We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Only stayed one night in this holiday inn. Staff friendly and lovely clean rooms that did what we needed. Location is 5min drive from town centre which was fine for us but if you want to wander about restaurants and pubs you would need to drive or take taxi. Only reason did not give full marks was at breakfast time, food etc was lovely and catered our needs, however something I usually would not have realised, the buffet food was all high up, even the yoghurts and cool items. There was a guest in a wheel chair there at same time as us and the set up was not very accessible for her. There were staff about but none of them assisted her, even when she had struggled to get food and was trying to get her tray to a table. The hot food was inside hatches that were not hot on the outside so they could be lower down without being a risk to children. But even just staff making themselves available to assist wheel chair guests would greatly assist them. The stay was fine though and I would return if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Debbie L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is lovely to hear your kind words about our staff being friendly and our lovely clean rooms.

With regards your concerns about the guest in a wheel chair requiring assistance, this particular guest is one of our regulars who is very independent and specifically requests not to have assistance at breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 699 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay for a visit to Stirling. Rooms a good size and spotless, nice breakfast and very pleasant staff. The hotel has a bar and there is a pub next door for evening meals. It is not in the prettiest location but that would be my only criticism.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Guest service manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Bobbinin

I am glad you found our hotel to be of a good size and spotless. It is also nice to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and found our staff to be pleasant. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Well run hotel with comfortable, clean, quiet room, good shower, good breakfast. Easy walk to the pub next door if you don't want to travel into the town for dinner. Extremely efficient staff who responded brilliantly when one of our group needed emergency medical assistance.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank MikeBGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Guest service manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear MikeBGardner

Thank you for your review and your lovely praise for our staff. I am pleased you found the rooms comfortable, clean and quiet and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stay in a hotel most weeks and this is one of the better Express hotels. TV is up to date so you get all the freeview channels, I found it quiet inside and out. Good shower, bed and breakfast. Friendly staff too

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank MarkySparky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear MarkySparky16

Thank you for your recent review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and the hotel to be quiet. Our TV's with freeview are a new addition to our bedrooms which are proving to be popular with our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was a nie hotel with very friendly and helpful staff on reception.

Rooms were clean and well looked after - but it is a fairly new hotel, so you would expect that.

The only disappointment was the breakfast - the choice was very limited - on 4 items to choose from in the hot menu. Easily the worst choice I have encountered in a hotel.

Bets tip - don't pay for the breakfast you will probably get a better and cheaper on at Morrison's supermarket across the way
That said it was a comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Donald1961

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased you found the staff friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and well looked after.

We offer a free buffet breakfast with limited hot items and I am sorry to hear you found this a disappointment.

Thanks again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Stirling.

Yours Sincerely
Rona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Rooms clean, functional and comfortable, just what you'd expect from the chain of hotels. It was a little outside Stirling £5to £6 in a taxi. Staff were lovely, down to earth and very helpful. Perfect for a short stay to explore the surrounding tourist attractions. Breakfast wasn't amazing but adequate to fill up on - needs proper orange juice though.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABCD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear ABCD E

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Stirling. We are delighted you found the staff lovely, down to earth and helpful.

Our hotel is very proud of our level of service and cleanliness in all areas of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Rona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed in Holiday Inns for many years and a number of Express'. As expected well trained and proficient staff and clean rooms.
Unfortunately the reason the score is average when it should have been very good was the breakfast service. It was Easter Saturday morning and we chose to have our breakfast when we wanted, however it was probably the same time as everyone else.
It appears that the company seemed to be surprised that they are busy on Easter Saturdays. The computer would tell them they are full of families rather that business people so why not have every member of staff possible on duty or at least have someone apologising to the customer that there is a delay. In fact to be really proactive suggest the night before that people may wish to take an earlier breakfast.
It is a management problem not staff who under the circumstance worked very hard and maintained their cool very well. At least the conference room was laid up.
This has not affected our loyalty to IHG hotels and when we find ourselves staying at one of their hotels at a holiday weekend we will also try to be proactive and chose better time for breakfast.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Car Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mussons99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Mussons99,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel staff and clean rooms. Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to breakfast service. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I hope this incident will not deter from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
578 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
202 reviews
2.0 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#16 of 20 in Stirling
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stirling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stirling

Address: Craigleith Rd | Springkerse Business Park, Stirling FK7 7XH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: $70 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stirling 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the relaxing Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel, 1 mile from Stirling city centre and 15 miles from Loch Lomond. You will arrive to a warm welcome at our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stirling, where the airy lobby is set with leather armchairs and daily newspapers. Relax in our Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or catch up on email with our free WiFi, which is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is just one mile from Stirling's centre, 23 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 36 miles to Glasgow Airport. The Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel is 15 miles from the splendour of Loch Lomond. Children under 12 stay free when sharing a room with their parents, and our friendly staff can help book tickets to nearby attractions like Blair Drummond Safari Park and Stirling Castle. Enjoy a great start to your day with our inclusive breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and a choice of hot items. Our naturally lit meeting room can welcome up to 30 people and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. We can arrange lunches and refreshments for your meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stirling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Hotel Stirling
Holiday Inn Stirling
Stirling Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing