We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a tour”

National Wallace Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$625.76*
and up
Private Day Tour to Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond from Glasgow
Ranked #3 of 63 things to do in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A national hero - a national landmark. The National Wallace Monument stands proudly on The Abbey Craig, outside the historic city of Stirling, and tells the thrilling story of Sir William Wallace, Guardian of Scotland, Patriot and Martyr.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a tour”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It was a long walk from the train station, but it was a lovely walk. I passed by the Stirling bridge and continue to walk about 30 mins. Then I chose to walk up to the monument instead of waiting for the shutter bus, so I was able to enjoy the scenery along the walk. There is a beautiful landscape view from the top of the monument. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,270
    738
    199
    33
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eyemouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have never been to the monument before, it's a short walk from the car park, albeit up hill, but we enjoyed it all the same, the building is very well kept and the workmanship is just amazing, quite a climb up the spiral stairway to the breathtaking views of Stirling and surrounding areas made it all worthwhile.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Loopy_Lynne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirk, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very moving.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Do not miss out! This is a must see. Easy to get to from Stirling via bus. Nice, easy walk up to the monument. When I went it was very cold but we had a warming drink when we had climbed to the top of the monument. Spectacular views. A fitting monument for the hero William Wallace.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Taryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I found it very interesting to tour the National Wallace Momument, learning more about the history of Scotland. The view from the top of the monument is absolutely breathtaking!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see to understand Scottish history”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

A trip here is well worth it to fully understand the history surrounding Scotland and its hero, William Wallace. We really enjoyed the re-enactor, who gave a lovely account of the Battle of Stirling Bridge. He'll keep you on his toes as he pulls various weapons out during his account.

Although the hall of heroes was closed due to storm damage, I was very impressed that we received a free audio guide. I would've still gone into the monument.

Again, well worth the visit if the only thing you do is take a picture on the crown!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sessiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Wallace Monument also viewed

 

Been to National Wallace Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing