We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel and an AMAZING spa and pool.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stirling Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and an AMAZING spa and pool.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel. It was a school in the mid 1800's that is now a fully modern hotel. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was well done. The rooms are more average, but functional. The big star is the spa! The pool is very large by hotel standards and has a lap swimming lane that is adequately long. There is a side area of the pool for children to play in and a very shallow end for very young children. The water is very clean. The hot tub can fit about four or five people and the water in hot tub is very clean (rare in my hotel experience). There also is a lovely sauna and steam room. My two twelve year old children and I spent over three hours enjoying the facilities. The location of hotel is excellent and just a quick 10 minute walk up to the castle. The car park at castle was full with long line of cars to get in, so I was glad the hotel was walking distance. Lovely restaurants close by the hotel. We ate at the Kilted Kangaroo (Australian pub) and quite enjoyed our meal. The car park at hotel is large and secure. Watch out what floor your room is on, though, the elevator does not go to the second floor (only the third) and I had to carry all our bags up and down the stairs. But over all, very nice hotel in excellent location and staff was very pleasant. Treat yourself to a day at a first class spa!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDSaintPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    675
    325
    144
    97
See reviews for
241
969
60
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menzies Creek, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and i recently stayed over night which in fairness we were lucky getting a room as it was last minute during the Commonwealth Games held in Glasgow so obviously they were busy and with supply and demand they did charge a premium what i felt was excessive, the presentation of the hotel the lovely old building and courtyard car park area are good, the room was ok but needed a bit of a tidy up and definatley needed repair or replacing of the carpet as it was worn to threads in one area, the WIFI was not good the breakfast buffet good but no traditional haggis on the day and the tables seemed sticky, after asking for a cloth to wipe them i was told its the stain that has been use on them always feels sticky? good location for a walk to the castle

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Came to this hotel for a recent getaway. Was a great stay with a lovely sized room and exquisite food. The staff were all excellent but I would like to particularly mention the lovely Frances who made our experience absolutely delightful, even after we misheard her and called her Fiona for most of the night.

All in all I would highly recommend the Stirling Highland Hotel even if it's just for the beautiful chirpy staff

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel on a last minute overnight getaway; saw Stirling Highland and thought we would treat ourselves. we left with a feeling of being slightly deflated. Friends asked us how the hotel was and we replied 'well it was ok, but, well it was just ok' maybe our expectations were too high.
The room was a fine size, everything was immaculate and comfortable. It was a bit odd that the only place we could plug kettle in with a flat surface was the floor...almost like the dressing table had been moved a foot along the wall for cleaning, away from sockets, and forgotten to be put back :) .
We decided to eat in Scholars restaurant and I have to say the food was amazing. So delicious, it was heavenly. we cannot rate the food high enough. We would have gladly returned for the dining experience...The staff were excellent, attentive but not over bearing. What let the whole dining experience down, and the reason we probably wont return to dine, was the lack of ambience and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkiegirlAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

2 nights dinner B&B here this weekend along with a party of 12 girls for my daughter's hen weekend. The price was very reasonable, my room very comfortable and staff made us feel so welcome. Girls in the spa were great and we all enjoyed a couple of treatments. Good sized pool as well. We were also given a private room, at no extra cost, which was ours for various activities over the weekend which was so convenient since some of the girls had travelled a long distance to be there and it meant that we could indulge in a bit of hilarity without disturbing other guests. Dinner orders were a bit chaotic (on our part) and the serving staff were just lovely, cheerful, efficient and extremely patient! I think the whole party had a very enjoyable weekend so thank you to Leslie, the events manager. We were quite late out of the dining room on the Sunday morning but were not rushed at all which we did appreciate. All in all a very enjoyable experience and I would highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank scottishtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is supposed to be one of the best, and definitely most expensive hotels in Stirling.
Still, for a five star hotel, the room is extremely small, breakfast buffet is poor and the wifi reception is terrible. My stay is for 4 nights but I doubt I will go there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Agis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Went for a spa day with 3 of my friends, hotel is lovely and in a nice location. Also had lunch there which was beautiful. Our treatments were excellent, nice quiet rooms too for them, we were all really pleased. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#3 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Property: The Stirling Highland Hotel
Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing