We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, friendly & great breakfast.”
Review of Linden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Linden Guest House
Ranked #10 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome, friendly & great breakfast.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

After a stressful afternoon after a 4 hour drive down from Inverness to be let down at the last minute by another B&B in the area, Fay at short notice welcomed myself, Husband and young son warmly at the front door and happiness returned to our family!. We stayed 3 nights in a large family room (1 double bed for us and 3 singles for my son to choose from!) with Ensuite which was clean very comfortable with tea making facilities, microwave and plenty of large white fluffy towels (not like the usual postage stamp size hotel chains offer these days!).

B&B is located in walking distance to the centre of town and Fay provided a map and helpful suggestions/advice of where to visit how to get to places etc. Breakfasts are lovely - plenty to select from the continental option and my husband enjoyed the full english. We enjoyed good friendly conversation and humour with Fay which made our stay a really lovely experience and a positive end to our final few days of our holiday in Scotland.

We had a lovely stay and would not hesitate in returning or recommending to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkyPerky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    25
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were given a lovely welcome by Fay at the front door. This extended to both our children (11 & 8) and our dog. Just an overnight stop over , no need to search for a tourist information centre, Fay had map and suggestions ready for us. The room and ensuite, simply lovely with plenty of hot water and white fluffy towels.
The choice at breakfast is traditional English or as we chose the continental. Wow what a feast! Meats and cheese, brioche and coissants, ceareal and toast with home made jams,friut salad and a wide friut selection. Perfect. We will certainly be returning to this beautiful city and this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytimes0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

simply the best b&b we had in our 2 week round trip in scotland! very warm and friendly atmosphere, an an awesome breakfast- not only the scottish, but also the continental was more then satisfying. especially the prepared selection of fruits is remarkable.
furthermore its very close to the city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Returned to Linden guest house to visit our son who lives in Stirling. We used to stay there when he was at university a few years back and always found it to be an excellent spot. On this occasion we were not disappointed... we arrived at 10.30am as our flight was an early one. Fay had our room ready which was brilliant . We were able to unpack ,make a cuppa and have a wee rest before walking the short distance into Stirling. Breakfast is really good with plenty of choice, lots of fruits and sweet breads. Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This small but homely Bed & Breakfast was a delight. Just five minutes walk to Stirling centre and only 10-15 minutes to the Castle. That was up hill on the way there !!

The proprietor, Fay McGuinness , is super. Charming and hospitable.

The Family Room we booked was roomy and accommodated three single beds and a double. There was also an additional put-me-up bed, and space available for it, but that would have made it a little crowded. A baby cot was also at one's disposal.

Breakfast was, as in Scotland, good, copious and freshly home-cooked to order. The continental breakfast food was excellent, with a large choice of fresh fruit as well as the usual cereals, etc.

The prices are very reasonable. Fay even gave us a 10% off voucher to use at a local restaurant, the "Brea", which also proved to be a great deal and good value for money.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone travelling in the area, either on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pascalejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

To quote my son, "Faye's house is better than any 4 star hotel." We loved our stay at this B & B. We flew in to Glasgow and immediately took the train to Stirling, and Linden House was a perfect first stop. Faye is a wonderful hostess. Her breakfast was great, and she gave us good suggestions on where to go and what to do with our days. The kids loved meeting her dog, Finn. The family room was large, comfortable and clean, and the double that my mother had upstairs was lovely as well.
The house is about a 5 minute walk from the train station and 10 from the town center - easy even with kids and luggage. Another bonus for us is that her house is only about 1 1/2 miles from numerous rental car agencies, so we were able to just walk to pick up our car.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone, and if we are in the area, we will certainly go visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kd123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Linden Guest House in Stirling is a perfectly appointed guesthouse. Just a 12 minute walk from the train station, the B&B is welcoming and Faye is a lovely host. Breakfast was thoroughly delicious, the linens were crisp, and the bathroom was a generous size. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candomama2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.6 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.5 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
1.7 mi away
The Old Tram House
The Old Tram House
#6 of 59 in Stirling
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Munro Guest House
Munro Guest House
#17 of 59 in Stirling
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Guest House

Property: Linden Guest House
Address: 22 Linden Avenue, Stirling FK7 7PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Linden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing