We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't go there if I were you”
Review of Lost Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lost Guest House
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I wouldn't go there if I were you”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was there last Saturday as part of a larger party who were there for the murder mystery weekend. The room was really not clean, particularly the shower, which was grubby and covered in hairs. The temperature of the water was either freezing or scalding, no middle ground.

The meal was ok, the best bit was the cheesecake, however I'd asked several times about a vegetarian option and at the point the melon was being served, when I asked for the third time, I was asked 'would I not eat the chicken?' No, obviously, or why would I be asking?

The decor is pretty tired and the whole place could do with a facelift. I agree with another reviewer that the staff were pretty dour.

We had a good time, but not because of the hotel, but because of the company. I'd also say that the tarrif is far too much given the quality of the meal and accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cl4re2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    100
    59
    49
    45
See reviews for
44
187
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed Saturday night of Valentines weekend. Had upgraded room to a suite. Suite was very nice, although a little to warm. Had our evening meal at the hotel which had a fixed price menu 0f three courses for £10.
Selection on the menu was very good and served very quickly. We would happily have paid more for the meal which was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was very good. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and will recommend to family friends. We come to Stirling now and again and will have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, General Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for this review, we're pleased to hear that Dinner was just what we are aiming to give our guests: good food at a great price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booked in for two nights. Double room with tv,tea and coffee facilities. Meal in the evening was very good. Service was excellent, young batman and young waitress looked us well. Service with a smile. Full English breakfast or continent offered. Location is very near the shops and the Thistle shopping centre

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parsaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went to terraces on Valentine's night on the recomenndation of family & friends , bitterly dissappointed, seated in a room at the back of hotel & told by waitress to " pick a seat " , room was cold when we sat down, waitress promptly arrived for order , starters arrived with the wrong sauces, although tasted no too bad , main courses arrived shortly after, my partners Gamon steak was slightly overcooked & very fatty , my main course of fajitas were nice , we then waited 25 mins for our plates to be cleared & sweet orders too be taken, my partners sweet appeared to be very dry & we have our suspicions in it either been microwaved for too long or reheated , that's when it did arrive a further 20 mins after table was cleared . On the whole the meal was not as good as we had expected , the service left a lot to be desired , perhaps if the staff smiled it would help as looking at there faces they gave the impression they did not want to be there , we waited at least another 15 minutes on the waitress returning to give us our bill, she didn't return !!! We then had to go too the reception area to pay our bill . Don't think we will hurry back .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, General Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations particularly when the hotel has been recommended by your family and friends. Please get in touch, we would like to invite you back and so we can get it right for you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stirling hotels

Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Recently stayed here for valentines weekend, very nice meal on valentines night, 3 courses and a rose presented at the table. A warm and friendly atmosphere and really well cooked and presented dinner. Room was warm and cosy, old world charm, overlooking the church windows outside. Had the feel of a small family run business which superseded itself in some aspects....food, comfort, location, staff were quick to serve and pleasant, however we did notice the selotape reinforcing the stair bannister and the worn stairway carpet, which are things that could easily be corrected and would improve the first impressions when going up to the rooms, sometimes it's these little noticeable things that can influence customers perception and influence their stay. It's a lovely old building situated on a grand street above the main road, with similar properties either side. Would highly recommend booking the 3 course dinner which exceeded expectations on a very busy night for service. Cooked breakfast was good every morning on a 3 night stay with quick efficient service each time. We would look forward to returning in the future but hope that some minor details would be seen to and solved which ultimately would continue to improve this small hotel to reach it's huge potential which we think it is more than capable. Best wishes and thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnsimpson401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, General Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Good to hear your stay was enjoyable and that the things we work hard on like the warm, welcoming, family owned atmosphere and good food at a great price are coming across to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed over other night in room 4, was clean , lovley décor.....highly recommended.


I decided to have 3 courses for £10, didn't expect much but WOW.....Food was die for, no micro meals. was surprised at quality AND quantity for price,
was a older lady who served us long dark hair, very attentive, chatty, polite and bubbly.

overall my experience was well worth value for money, room , meal and staff.......id recommend the place to everyone . next time im thro they'll see me again.

Room Tip: choose room 4, there suits are nice as well ( I had a peak).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 829mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I went to terraces for 3 courses for £10 other night.......amazing!

Friendly service,food cooked great,great service and good price....few supplements. But my over all experiance good. Highly recommended the terraces.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.1 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
950 reviews
1.5 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Guest House

Property: Lost Guest House
Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland (Formerly Terraces Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Lost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling
Lost Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing