We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it and will be staying again”
Review of Georgian House

Georgian House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Georgian House
Ranked #38 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Tarbert, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We love it and will be staying again”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My sister and I have stayed at the Georgian House lots of times over the last few years and each time we have not been disappointed. The owners make you very welcome when you arrive and also throughout your stay. The rooms are spacious and most importantly very clean. Another good point is the off road parking and it is very close to the shopping centre and other ammenties. This review was posted by Catherine & Margaret.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank catdew35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This B&B is in a gracious old home just a short walk from restaurants and pubs. There is off- street parking and the front garden is lovely. Our twin room was clean and very spacious, but the supplies for the in-room, cold breakfast (e.g. trays, small refrigerator) took alot of table space. I found the bed to be quite hard and slept poorly, though my partner had no problem with it. I also missed having a decent reading light by the bed.
The quality of the breakfast is my reason for assigning this B&B a "poor" rating. I think the principle of an in-room, cold breakfast is a good one and I had anticipated a break from the heavy "full Scottish breakfast". However, the quality of food offered was poor. It would have helped to offer some whole-grain bread or muffins, rather than white bread, some nice fruit salad, instead of a Granny Smith apple, and some granola, rather Cornflakes and Bran. And instant coffee for breakfast is not a happy start to the day! Apart from breakfast and the bed, the Georgian House is fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank An0ther0pini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This was the first time we stayed in a B&B that was a 'do it yourself breakfast'. took us by surprise, but it gives freedom to choose your own time of getting up - and a chance to buy some whisky marmalade and eat it all before we left.

Coming back in the afternoons with the sun streaming into the room was just really lovely. Sorry I've no pictures to add.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MopsyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Went back to this Guest house with a friend, and it was as lovely as i remembered.Enjoyed having a set up where you can have breakfast when you like, in your room with a help yourself selection, beautifully laid out. The location was perfect for some stressfree shopping- no parking hassles, as it is minutes from the pedestrianised shopping area and Thistles Shopping centre, which is small enough to mean you are not walking miles but hosts a great selection of shops- a Zara, Debenhams, Primark and then more individual shops & cafes on cobbled streets leading up to Stirling Castle & the old jail.A short drive & you are into countrside or small towns like Bridge of Allan which has a lovely art Gallery, and is buzzing with more small, unique shops & restaurants.A breathe of fresh air to see individuality & character.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotthols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

If you are looking for a romantic and beautyful place to stay, this bed and breakfast is it.
We stayed in a twin room in this beautyful old house. The room was perfect with big comfortable beds, very beautyfull decor, i felt like a princess. The place is self catering, so no warm breakfast, but still we got all we needed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JensenMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Without a doubt, easily the best B&B I've ever stayed in. They couldn't have been more welcoming.Nothing was too much trouble. The house is beautiful; authentically Georgian with fabulous paintings everywhere. Luxurious ensuite with deep bath; just right for a weary motorhomer rained out of her campsite. This was a holiday but I travel extensively on business. If I could find accommodation like this, I would never bother with hotels again!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckinghamshireRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Gardens Apartments
Royal Gardens Apartments
#13 of 18 in Stirling
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
1.4 mi away
The Old Tram House
The Old Tram House
#6 of 59 in Stirling
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Munro Guest House
Munro Guest House
#12 of 59 in Stirling
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian House

Property: Georgian House
Address: 16 Allan Park, Stirling FK8 2QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian House is situated in the centre of Stirling and is a short walk to all amenities, including train & bus station and is 45 minutes by car to Edinburgh & Glasgow. It lies in the centre of Scotland and is the gateway to the Highlands. Stirling is full of history as is Georgian House which is over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Georgian House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing