We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to stay for a stopover in Stirling. Room clean and comfy with great views to Stirling Castle and Wallace Monument. Staff were quick to get us checked in and were friendly and efficient on the small drinks bar and at breakfast time - lovely large selection of food for breakfast. All in all couldn't fault it - just what we needed for our short visit to Stirling, would definitely say here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avalon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 707 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We used the Holiday Inn express as an overnight stop en route to Aberdeen. Very good all round hotel. Everything you need and a pub on the doorstep. 20 mins walk into Sitriling town centre or 5 mins drive with cheap parking. Park and ride is also right next door to the hotel. Pub opposite was great for an evening meal with the kids. Food ok not fine dinning but we were not expecting that. Only complaint the eggs served at breakfast are vile and should not be served full stop. I did not eat any as I had seen previous reviews about them but my husband tried them and said they were awful. Other than that great stop over and cheap for a family of 4. Would book again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Tina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Attending a Regimental Dinner in Stirling on the 23rd February we decided to use this hotel due to the locality as well as online deals. The Hotel surpassed all our expectations. Hotel was spotless throughout and had one of the most comfiest sleeps in a long time. Staff were absolutely brilliant and friendly and catered for any of our needs. Special mention to the nightshift manager who was 1st class and also very friendly and the batman whom myself and pal had a good conversation about football players from the bygone era. Cheers.

Breakfast in the morning was great even though we had to que for a little while to replenish the hot plate but that was a minor thing. Food was again excellent.

There were 3 couples in our visit and all had the same compliments to make about the hotel, staff and service throughout.

Many thanks for making our short stay very enjoyable and will definitely go back on our next visit to Stirling.

Thank you again.

Room Tip: Recommended Hotel for anyone visiting Stirling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghosty9565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for three nights recently ane we were very impressed by the experience. All of the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms and inded the entire property were very clean. We enjoyed the self-service breakfast and there was a good variety of food available. The staff every efficiently replaced various foods as the stocks depleated. I encountered some problems connecting to the wi-fi but the staff quickly remedied this. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry&Ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

That's it, not staying in another Holiday Inn Express if we can help it - this was another example of this over-rated but under-delivering chain....actually they are all individual franchises but never mind.

The staff were nice and friendly and tried to be helpful...but they couldn't do anything, apparently, about the horde of noisy teenagers in the room next to us...or apparently about the obvious smoking going on on our floor...

Breakfast was another disappointing 'bun fight' - the kitchen self service area is so small it may as well be a cupboard. The toaster broke and there was little else edible other than cereal. If Premier Inn can do a half-decent English breakfast for not much more money, why doesn't this brand wake up and do something?

Room Tip: Find an alternative hotel - there's a Premier Inn not far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukscubatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay on the 31st December. Following your report of noise at 6pm the duty manager dealt with both the noise and smoking issues with the guests themselves and that section of the hotel was monitored every 30 minutes until the guests departed at 9pm for the New Year’s entertainment. The incident was then passed over to the night team who again carried out regular checks throughout the night and no further incidents were noted or reported.
Please accept my apologies for the fact that the breakfast toaster broke leaving only bread and rolls, this was beyond our control and the toaster was fixed in the afternoon.
Thank you for your comments which will be shared with our team to improve our service for future guests

Yours sincerely

Craig Renfrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was travelling from UK to Scotland and this was the best hotel I found.
As a hotel you get more than one expects but the biggest asset are its friendly Staff. Although all staff were nice I noticed that both Maya and Brian went the extra mile where they suggested routes and places of interest to us, while Brian handed me his ice scraper for my rental car.

Overall the hotel was spotless and a good breakfast.

Strategic position of the hotel as its just a few minutes walk from the centre and free parking.

Will definately return but for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dava171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

On behalf of the Bedford Rugby Club Followers who stayed in the hotel last weekend I would like to thank all of the staff for the excellent hospitality that we were given. From arrival to departure all members of what is an extremely organised team throughout all departments were professional, respectful, courteous and in the public eye appeared to be very happy in their role within the hotel. They were all a credit to the hotel. The rooms were clean, very comfortable in cold climatic conditions, breakfast was good. Our only minor criticism was the lack of choice in some of the drinks selection in the bar, however we understand that as part of a "chain hotel" this is a company policy, and it took nothing away from the ambience of the bar area.

Room Tip: Rooms are for sleeping, the rooms at the front have a lovely view of the Wallace Memorial and surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
586 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,001 reviews
2.0 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
525 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#13 of 20 in Stirling
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stirling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stirling

Address: Craigleith Rd | Springkerse Business Park, Stirling FK7 7XH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: $59 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stirling 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the relaxing Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel, 1 mile from Stirling city centre and 15 miles from Loch Lomond. You will arrive to a warm welcome at our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stirling, where the airy lobby is set with leather armchairs and daily newspapers. Relax in our Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or catch up on email with our free WiFi, which is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is just one mile from Stirling's centre, 23 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 36 miles to Glasgow Airport. The Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel is 15 miles from the splendour of Loch Lomond. Children under 12 stay free when sharing a room with their parents, and our friendly staff can help book tickets to nearby attractions like Blair Drummond Safari Park and Stirling Castle. Enjoy a great start to your day with our inclusive breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and a choice of hot items. Our naturally lit meeting room can welcome up to 30 people and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. We can arrange lunches and refreshments for your meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stirling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Hotel Stirling
Holiday Inn Stirling
Stirling Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing