We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in Terraces for a meal”
Review of Lost Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lost Guest House
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I decided to give theTerraces a visit to try their new £10.00 dinner menu. Absolutely excellent value and would highly recommend a visit for anybody looking for a wide choice and a wonderful meal.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 382 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and my wife decided to take a few days away from home.
A bit unsure about staying here at first as I had heard bad reviews about the hotel. I even tried to cancel but we didn't. On arrival we were greeted by a happy chap who informed us about what we needed to know about the hotel and the city. Our room wasn't grand but it was comfortable and clean, just what we needed for our stay. Clean towels every day
We never ate in the restaurant until the 3rd night and we wished we ate there every night. Food was to die for. Amazing and very cheap too. A 3 course meal for £10. Well worth it I say.
The staff were very attentive in the hotel, maybe a bit too much for some. The chap in the restaurant liked to talk - my only dislike this as we were trying to eat and he kept chatting to us.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and their restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for the review. You’ve picked out some of the things the new management team here have been working hard on like the warm welcome, attentive service, clean comfortable rooms and great food at a great price. A review like this makes all the hard work worthwhile, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Thanks to great actors a disaster was averted. If we find out where else they put on their murder mysteries we would book again but not at this hotel. No hot water from the time we arrived and couldn't even have a cold shower, meal extremely disappointing - even the tea was lukewarm and stewed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This dump could have spoilled our surprise 60th celebrations. We booked up for the Murder Mystery night. First sign that all was not as advertised was the tired, washed out decor. We could live with that, however our rooms, three in all, we're less from clean. The shower room absolutely filthy. No hot water in any of the rooms. The food barely edible, the menu on the website was very promising, but changed without discussion. Food basic, over cooked and cold. They even forgot to bring out the birthday cake. No water in the ladies loo - surely this must break a few hygiene rules. Kitchen staff dropped plates, cutlery, un- eaten food all over the place. It was so comical that we thought it was all part of the act. The Murder Mystery gang were hilarious and thank goodness for that else our party celebrations would have been totally spoilt. Terrace - you should be ashamed of yourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracyu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Sorry that you stay has not lived up to your and our expectations. There was a failure with the hot water system over the weekend which has been rectified with the installation of a brand new boiler. That aside we are a new team working hard to try and improve the hotel. Our aim is to be a hotel where we make special times all the more special. We clearly haven’t managed that for you and your friends who have also written reviews , we’ll be in touch to see how we can put things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked overnight stay for Murder Mystery event with 3 friends to celebrate a 60th birthday, rooms were a bit tired, but passable. Dinner Menu on the website had been changed totally, however we were offered an alternative. The food was dreadful, Lentil soup awful chicken was overcooked and inedible, cheesecake solid, coffe/tea cold...all in all it was terrible.....the Murder entertainment saved the day, it was absolutely brilliant and so much fun. Only one of the water taps in the Ladies Toilets was working and in the bedrooms (we had 3 between us) we had to wash in cold water, none of us had any hot water and could not shower in the morning. we complained to staff who said they had had a plumber out to fix it, but offered no compensation. We didn't let it dampen our spirits, but would definitely NOT recommend this hotel and will not be returning...sorry Terrace Hotel, you really need to get your 'act' together too !

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice hotel well placed but on arrival we were told that there was no hot water but plumber was working on it. Got up s unday and still no hot water . Breakfast was ok had better. Checked out and still no apology for no hot water. Not worth £80.00 price better off in a travelodge or premier inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymous186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your fair and balanced review. We hoped we had spoken to anyone who was unhappy about the boiler failure. I’m sorry to see that this didn’t happen while you were in the hotel and while we could have done something positive to improve your stay. As a small, independent hotel we aim to compete with the chains hotels you mention through our personal service and a genuine concern for our customers so we are disappointed and apologise this didn’t happen during your stay. Please get in touch so we can talk to you about your stay now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Don't bother staying here. There are better places you can stay in for the same price. The woman behind reception has no idea how to be polite and is just plain ignorant. The room was tired and to small. The tea and coffee was inadequate, 1 packet of biscuits is just cutting corners! There was marks all over the walls and behind the shower door had never seen a cloth! There was also no soap. The bed is like sleeping on a concrete slab, woke up constantly in pain! All in all this hotel is very poor. Great location though very central!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheggers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is greatly appreciated and goes a huge way in improving the guest experience here at The Terraces.

I apologise that you felt that the receptionist on duty was not welcoming, which I can assure you is not how we train our staff to be. It is not acceptable to have anything but a good impression from our staff so I greatly apologise for this.

We stock our tea and coffee in the room, to ensure our guests get 1-2 cups at least, and a packet of shortbread which has 2 pieces in. We would of happily assisted you with a top of of any of the items.

There is no excuse for lack of cleanliness in the bedrooms, and this shall be strongly addressed with the house keeping team.

I would very much appreciate if you could get in touch with me directly at the hotel so we can discuss this matter further.

Please do accept my sincere apologies, and I do hope to welcome you to The Terraces Hotel in the future in order for us to compensate for your experience. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
578 reviews
1.5 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
520 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Guest House

Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland (Formerly Terraces Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: $65 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling
Lost Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing