We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Stirling Castle
from $60.50
More Info
from $59.20
More Info
from $53.90
More Info
from $64.50
More Info
Reviews (7,970)
Filter reviews
6,268 results
Traveler rating
4,197
1,556
346
107
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,197
1,556
346
107
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour unicorn cafe stirling heads unicorn tapestries royal palace free tour period costume regimental museum scottish history mary queen of scots argyll and sutherland highlanders the kitchen explorer pass car park surrounding countryside lots of history stunning views
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,268 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Very nice place to visit, awesome view. Got unicorn coins as well. And we loved Unicorn cafe as well.... ❤️

Thank Aarti27994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Great day there...they organised a military band and a 21 gun salute. It was for some bloke called Charles.
The school parties were unwelcome for an old codge like me! Bless.
There was a particularly grumpy Knight who when asked what he was doing said entertaining the bairns in passing. Perhaps it was the chain mail in the rain!

Thank P6455RLjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Located on a high bluff outcropping above the town of Stirling, this massive castle is filled with history from centuries ago. You do have to pay for parking and entrance fee is a bit steep but you can easily spend a couple hours here especially if the weather is nice. It was the off season so the crowds were lite and just strolling the grounds and enjoying the expansive views was worth it!! Don't miss the "Robert The Bruce" monument located at the front entrance of the castle.

Thank Ranger145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

This is such a fabulous place to visit, the recreation of some of the royal apartments and the Great Hall allows one to really get a feeling for what life was like 500 years ago. The living history guides are just tremendous. Their ability to inhabit a character and tell you of their lives in the 16th century is outstanding. I never tire of Stirling Castle - for me it bears constant re-visits. I love it.

Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What a delightful place to visit! My friends and I enjoyed a wonderful day visiting this fantastic castle!
It’s a small town within the walls of a castle! Lots to see and learn.
I had the feeling that this place has been carefully restored ‘just enough’ but not ‘too much’. Enough of the decor and fabric of these buildings has been made good so you can feel and understand it, without going too far and making it unrealistic.
We spent a long afternoon there 12-5 and we just about got around it, but you could deffo spend longer if you’re more of a history buff than me!
The Stirling Heads are amazing! I love anything to do with Oak!!
Well done Heritage Scotland (or whatever you’re called!) I think it’s fabulous!!
The town of Stirling has a lovely feel to it. Looked over by the imposing castle up on its pedestal, with the Wallace monument keeping watch nearby.
(I want to visit the Wallace Monument next time I’m up in the land Northward)

Thank AberYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Can highly recommend a visit to this castle steeped in history. Possibly the most historically significant castle in Scotland. A tour is provided as part of the cost of your entry fee. The tour guide, Charles, was enthusiastic, entertaining and very informative. He really brought the history of the castle to life. We enjoyed a warm meal in the castle cafe.

1  Thank APfromAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Myself and my partner came to Stirling Castle as we had been told by a lot of people to visit. Although we enjoyed our time there it was very overpriced it cost us £30 to get in, there is a lot of building work currently being done which is obviously required but was a shame to see!

Although there are a few boards with information scattered around there didn’t seem to be anyone around if you wanted to know more or ask questions. The only room which did have a member of staff was in the Lady’s Bedchambers. The women in there was fantastic and really knew her stuff! It needed more people like her around so you could really enjoy the experience!

Thank dance1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took the train from Edinburgh to Sterling, and then a taxi to the Castle. Walked back (all downhill) to the train station. One of the MANY castles we visited from ruins to residences. The tour guides are informative and from overhearing other groups beginning or while wandering around later, I think each pretty much does their own thing. Not a "canned" presentation. You could do a couple of them and while you might go to the same places in the castle the emphasis might be a bit different in each one. If you like castles, you should enjoy "Stairling".

Thank RetiredTraveler649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Must visit when in Scotland. Less crowded than Edinburgh castle. Beautiful views on a clear day. Take a guided tour to get some interesting stories.

Thank AtlaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stirling Castle is located between the highlands and the lowlands. The buildings definitely have a lot of history to them. It has its unique place in the unification of Scottish and English lines of kings.
Would highly recommend to take the guided tour which is included with the ticket to the castle

Thank kaushikd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews