We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit”
Review of Lost Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lost Guest House
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nicely situated hotel very close to town centre with on site parking which is always a bonus. Reception staff were lovely and made us very welcome. Our room was small and a little jaded , furniture had seen better days . Bathroom was small but very modern looked nice . The room wasn't dirty but could of been cleaner there seemed to be a lot of dust. Bed was comfortable and we did get a decent night sleep but the walls are incredibly thin and we could here conversations in the next room, not a lot you can do about that I suppose. No power to the shower at all (useless really) but can not fault the amount of hot water for a bath although we did have a problem with one bath when we had brown water !!!
Breakfast was good although I think two waiting on staff would help as service was a little slow.

This hotel has really great staff and is in a great position just needs to make rooms more welcoming and it could be great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine1958190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Recent visit for function/drinks/canapes. Good ambience with very good service. Highly attentive staff. Range of canapes good with some nice, unusual eats. All very well presented. Only one adverse comment would relate to parking facilities - very limited.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We decided that as well as attending the murder mystery we would also book into the hotel for the night on a special offer package. The hotel staff on arrival were very helpful and attentive. The room although very small was adequate for our needs for one day/night although i dont think that the very small wardrobe would support a couple spending more than a few days there. The hotel itself is ideally located for exploring Stirling and only a five minute walk into the city centre. The hotel itself is very nice and bright. The Murder Mystery was excellent, good story well acted and the food was very good. Staff were very attentive throughout the evening making sure that we were all well fed and watered. Biggest disapointment was breakfast which was a disaster. Despite arriving in front of three other groups we were served after them, initially we were brought the wrong breakfasts, they then told us that some of the items on the menu were no longer available and when it did come it was overcooked and not that enjoyable. If it hadnt been for breakfast I would have awarded four stars.

Room Tip: If you wish for a bigger room ask if you can be located in the basement where the suites are (also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveyboyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and although there was a problem this was dealt with efficiently. The hotel itself is lovey and the staff are a credit to it!!! however the breakfast although lovely in my case, my friends were twenty minutes later down and they had run out of mushrooms, tomatoes, eggs, really no excuse for this as tesco is just round the corner!!!! this is not a big hotel so there is no excusse for running out of the basics. i would stay here again but not for murder mystery this needs to be looked at as the actors are not the best!!! room 1 is beautiful and the staff go out of their way to make sure your happy but feel this hotel is lacking in management area!!!

Room Tip: room 1 is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank argyll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went for a 2 day Hogmanay break at the cost of £400. Our room had obvious dampness and the wallpaper on one part of the wall was held up by nails! The throws over the end of the beds were like rags, so thin you could have shot peas through them. On the first morning it was obvious there was a shortage of staff because it took approx an hour to get breakfast. There was no sign of management. There was a Disco for the Hogmanay Dance and it was so loud it became impossible to speak. When New Year arrived there was no sign of the promised Piper. It seems there was no management to pay him so he walked out. On a positive note the food was very good and the staff were friendly but clearly there is a Management issue at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneRFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Madam,
Many thanks for your review. We did hear directly from you and have responded to you accordingly.
The other parties and groups in the hotel over Hogmanay, praised not only the food but the service and the package value as a whole.
We are a small and hard working team at the Terraces and endevour to deliver in all departments.
A member of staff called in sick on the morning of the 31st, thus resulting in short staff at Breakfast. This was conveyed to you at the time by the Duty Manager Jill, who was on duty throughout. This is a rare occurance at the hotel, and we do apologise for this.
Regarding the disco volume, had you conveyed this to us on the evening ( I was running the Hogmanay Ball) we would of dealt with the issue accordingly. Your complaint was the only one we got regarding this. The piper which arrived at the hotel before midnight was not actually booked for this hotel, it was for another hotel and he had made a mistake coming to the Terraces.
Our Piper piped you into the hotel, followed by Cabaret and Disco. It was never our intention to have a piper at midnight.
We thank you for you feedback and as I said, we replied to you directly.
Regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed overnight due to attending wedding reception. The staff were helpful, the room was clean and warm, window stuck to get open for fresh air in morning but overall the room b&b met our expectations and breakfast choice of a good standard, but suspect could do with two waiting staff as a minimum as the poor girl was rushed off her feet and this added to our waiting time at breakfast, and also for refills for refreshments etc even though some self service options these quickly ran out and needed refills for the orange juice jug, which took time when only 1waiting staff member. Overall good and met our expectations for 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in this conveniently located small hotel for 5 nights and very much enjoyed my time there. I had a single room which was small but very comfortable. I found the staff very friendly and welcoming. I ate several meals in the hotel dining room and found an excellent varied menu which was good value. Breakfasts were excellent as well. It is located very close to the main shopping area of Stirling and the Old Town. There was also easy parking in the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weaver555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.5 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
550 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Guest House

Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland (Formerly Terraces Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: $64 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling
Lost Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing