We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Stirling Castle
from $19.60
More Info
from $40.50
More Info
from $41.80
More Info
from $47.00
More Info
Reviews (7,976)
Filter reviews
6,271 results
Traveler rating
4,200
1,556
346
107
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,200
1,556
346
107
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour unicorn cafe stirling heads unicorn tapestries royal palace free tour period costume regimental museum scottish history mary queen of scots argyll and sutherland highlanders explorer pass the kitchen car park surrounding countryside lots of history stunning views
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,271 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Great educational elements to Stirling Castle. The explanations of how Stirling Castle's location was historically important, the reconstructions of rooms, and the costumed interpreters were all excellent. Especially enjoyed the exhibition of the rewoven Unicorn tapestries; this was the first time I had seen how the tapestries are woven. How amazing it must have been to watch the weavers when they recreated the tapestries at Stirling Castle. The cafe had a nice selection. Fun day!

Thank sebkayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Loved our tour of the castle! We did the audio tour - it was lengthy - I didn’t have the patience to listen to the whole story in each area, but enjoyed it nonetheless. The tapestry exhibit was amazing.

Well kept grounds, beautiful views, historical significance and education, why could be better? Well, the weather, but that’s no fault of the castle or staff!

Thank MustangGirlAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Absolutely Brilliant place to visit! Totally enjoyed this... stunning buildings and it wasn’t overcrowded at all. They had people in costume that explained parts of the castle and rooms. Guided tour was a must as the history was brilliant. Stunning castle grounds, lovely rose garden and views. Lots to see and good interaction rooms. You can even dress up in period clothes for a great photo. Shelly from NZ.

Thank ShellyMillsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Very nice place to visit, awesome view. Got unicorn coins as well. And we loved Unicorn cafe as well.... ❤️

Thank kennie2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Great day there...they organised a military band and a 21 gun salute. It was for some bloke called Charles.
The school parties were unwelcome for an old codge like me! Bless.
There was a particularly grumpy Knight who when asked what he was doing said entertaining the bairns in passing. Perhaps it was the chain mail in the rain!

Thank P6455RLjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Located on a high bluff outcropping above the town of Stirling, this massive castle is filled with history from centuries ago. You do have to pay for parking and entrance fee is a bit steep but you can easily spend a couple hours here especially if the weather is nice. It was the off season so the crowds were lite and just strolling the grounds and enjoying the expansive views was worth it!! Don't miss the "Robert The Bruce" monument located at the front entrance of the castle.

Thank Ranger145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This is such a fabulous place to visit, the recreation of some of the royal apartments and the Great Hall allows one to really get a feeling for what life was like 500 years ago. The living history guides are just tremendous. Their ability to inhabit a character and tell you of their lives in the 16th century is outstanding. I never tire of Stirling Castle - for me it bears constant re-visits. I love it.

Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a delightful place to visit! My friends and I enjoyed a wonderful day visiting this fantastic castle!
It’s a small town within the walls of a castle! Lots to see and learn.
I had the feeling that this place has been carefully restored ‘just enough’ but not ‘too much’. Enough of the decor and fabric of these buildings has been made good so you can feel and understand it, without going too far and making it unrealistic.
We spent a long afternoon there 12-5 and we just about got around it, but you could deffo spend longer if you’re more of a history buff than me!
The Stirling Heads are amazing! I love anything to do with Oak!!
Well done Heritage Scotland (or whatever you’re called!) I think it’s fabulous!!
The town of Stirling has a lovely feel to it. Looked over by the imposing castle up on its pedestal, with the Wallace monument keeping watch nearby.
(I want to visit the Wallace Monument next time I’m up in the land Northward)

Thank AberYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can highly recommend a visit to this castle steeped in history. Possibly the most historically significant castle in Scotland. A tour is provided as part of the cost of your entry fee. The tour guide, Charles, was enthusiastic, entertaining and very informative. He really brought the history of the castle to life. We enjoyed a warm meal in the castle cafe.

1  Thank APfromAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my partner came to Stirling Castle as we had been told by a lot of people to visit. Although we enjoyed our time there it was very overpriced it cost us £30 to get in, there is a lot of building work currently being done which is obviously required but was a shame to see!

Although there are a few boards with information scattered around there didn’t seem to be anyone around if you wanted to know more or ask questions. The only room which did have a member of staff was in the Lady’s Bedchambers. The women in there was fantastic and really knew her stuff! It needed more people like her around so you could really enjoy the experience!

Thank dance1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews