We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for stop over”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here whilst travelling down to centre parcs. This is the second time at this hotel and it was just as good as the first.
Rooms were a good size and clean with free wifi. Breakfast was free and included sausages, beans and eggs which was a bonus as its usually just continental.
Across the road is a brewers fayre type pub wich is excellent as it has booths with individual tv's and also a soft play area where you can sit and eat while the kids play :) brilliant idea as it takes away the stress of trying to pin the kids down at the table lol.
Will deffo use this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islander1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    273
    77
    17
    4
See reviews for
178
249
23
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was the first time that I had stayed at the ‘express’ version of Holiday Inn and was curious as to the difference between this brand and the main brand. It seems that the ‘express’ brand is marketing itself as a cheaper option, and trying to compete with the likes of Premier Inn, albeit with a slightly more expensive price tag, most likely justified by virtue of the fact that a ‘free’ breakfast is included.

The breakfast had a suitable selection, of sausages, beans and continental selection, but no bacon. Overall, the cooked parts of the breakfast gave the impression that they had been left out for a while as they appeared somewhat dried up.

The room was clean, warm and basic, and the hotel made no claims as to a high quality bed or offered a good night’s sleep guarantee.

There was a strange affair with the lift. The call button on the ground floor didn’t work, which meant, after waiting for a while with a bag, and asking a member of staff as to what the problem was, she ran up to the next floor and brought the lift down. Clearly a round about way to call a lift. For the rest of the time we just used the stairs.

Overall a handy, low cost option if you want a base to explore Stirling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamnamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Got an amazing deal through an online search. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Room and general areas were clean and the cleaners always seemed to be on the go. Breakfast was a simple but adequate affair which was included in the price - the hot items consisted of sausages, beans and scrambled eggs (which were the nicest I have had in a hotel and not like rubber as usual!) Also there was a continental selection. Bathroom had the basic soap and shampoo dispenser but there was a sign offering any forgotten extras that you required available at reception. Also it was a nice touch that the sofa bed for my daughter was already made up with bedding when we arrived, often you are required to do this yourself. Also got a pleasant surprise to find that the room had been cleaned and beds made when we were out, which again does not happen at all chain hotels. Situated in a nice quiet area with some views over the hills. A taxi ride or short drive from centre of town. Special mention to the adjacent restaurant - we were too tired to go into the city for dinner so ate there (not expecting much to be honest) but wow it was fab! Good work to the hotel - impressed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed for one night as I was up in Stirling for a dog show and found this hotel as it was dog friendly - slightly lower value score was for the £15 dog charge on top of £60 already paid. £75 for one night.

Lovely people on reception made us feel welcome.

Room 99% perfect,very clean, gigantic bed, tv with all normal channels, tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi, only a couple of tiny issues.

Air conditioning unit kept switching itself on everytime key was put in the switch - always on cold even though I had switched it off before leaving - turned it to warm when in the room but after ten mins it went back to cold so room was cold for me (i am quite nesh though and like to be warm)

Other small issue was shower curtain as I climbed out of the shower I nearly broke my neck on the tiles as shower had pretty much soaked the bathroom due to water running off curtain.

And had the same issue as previous review with the kids running up and down the corridor at all hours sounded like a herd of elephants. Nothing that the hotel can do about that though as more of a parents control issues.

Breakfast was nice but don't be expecting a full English hot food wise as only had sausage, scrambled egg and beans on offer but was suitable for most. I happen to like bacon though.

All in all would stay again And can recommend for dog people as dogs allowed in rooms which made life easier for us.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainycali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is situated on the outskirts, with an Eat Inn across the road. Free car parking.

The room was clean and laid out very nicely, good size telly, more than adequate hanging space / storage. Easy to control air conditioning stopped us getting too warm when getting ready to go out (ladies will relate to this).

Shampoo and body wash had a beautiful coconut smell and didn't dry out my skin. The shower was roomy and temperature adjustment was almost immediate and easy to operate.

Handy hair dryer on the wall beside a mirror, a wee bit slow but did the job and saved me having to pack one.

Adjustable night lights beside each bed were ideal if one wanted to read while the other slept.

Complimentary toothbrush, etc available from reception if you'd forgotten yours. Lots of little touches that made us feel as if the hotel chain recognised its customers as customers as not just people staying in an hotel.

Staff were very helpful and pleasant, nothing seemed a trouble.

The self service buffet breakfast gave a choice of cooked (scrambled egg, sausages and beans) or continental.

Just under £5 in Rab's Taxi's to the Albert Halls. Hotel staff called it on our behalf.

A very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The only downside was children running up and down the corridor at 8am which was absolutely no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanzqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just like every other Holiday Inn express, theyre all the same, i mean the lay out. Its quite handy when you want to do some sight seeing. If you booked in advance, the room starts from £45 for family of four, and thats including your breakfast. The rooms are clean, and the staff were very friendly. Ive got a priority club member, and I always get late check out...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeceM476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My partner and i stayed here over night. When we enterd the hotel we were checked in promptly and was given a warm welcome. The room was tidy and clean. There was no bath in the bathroom but the shower was clean and a good size. All the staff that we encounterd were really nice and helpfull. The breakfast the next day was adequit and had variety altho the scrambled eggs were not very good. Overall tho had a pleasent night sleep and the staff couldnt be nicer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.2 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stirling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stirling

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Address: Craigleith Rd | Springkerse Business Park, Stirling FK7 7XH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stirling 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the relaxing Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel, 1 mile from Stirling city centre and 15 miles from Loch Lomond. You will arrive to a warm welcome at our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stirling, where the airy lobby is set with leather armchairs and daily newspapers. Relax in our Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or catch up on email with our free WiFi, which is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is just one mile from Stirling's centre, 23 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 36 miles to Glasgow Airport. The Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel is 15 miles from the splendour of Loch Lomond. Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with their parents, and our friendly staff can help book tickets to nearby attractions like Blair Drummond Safari Park and Stirling Castle. Enjoy a great start to your day with our complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and a choice of hot items. Our 2 naturally lit meeting rooms can welcome up to 30 people and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. We can arrange lunches and refreshments for your meeting, and there's a PC in the Lobby available 24 hours. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stirling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Hotel Stirling
Holiday Inn Stirling
Stirling Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing