We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother - pick another hotel”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother - pick another hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed in a twin room (205), the room was filthy with dust, headboard, light fittings, lamp shade, inside the wardrobe, a filthy net curtain, broken window catch (which the hotel knows all about!) and a lovely dusty cobweb to boot. If you don't believe me just check - it is still attached between the right hand wall light and the wall just above the dressing table! This is after we complained to the hotel about the uncleanliness. To be fair the staff member offered to move us to another room but we declined and decided to let housekeeping rectify the problems the next morning.
This was a total error on our part not only because the room was still dusty but because the noise from the street below through the night was appalling. If you do decide to stay at this hotel do not let them allocate you a room at the front of the hotel. Taxi's run up and down the street all night, people shouting and creating at all hours and seagulls squawking all night - maybe the hotel should invest in double glazing?
On a positive note Stirling is a beautiful town which is great for shopping, the Thistle shopping centre is great.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MidiCutson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    295
    212
    107
    86
See reviews for
140
384
36
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I booked a room by phone at this hotel on the understanding that it was wheelchair friendly as my husband as Motor Neurone Disease. We have been to Oz to visit our son twice since diagnosis and, believe me, it was a darned sight easier to go twelve thousand miles by plane than than to travel forty miles away by train! First of all, we had to enter the hotel by the car park which has a lift at the back door. This was entered by pushing the chair up a steep ramp. We were assured that this entrance was under review. When we got to our room on the second floor we were disappointed to find that the executive room that we were promised was actually quite basic and extremely noisy all through the Monday night. The hotel obviously has no control over outside forces. The bathroom had been renovated to wheelchair standard but it is a moot point as to whether any professional opinion had been sought. My husband has a little mobility which meant that he could use the toilet but gave up on the shower by the second morning. The shower had two grab rails but the bathroom floor was not safe when wet. There was only one room in the whole hotel which had a walk in shower and this had a ramp which led up to fire doors. This meant that we either had to find someone to hold the doors open for us or we had to take a run at it in order to get to the lift. The dining room menu was very basic but the food was adequate. The dining room was quiet on the Tuesday evening and the waitress was a rush to get us served and out as quickly as possible, which was a pity as other guests were also coming in at that time. All in all our visit, which was a bit of a dummy run, was pretty disappointing. Most of the staff were lovely and only too ready to help but I felt that the executive room that we were promised was a real let down at £100 a night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoozySuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My partner at the time had surprised me with an overnight stay here for my birthday. I had looked the place up online and thought the executive suites looked gorgeous! That was until we got there! Upon checking in the receptionist had clearly gotten out the worng side of bed that morning! So up we went to our room in the very old, very grotty lift! *I was actually a bit scared using it!* When I walked in to the corridor I was unpleasantly surprised at how shabby the place was in general, dirty carpets and walls everywhere! When we got to the room I gasped in horror, the top sheet on the bed looked as if it had been burnt with an iron. The furniture was all very dark mahogany which made the place look very dark and even more shabby. The TV was the size of an A4 piece of paper and the picture was terrible! There was basically no room to swing a cat! When we were leaving that night to go for a drink at the local pubs we walked in to the reception area to discover that there was a wedding on which reception had neglected to tell us about! To sum up, the place is in dire need of redecoration and the rooms badly need a good clean and a lick of paint!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stirling hotels

Guernsey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Golden Lion Hotel's car park is impossible to find. Don't try it by yourself. Either phone beforehand for directions or stop at tourist information. The hotel itself is situated in the pedestrianised area of Stirling and is a great location for going out in the evening.
The room that we had was perfectly clean and had obviously had a recent overhaul. The bathroom seemed quite new. However, it was very small. The only window was set up high in the wall so that you couldn't actually see out - very claustrophobic. However, its fine if you don't want to spend any time in your room.
Why do some hotels persist in believing that two adults can sleep comfortably in a 4'6" bed?
Breakfast was OK - we've had worse.
would we stay there again? Probably not, but it wasn't so bad that i would warn anyone off.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed here for three nights as we had come to see the Open at St Andrews . Our doubleroom on the fifth floor was like something from the 1970s. The bathroom vey basic ..Not to mention the noise from builders refurbishing the property next door with stone cutting equipment going from 8 in the morning
[not the hotels fault]. Brekfast was very bad tinned grapefruit , cold bacon eggs etc.and only one poor guy trying to serve 40 plus people.
Good location but with some money spent this building could be quite charming
Will not stay there again
.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheodoraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Travelled here with a large group for British Open at St Andrews.
Although hotel is old and in need of modernisation I felt this gave it some extra charm. Our coach pulled up just as a bride and her wedding party arrived. We were all piped into the hotel.
Despite the nunber of people arriving all at once check in was handled very efficiently.
Room could do with a makeover although was comfortable and bathroom with power shower was great.

Reception and bar staff were extremely firndly and couldn't do enough to help. I felt kinda stupid that I couldn't get bedroom windows closed but when I reported to reception I was told it was no bother they would send someone to the room to close them. Not only did they do this but came into the bar to tell me that they had done so. Bar prices were very reasonable for a hotel.

The hotel is in a great location right in centre of town and about a minute walk to huge shopping centre as well as variaty of bars and restaurants.

Only downside was staff in breakfast room. They were disorganised unfriendly and in cases downright rude. We arrived for breakfast and fount the only table that was set up at the time which happened to be on the top tier. Halfway through eating breakfast we were told that as we were with group we should sit on lower tier with them and were led to a table were some of our travelling companions had been sitting leaving behind remains of unfinished breakfast and cups of half drank team which staff had not yet cleared away. The next day I had to fetch my own cultery cups etc so that there was no repeat of having to be moved half way through the meal. Other than service food when available was very good.

Would go back but only if there were new staff in restaurant or they received some proper training.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Went to the Golden Lion for early evening meal after calling to check the restaurant would be opened. On arrival we were told the restaurant/kitchen was closed but then we were reluctantly accommodated.
The menu we were given was not the menu on display and the quality of food did not reflect the price charged. Very unwelcoming. Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 8-10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing