We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a spot of lunch”
Review of Cook's of Stirling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cook's of Stirling
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good for a spot of lunch”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I came here during the week for a light lunch.

Plenty parking available but the entrance and exit to the establishment isn't the most convenient being situated right next to a major roundabout.

We were given several menus and there are lunch deals on ie 2 courses for £8.95, plus the a la carte menu and a snacks menu so plenty to pick from depending on how hungry you are.

We had one of the 'basket meals', all £5, chips and haddock in a tempura batter. Other £5 basket
meals include chicken & chips, burger & chips, pulled pork & chips. I had a small 'light bite' of cheese nachos which were plentiful and lots of cheese, sour cream etc. both dishes were very tasty.

We were served quickly and the food is cooked fresh and hot and is reasonably priced. Nice, clean restaurant with a good atmosphere. I will definitely be returning for an evening meal the next time I visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vazbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    51
    31
    9
    12
See reviews for
21
100
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is situated on a very busy roundabout and has single glazing! Impossible to have a quiet moment in the afternoon after a (superb!) castle visit.
We didn't let it ruin our holiday, left and slept in another hotel....despite having to pay the night + breakfast at Cook's.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cameos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

A fairly new Hotel, well furnished and appointed with plenty of parking and situated at the south end of Stirling High Street.
The Décor and ambience are high end and the restaurant offered a good and inexpensive menu.
Bedroom was of a very high standard, bed, bedlinen, duvet and towels very high quality. Single glazing let in some street sounds but heavy curtains kept most of the noise low and daylight out, ensuring a sound sleep. Staff were helpful and very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was my second visit to cooks. I was there on the opening night where the food was excellent but the service was slow.

I returned on a Monday evening in May and had an equally good meal, and the service was good.
I started with the haggis Bon bons served with mustard mayo and the haggis was lovely and tasty. I then had thyme roasted chicken served in a tasty gravy with roast potatoes and a nice selection of vegetables. My companion had the fish and chips which was served with mushy peas and tartare sauce. The presentation was lovely. Fat chips stacked up and the fish balanced on the stack.

My meal was £8.95 for two courses and my companions was, I think, the same price. A lovely glass of White Zinfandel washed the meal down nicely.

I will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

It's clean, it's friendly, it's beautifully decorated and the food is good. We've stayed a few times and sampled several rooms and never been disappointed. I really wish we had such a fab hotel in our home town.
The staff are all, without exception, superb examples of what hospitality is all about. They really seem to care about their customers.
Generally speaking, Stirling hotels are wildly expensive, and I can't for the life of me work out why! The Adamo is no exception. We'd love to stay more often, but the price is a deterrent unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenina_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I booked this hotel for me and my husband for our wedding nite and had a really enjoyable stay. The room was very clean, staff really friendly and extreamly helpful. Would definatly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My friend ex book the adamo for me to leave on my wedding day when we got book in we whent to our room got settled in and found out 2of the bedside lamps didn,t work plus they where lime scales in the bath tv didn,t work windows never opened for fresh air . I wont be going back there price,s are a bit heigh. ;(

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's of Stirling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's of Stirling

Property: Cook's of Stirling
Address: 78 Upper Craigs, Stirling FK8 2DT, Scotland (Formerly Adamo Stirling)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's of Stirling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Cook's of Stirling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamo Stirling Hotel Stirling
Cook's Of Stirling Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing