday in July and August, each year, and at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays from September-to-June - all tours meeting at the gates of the Old Town Jail / SYHA Hostel in St John Street, Stirling. Private bookings are available throughout the year - and a 10% discount offered to patrons of local hotels, hostels and B&Bs.Visit our website or Facebook for details and updates.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A must do when in Stirling.....”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a definite must do if you are Stirling.
Firstly, it was cheap. We got a discount as we staying at a local hotel which made it even better.
The guide was brilliant, he was entertaining, funny, enthusiastic and he knew his stuff.
We were worried that there would be loads of walking up and down the hills that make up Stirling but there wasn't too much. The tour was filled with exciting and spooky stories.
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Stirling.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngieB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Many thanks. Many local hotels, B&Bs and hostels recommend the GhostWalk to their visitors, and we are happy to return the compliment by offering their patrons a 10% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    11
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun and spooky at the same time”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a great time on the ghost walk walk hearing the spooky tales of the ghosts in Stirling and had great fun taking part. The happy hangman is very entertaining and brings the stories he tells to life.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollypinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you, Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend the evening!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First time I've done the walk despite living here for 36 years!!

No need to book, just turn up at the meeting point and buy your ticket from "Jock" then prepare to enter into the spirit of things! Lots of stories to be told, whether they are true or not I'll leave up to you to decide. But interesting nonetheless. Not for the feint hearted, you will be walking round a graveyard at night! Be prepared to get involved, it certainly made our walk interesting.

As pointed out by "Jock" the walk will differ depending on the group dynamic, so if you're up for a bit of a laugh, all the better. Although it will probably be at you own expense!

I cannot recommend this highly enough, well worth the £6 ticket price. Although please visit the website first as it will let you know what discounts are available if you are student/concession/staying in a local establishment. But Jock will ask you this before you pay.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twilighter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks, Twilighter. We aim to please. This is the kind of response that makes the Happy Hangman happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best attraction in Stirling- do not miss this!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I decided to do this Ghost Walk during my birthday weekend in Stirling. I contacted David (the happy hangman) using quick and easily links on the website, he came back to me almost immediately confirming the details.

The tour was fantastic, it had great stories and facts in abunden. The Happy Hangman is a scary man with a devilish past, his wit and timing second to none. He even had my boyfriend laughing and spooked in equal quantities.

Anyone visiting Stirling would be a fool to miss this, the price and quality of the tour was better than the castle and made my birthday one I'll never forget.

Advice-if it's a winter night wrap up warm and wear comfy shoes. Bring the right money if you can, the hangman doesn't mind giving change but its best to be prepared. Take a camera for a quick pic of the Hangman in all his glory!

Helpful?
1 Thank Np1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
High praise indeed. Many thanks for such a glowing review. With the (shameful) closure of the Old Town Jail, I'm currently working on a number of daytime tour ideas to keep visitors entertained - and dwelling on other aspects of local history, but - rest assured - the GhostWalk will continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This ghost walk is my absolute favorite thing to do in Stirling. I studied abroad this summer at the University of Stirling. While there I attended this ghost walk at least 4 times. Each time was just as wonderful as the last. It is fully of fun ghost stories as well as puns, and historical insight. The guide has a plethora of knowledge on folklore and history as well as a multitude of other facts. This is a most when visiting Stirling!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I hope you enjoyed your studies in Stirling, Katherine, It's always gratifying when visitors return to the GhostWalk - especially when they bring friends and family to share the experience: truth be told, there's really no better recommendation. The character of the show changes with each new audience, too - a serious group gets a serious show, a playful group merits a more light-hearted approach - which helps me keep the stories and presentation fresh. I hope we'll see you on the tour again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stirling Ghost Walk also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to Stirling Ghost Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing