We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Wallace Monument
from $60.80
More Info
from $64.70
More Info
from $58.10
More Info
from $59.50
More Info
Reviews (3,138)
Filter reviews
2,495 results
Traveler rating
1,532
752
173
29
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,532
752
173
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth the climb shuttle bus wallace monument spiral staircase catch your breath free minibus three levels walk up gift shop great views from the top worth the effort car park steep hill nice walk scottish history ticket office surrounding countryside
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,495 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Definitely worth a visit! Stunning building and good rooms and things to look at. Lots of stairs so not so good if you have bad knees. It was a beautiful day so the views from the top were just breathtaking! I took the mini bus up and walked down through a lovely woodland

Thank ShellyMillsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We walked up the hill rather than getting the bus - not a difficult walk and there are plenty of wood carvings along the way that you can look at. The view over Stirling from the top of the hill was quite lovely, and extended out past the Menteith area and Callander.

We then went into the actual monument and climbed the stairs to the first floor gallery. There wasn’t really all that much to see there, and after about 15 minutes we were ready to move on to the next level. We also felt that the information displays on the second and third floors weren’t very good, but that the view from the top of the monument was very good, albeit by this stage a bit cloudy in the sky and very windy.

All up, a climb of 246 stairs to reach the top.

1  Thank TheOldMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello and thank you so much for visiting us. We are sorry you were disappointed with the displays. We are endeavouring to improve these in the very near future.

We are so glad you enjoyed the views from the top despite the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're in the area, see this. It is a walk up to the monument from the parking or they have shuttle buses. The gift shop and sitting room to the right (inside the monument itsself) are worth seeing.

Thank JKKJ2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thanks so much for visiting us and for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

we loved the history and the stories behind the Wallace Clan. This was a beautiful dedication to that story line and the area was beautiful on this nice day.

Thank 677ScottS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Scott, thank you so much for visiting us and for your lovely review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were taken by free mini bus to the top of the hill. The driver was humorous and very caring about all the passengers in his care. The shop had a great selection of goods for sale. With charming server. Very helpful showing us her wares.

Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Norma, thank you so much for visiting us and for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on an lovely autumn day, blue skies and not too windy. The walk up through the woods was lovely with all the autumn colour on the trees. We enjoyed the walk up the spiral staircase (good exercise). The three rooms on the way up were interesting, laid out with displays and history of William Wallace. Once at the top the views were excellent and well worth the climb. Dogs aren't allowed in the tower but they are allowed in the grounds and we had a great walk through the woodland around the monument after our visit. Bracken gives the walk fuzzy paw approval and there was a doggy water bowl outside the visitor centre too. The cafe is well worth a visit. The food was excellent accompanied by lovely friendly staff and lovely surroundings.

Thank Quirky-Bird-Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thank you so much for your lovely review.

We are so glad both you and Bracken had a great time and I am so glad you all enjoyed the walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great view on a cold November morning when autumn colours illuminate landscape and Stirling castle emerges behind foggy mist. Cafe is comfortable and exhibition is good. Glad we went when quiet as spiral staircase is very narrow.

1  Thank Asuna_Ikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thanks so much for visiting and for your lovely review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bring comfortable shoes to climb the steps to the top of the tower for an outstanding view. Shuttle takes you to the monument. The cafe by the shop has tasty treats.

Thank dundeeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello. Thanks so much for your visit and your very kind review.

Good advice with regards to the footwear as the walk and tower is steep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So my kids wanted to hike up from the parking lot. Some days I hate having kids. There is a van that will take you up to the monument...it looked like a comfortable ride as it passed us by. But I have to admit there is a feeling of accomplishment making it all the way to the top on your own power. Especially when you put into perspective the man for who the monument was made probably made several similar hikes along the Scottish countryside over the course of his life. And of course you can't forget the rich history inside the monument.

Thank farrellsx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallaceMon, Marketing team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello the Farrell family.

Thanks so much for visiting and for your lovely review. I admit to having the same feeling when the bus passes by when I am walking up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the most interesting and engaging attractions I've visited. Really interesting exhibits/displays in 3 rooms as you climb the tower. Stunning views from the top and a number of pleasant walks around Abbey Craig to choose from as well, with excellent wood carvings. The climb up the tower isn't easy as the staircase is very narrow, so it can be a squeeze if you meet someone coming in the opposite direction. Definitely worth the effort though if you can. Probably not good idea if you don't like enclosed spaces though.

1  Thank Steve130558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallaceMon, Marketing Team at National Wallace Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Steve, thanks so much for visiting and for your lovely review.

We are delighted you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews