We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was travelling from UK to Scotland and this was the best hotel I found.
As a hotel you get more than one expects but the biggest asset are its friendly Staff. Although all staff were nice I noticed that both Maya and Brian went the extra mile where they suggested routes and places of interest to us, while Brian handed me his ice scraper for my rental car.

Overall the hotel was spotless and a good breakfast.

Strategic position of the hotel as its just a few minutes walk from the centre and free parking.

Will definately return but for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dava171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 698 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

On behalf of the Bedford Rugby Club Followers who stayed in the hotel last weekend I would like to thank all of the staff for the excellent hospitality that we were given. From arrival to departure all members of what is an extremely organised team throughout all departments were professional, respectful, courteous and in the public eye appeared to be very happy in their role within the hotel. They were all a credit to the hotel. The rooms were clean, very comfortable in cold climatic conditions, breakfast was good. Our only minor criticism was the lack of choice in some of the drinks selection in the bar, however we understand that as part of a "chain hotel" this is a company policy, and it took nothing away from the ambience of the bar area.

Room Tip: Rooms are for sleeping, the rooms at the front have a lovely view of the Wallace Memorial and surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as it was close to where I needed to be the following day. The room was the usual Holiday Inn Express fare, bland and with a tiny CRT television. The bed was large but the duvet was thin. There was a combined heating / air conditioning unit in the room but this provided barely enough heat to keep the room warm, not helped by it being located on the ceiling (heat rises!)

It was so cold and the duvet so thin that I had to sleep with the heating running on low level all night. I am one of nature's warmer people and sleeping with the heating on is almost unknown for me.

The facilities consisted of a basic shower which was ok but again not particularly hot. The real down side of this hotel was the food. The breakfast had an extremely limited selection and one of the hot dishes in the cabinet was left empty altogether. The croissants were so stale I could have built a dry stone wall out of them and the scrambled egg so dry I could have used it for hardcore.

The evening food was so limited and the dining room so dim and uninviting that I went off to the Pizza Hut on the adjacent retail park for my evening meal.

The only good point about this hotel was the staff. Note that this hotel is also not cheap and I have had far better for less money elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drooper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

I’m extremely sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay. All of our duvets were replaced in the latter half of 2012 and should be more than adequate at retaining the heat.
Our breakfast offering is restricted by the brand and the hot cabinet that you refer to should only have 3 hot products always leaving an empty space unless the hotel is busy and we have the need to double up. As part of our company’s on-going efforts to improve the breakfast we are taking a fresh look at the products on offer with a view to improving the quality of certain items in the coming months.
Our evening menu is limited as there is an excellent restaurant located next door which is extremely popular with a considerable percentage of our guests.
On a positive note all of our televisions are due to be replaced with 32” flat screen TV’s in the first quarter of this year offering a greatly improved viewing experience.

I would like to thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team in the hope of improving our service for future guests

Yours sincerely

Craig Renfrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel now a few times. For business and pleasure. Good value, great parking, location and views. The hotel sits in a small business park and has great views towards the Ochils. Within walking distance to Stirling and great connections by road. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Breakfast is basic but adequate as can be expected from the Express chain. Have office nearby so good for short stay overs. Also used for a wedding once as did half my family. All had a good stay. Good pub opposite so don't always have to make the trip to Stirling. Will use again.

Room Tip: All good. If you can get one with view of hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeDeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I Stayed here for 3 nights visiting relatives in December 2012. This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, clean, tidy and comfortable. There was nothing lacking in the rooms or public areas and the staff were friendly.

There are a few things you should be aware of about this Hotel. Its not in a central location, although only a 5 minute drive to the city centre, parking can be difficult. There is a local bus service taking 15 minutes, but limited hours.

There is a chain pub/restaurant next door serving a reasonable selection of food at a good price, but not much else on offer unless you go into Stirling.

Wifi is not available in the rooms, expect as a costly extra, the public area free wifi is slow.

Breakfast is self service cafeteria style, with limited hot dishes, but if you know this it should not be a problem.

Would I use it again, yes - its good value for what I was doing, you have to consider carefully if it will meet yours needs, especially due to the location.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking the hills (see pictures)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visit Stirling often to see relatives and have tried most of the large hotels in the area but this one has everything you need without breaking the bank and would choose it everytime.This hotel offers modern clean and friendly service and a good hot and cold breakfast. Located 5 mins in the car from the city centre and within easy access to the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

i used to stay here regularly a couple of years back, and had the pleasure of staying for the night for a christmas party. its a great friendly place to stay and even after a good twelve months of not staying Rona still remembered which room i like to stay in, you really cant fault the staff at all.

breakfast now has some cooked food to choose from too which is a bonus

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
202 reviews
2.0 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#16 of 20 in Stirling
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stirling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stirling

Address: Craigleith Rd | Springkerse Business Park, Stirling FK7 7XH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: $70 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stirling 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the relaxing Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel, 1 mile from Stirling city centre and 15 miles from Loch Lomond. You will arrive to a warm welcome at our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stirling, where the airy lobby is set with leather armchairs and daily newspapers. Relax in our Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or catch up on email with our free WiFi, which is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is just one mile from Stirling's centre, 23 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 36 miles to Glasgow Airport. The Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel is 15 miles from the splendour of Loch Lomond. Children under 12 stay free when sharing a room with their parents, and our friendly staff can help book tickets to nearby attractions like Blair Drummond Safari Park and Stirling Castle. Enjoy a great start to your day with our inclusive breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and a choice of hot items. Our naturally lit meeting room can welcome up to 30 people and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. We can arrange lunches and refreshments for your meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stirling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Hotel Stirling
Holiday Inn Stirling
Stirling Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing