We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Night”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Ideal if you are arriving by public transport but inconvenient if travelling by car as car park is extremely small and difficult to get to, this was our third time for a party nigh,t the band and disco were good and the meal although small was good quality and tasty.IMO there were far too many people crammed into the function room which was never the case previously which made moving within the room a little difficult.
The room we were given was small but very clean, modern and comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent as usual if not a little chaotic.
Overall this is a nice hotel in a good location right in the centre of town a short walking distance to bus and rail routes and right next to many bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeeskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
There are newer reviews for Golden Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 976 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

My workmates and I stayed here on the 7th of December for a party night.
Great food,band,disco,room and stay.
Already planning to have our night out here again next year.
Also thought staff were great too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments,
I will let all the Team know and hope to be of service to you again in the foreseeable future
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The worst customer service of any hotel I have stayed in. I feel that the customers are an inconvenience that the staff have to tolerate, and frankly I am still at a loss as to why I am to blame for not getting the email sent by the hotel(which they did not produce a copy of) informing us of the need to move hotels and why the uninterested young man on reception did not tell us about it on one of the TWO times we asked if our rooms were ready.
If the need to stay in Sterling arises in the future I will certainly NOT consider this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent meal Christmas meal for 50+ in the Wallace Room. Organisation from booking to table planning to set up of room was first class . This hotel was ideal for our purpose warm & welcoming , the meal was good , the staff both in the bar and serving our meal were professional and pleasant . We had a most enjoyable dinner.
I would reccomend this hotel to any group looking for a dinner or function in the Stirling area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, I will let all the Team know
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Others from our group have already reviewed this hotel and the mess they made of our booking, but I feel it necessary to add....
On arrival the receptionist was clearly not interested in us. We were early and he did not check if our rooms were ready (or would have discovered they were storm damaged). Checking twice and making the specific point the we wanted our arrival registered so that there was no problem with a let check-in on our return from a rugby match should have been enough to avoid the subsequent problems. When we went into the bar for a beer the service was very slow and the dirty table we sat at was never cleared.
The attitude of the manager when dealing with the problem was very poor. He repeatedly talked over me and interrupted me until I had to insist that he stop doing so. Only after some considerable time was an apology made.
I do not know what the hotel is like to stay in, but from what we saw it falls very far short in terms of staff training. The hotel we were moved to however was excellent, and only 5 minutes away. Best advice - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank DavidNRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here with family on Saturday night - will never return and do not recommend this hotel to anyone! Advised staff members on three occasions (from 1pm to 5.30pm) that our heating was not working and nothing was done about it. Eventually asked for the General Manager who to be honest was not really interested but said he would send the Duty Manager to investigate. Eventually he appeared and advised the heating could not be fixed but would send us a heater. Unfortunately we did not have any hot water either and were advised there were no other rooms and it was basically "too bad"! We were offered a bottle of wine in the bar but when it came it was lukewarm and undrinkable house rubbish. After returning from dinner we still did not have a heater in our room! The Duty Manager was also rude to another family member who had booked a family room and were given a room right above the ballroom and the two young children were kept awake all night with the loud boom boom disco music until 1am. He was told "you should have checked the website before booking"! Apart from no heating or hot water, all three rooms we booked were shabby, dirty and very dated. Breakfast was average, nothing to write home about. After some haggling we managed to get a refund for the "ice room", but not much in the way of an apology..............................do not ever book room 506

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank for commenting on your recent stay with us, Yes there was an issue with the heating and Hot water in your room only, this has now been addressed and we thank you for this.

You were offered an alternative larger room which you declined to accept, therefore we refunded you the one night's stay with out having to 'haggle', it was offered to you.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

After deciding to head to Stirling for a rugby match with a group of friends, I booked us all in to the Golden Lion due to its central location and ease of car parking.

The six of us arrived at around 11.30am and alerted the receptionist to our presence, asking whether there was any chance we could book in a bit early (the paperwork we were sent stated check in at 12pm). We were told by the gentleman on reception that we could not do so as check in was at 2pm, so off we went for a beer in the bar.

Before heading off to Stirling County RFC (fantastic club, by the way) about an hour later, we double checked that the rooms were not ready - told that there was no way they would be until around 1.30pm - before explaining that we were off to the match and wouldn't be back for some time, but just wanted them to know we were here and not to re-sell the rooms.

So you can imagine our surprise when we returned to check in at 6pm to be told that not only were our rooms not ready, but that we were actually being shipped off to an entirely different hotel because the rooms we had booked had been damaged by the storm!

Frankly, the service we received from the hotel manager in resolving this issue was rude and attempting to place the blame on us, the customers. After more than 30 minutes of discussion we were sent packing to another hotel - which I will review separately - after a string of excuses from the manager who seemed unable to accept that this was a cock up on the part of his staff.

Abysmal customer service made what could have been an inconvenience that was easily resolved into an upsetting way to waste nearly an hour of our break. Do not book at this hotel if you actually want a place to stay!

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank nrfcmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you once again for highlighting your concerns which we expeditely attended to due to the recent Storm Damage sustained last week where we had to outbook several rooms unfortunately.

We had previously communicated to you 2 days prior to arrival to alert you of the situation where you denied having received this from us until i showed you the proof you requested, which I would also note, states arrival from 2pm which is on all our terms & conditions where ever you book, not 12 pm. If you read the confirmation email it would show you that the cancellation policy is 12noon day prior to arrival.

Having to be shouted and harrassed by more than one of your party, which really at one stage I did have to interrupt and say to you there was no need for this - and intimidated to say the least
by the other Gentleman - then told off like a 5 year old boy is totally unacceptable behaviour.

You were accommodated at another Local hotel within 3 minutes walking distance, upgraded to a Four Star Hotel at a lesser rate than you would have paid and provided two Taxis to take you there at no additional cost to your party. What more could we have done!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#16 of 20 in Stirling
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 8-10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: $117 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing