We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful food, cold room, no atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Dreadful food, cold room, no atmosphere”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as it was close to where I needed to be the following day. The room was the usual Holiday Inn Express fare, bland and with a tiny CRT television. The bed was large but the duvet was thin. There was a combined heating / air conditioning unit in the room but this provided barely enough heat to keep the room warm, not helped by it being located on the ceiling (heat rises!)

It was so cold and the duvet so thin that I had to sleep with the heating running on low level all night. I am one of nature's warmer people and sleeping with the heating on is almost unknown for me.

The facilities consisted of a basic shower which was ok but again not particularly hot. The real down side of this hotel was the food. The breakfast had an extremely limited selection and one of the hot dishes in the cabinet was left empty altogether. The croissants were so stale I could have built a dry stone wall out of them and the scrambled egg so dry I could have used it for hardcore.

The evening food was so limited and the dining room so dim and uninviting that I went off to the Pizza Hut on the adjacent retail park for my evening meal.

The only good point about this hotel was the staff. Note that this hotel is also not cheap and I have had far better for less money elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drooper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I’m extremely sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay. All of our duvets were replaced in the latter half of 2012 and should be more than adequate at retaining the heat.
Our breakfast offering is restricted by the brand and the hot cabinet that you refer to should only have 3 hot products always leaving an empty space unless the hotel is busy and we have the need to double up. As part of our company’s on-going efforts to improve the breakfast we are taking a fresh look at the products on offer with a view to improving the quality of certain items in the coming months.
Our evening menu is limited as there is an excellent restaurant located next door which is extremely popular with a considerable percentage of our guests.
On a positive note all of our televisions are due to be replaced with 32” flat screen TV’s in the first quarter of this year offering a greatly improved viewing experience.

I would like to thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team in the hope of improving our service for future guests

Yours sincerely

Craig Renfrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    288
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
188
261
23
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel now a few times. For business and pleasure. Good value, great parking, location and views. The hotel sits in a small business park and has great views towards the Ochils. Within walking distance to Stirling and great connections by road. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Breakfast is basic but adequate as can be expected from the Express chain. Have office nearby so good for short stay overs. Also used for a wedding once as did half my family. All had a good stay. Good pub opposite so don't always have to make the trip to Stirling. Will use again.

Room Tip: All good. If you can get one with view of hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeDeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I Stayed here for 3 nights visiting relatives in December 2012. This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, clean, tidy and comfortable. There was nothing lacking in the rooms or public areas and the staff were friendly.

There are a few things you should be aware of about this Hotel. Its not in a central location, although only a 5 minute drive to the city centre, parking can be difficult. There is a local bus service taking 15 minutes, but limited hours.

There is a chain pub/restaurant next door serving a reasonable selection of food at a good price, but not much else on offer unless you go into Stirling.

Wifi is not available in the rooms, expect as a costly extra, the public area free wifi is slow.

Breakfast is self service cafeteria style, with limited hot dishes, but if you know this it should not be a problem.

Would I use it again, yes - its good value for what I was doing, you have to consider carefully if it will meet yours needs, especially due to the location.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking the hills (see pictures)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visit Stirling often to see relatives and have tried most of the large hotels in the area but this one has everything you need without breaking the bank and would choose it everytime.This hotel offers modern clean and friendly service and a good hot and cold breakfast. Located 5 mins in the car from the city centre and within easy access to the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

i used to stay here regularly a couple of years back, and had the pleasure of staying for the night for a christmas party. its a great friendly place to stay and even after a good twelve months of not staying Rona still remembered which room i like to stay in, you really cant fault the staff at all.

breakfast now has some cooked food to choose from too which is a bonus

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

After a less than great year, (again), was looking for a break at Christmas somewhere new somewhere different but at the very least reasonably comfortable So when an offer came up at this hotel it seemed to be just about perfect And now back home looking back at the time spent it WAS
Whilst the Holiday Inn express Brand sets a template for all of its hotel it was clear that a bit more thought had gone into this one. Little "Touches" such as the soap dispensed from clear bottles so no chance of, (for example), getting in the shower and finding there was no soap left BUT
The real extra star quality this hotel; has over most I stay in, (even a 5 star), - The STAFF friendly, helpful, cheerful chatty, (if time allows and on Christmas Day it did), And when any problem occurred refusing to be beaten even if "strictly" not something they any control over or need to help on/with but they did

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chazsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel a review. I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and we thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We will of course share this with our team.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Kind regards

Laura Hodge
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

we were in Stirling for a week for the birth of our twin granddaughters. The hotel was a basic express hotel. The cleaning of the room was haphazard. The location was great. small room for a week's stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCurtis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
I’m sorry that you found the cleaning of your room to be haphazard. Your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping team as feedback and I am sure that they will embrace your comments and improve our services for future guests.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back some time in the future
Yours sincerely
Craig Renfrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
510 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stirling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stirling

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Address: Craigleith Rd | Springkerse Business Park, Stirling FK7 7XH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stirling 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the relaxing Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel, 1 mile from Stirling city centre and 15 miles from Loch Lomond. You will arrive to a warm welcome at our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stirling, where the airy lobby is set with leather armchairs and daily newspapers. Relax in our Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or catch up on email with our free WiFi, which is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is just one mile from Stirling's centre, 23 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 36 miles to Glasgow Airport. The Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel is 15 miles from the splendour of Loch Lomond. Children under 12 stay free when sharing a room with their parents, and our friendly staff can help book tickets to nearby attractions like Blair Drummond Safari Park and Stirling Castle. Enjoy a great start to your day with our inclusive breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and a choice of hot items. Our naturally lit meeting room can welcome up to 30 people and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. We can arrange lunches and refreshments for your meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stirling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Hotel Stirling
Holiday Inn Stirling
Stirling Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing