We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meets expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lost Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lost Guest House
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Meets expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed overnight due to attending wedding reception. The staff were helpful, the room was clean and warm, window stuck to get open for fresh air in morning but overall the room b&b met our expectations and breakfast choice of a good standard, but suspect could do with two waiting staff as a minimum as the poor girl was rushed off her feet and this added to our waiting time at breakfast, and also for refills for refreshments etc even though some self service options these quickly ran out and needed refills for the orange juice jug, which took time when only 1waiting staff member. Overall good and met our expectations for 1 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    93
    54
    43
    42
See reviews for
39
176
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in this conveniently located small hotel for 5 nights and very much enjoyed my time there. I had a single room which was small but very comfortable. I found the staff very friendly and welcoming. I ate several meals in the hotel dining room and found an excellent varied menu which was good value. Breakfasts were excellent as well. It is located very close to the main shopping area of Stirling and the Old Town. There was also easy parking in the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weaver555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently had a two night stay in this hotel. It was absolutely faultless.
Our room was clean, warm and well presented.
The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.
We had a great time exploring the city, ate out a few times but decided to mainly eat in the hotel due to the delicious menu.
The food at The Terraces was great, with large portions and yummy!
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
I will certainly be coming back.

Thank you !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I recently attended the Terraces hotel Murder Mystery night. We stayed over night at a great reduced rate as we were also attending the function. The food and service were fantastic throughout, with the actors providing great entertainment and a very interactive evening. The staff were very accommodating, as one of my party had special dietary requirements. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed, and the manager was present and attentive throughout. The rooms were nice, clean and quiet. Breakfast was cooked fresh to order and was great quality, a perfect way to end our short stay. I would recommend the Terraces and the Murder Mystery event to anyone looking for value for money and a night out with a difference!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesnipes96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had two nights stay at this hotel, staff extremely welcoming. On first impressions the hotel looked ok. A nice bar small but nice. Got to our room, bathroom was less than welcoming very sad looking tiling,the grouting needed to be replaced, this small job would have made so much difference and made the bathroom look cleaner. Overall the rooms were clean. My mothers room was very large had a lovely bathroom but again room very jaded large damp patch on the ceiling. The breakfast was excellent very well presented and tasted lovely cooked by the lovely Pauline who was a delight. Overall the stay was good will go back because of the staff and the nearness to the town centre. Hopefully the hotel owners will be thinking about a refurbishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on a groupon deal. Good value for money , clean rooms and friendly staff. We had a meal in the resturant which was first class. We would use again.The hotel has free parking and wifi which is very useful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

For friends celebration this venue was chosen because of murder mystery dinner package. It has parking free after six which was great for us,as parkings a premium in Stirling. On web told be there at seven. The outside of the hotel is grand and sets the scene for what we thought would be a great night in a professionally run establishment. However that was where the similarity ends. We came for just before seven but staff not prepared for us kept moving us from place to place. 730 finally shown to room for venue. No communication as to when it started. Bar staff inexperienced. Finally began 8 and the mystery team were good. However when it came for sweet our table were not served and when questioned as to why five desserts missing told six people in the room of about forty did not request it. We were made to feel as if we were at fault. No explanation as to how they decided we were those six -which we were not. We were offered two partly prepared sweets for two and three were told they could get choc fudge cake. This made us look at menu and we noticed the mints were not served with coffee to anyone, but this was rectified once we pointed it out to staff. It is a shame the service was not better as one guest in our party had been considering going there with a large family gathering for Xmas day lunch-not anymore. Many will not be visiting again especially since there is many other venues on offer. With such competition and money so tight good service is key.

Room Tip: For your own mystery tour maybe you may find it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate all feed back. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your time at the Terraces. Murder Mystery events at the Terraces are very popular with guests returning time and time again. We also agree service is the key so I sincerely hope you return to the Terraces where we hope to restore your faith in the Terraces service. We would very much like to discuss this directly with you as the issue was not raised to the manager on the evening or since, so please feel free to get in touch with the hotel directly.
Kind Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stirling hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#3 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Guest House

Property: Lost Guest House
Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland (Formerly Terraces Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling
Lost Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing