We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent airport hotel - Bill M (South Wales)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great hotel and service at very reasonable price with car parking included. Room was very comfortable with bathroom having great shower but very noisy extraction fan. Food in the restaurant was excellent and great value for the price and the service and staff were very good. Car parking transfer was quick and easy and even with heavy traffic due to road works our chauffeur knew the back roads to take to avoid the queues.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello Bill M, Newport, thank you for taking the time to give such a positive review on our hotel, it is really good to hear when we are getting things right. I will make sure all the staff are given this feedback, as a team it boosts moral and as we are a family run business, all staff have the local knowledge - like our driver to act when we face challenges. We are looking into the ensuites at present and ways of improving facilities ie hair dryers, fans, shower screens etc. If you travel again from Gatwick and choose us, please call direct as we offer a loyalty discount to returning guests. A familiar face is always welcome. Regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

914 - 920 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Having tried lots of airport parking hotels around Gatwick this one certainly comes top (so far) in it's price bracket. Room was spacious clean and well decorated and bathroom was tidy if somewhat dated. Full English breakfast was good value (though the continental option looked like it might be somewhat paltry- didn't have it so can't really say).

Most important criteria for an airport parking hotel though for me are:

1. Ease of parking 10/10
2. Ease and efficiency of drop-off 9.5/10 (lost half point because of detour to Acorn lodge- minor thing)
3. Speed and efficiency of pick up on return 10/10
4. Car clean and in 1 piece when you return...11/10
5. Car not parked behind 2000 other cars on return ...10/10

Staff were polite and efficient- price was very competitive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viggenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Viggenboy, Ipswich, Thank you for making a very positive and detailed review on our hotel. It is good to get feedback, especially when we are getting things right, We value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on standards and service where possible. We are upgrading our Restaurant and Bar areas and the Breakfasts are an area we will be looking into. If you travel from Gatwick again and choose us, please call direct as we offer a loyalty discount for returning guests. We look forward to familiar faces. Regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here night before flying, on arrival we just parked our car in the large car park and made our way to reception. Unfortunately there was only one member of staff on reception and there were 3 parties in front of us! After a wait of about 15mins we were checked in which was very fast and smooth. We made our way to the room (which was in the eaves) and were pleasantly suprised. The room was very clean and bigger than most quad rooms we have stayed in. The bathroom was also spotless and also a great size,
Definitely will return

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jopedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Jopedro, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and are pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on service and standards where possible. We apologise for the delay in checking you in, and have been looking at staff schedules to improve on the staffing levels during our busiest periods. If you travel from Gatwick again and choose us, please call direct as we offer returning guests a loyalty discount. A chance to gain that extra brownie point for a full house. We look forward to a familiar face. Regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in March 14 prior to flight. Parking was very straightforward and check in was quick. Room was very standard and bathroom somewhat dreary but most importantly it was clean. Only problem we encountered was that you're not allowed to eat hot food in your room. It's a bit of a cheek as an outside alternative is a drive away so they've got you by the short and curlies really. We have an autistic daughter and for reasons I won't go into it would've been a lot easier for us for her to eat in the room. I pleaded with the staff on reception but they refused point blank. In the end one of us had to stay behind while the rest ate in the hotel's restaurant - the food was very average and overpriced we thought. Other than that no problems and drop off and pick up were absolutely fine. We had 2 cars parked at the hotel and there were no problems with them at all on our return. We would consider staying again, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Just be advised that our 'family room' had bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live4Hols72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on service and standards where possible. We are presently looking into updating the rooms and ensuites. With regard to the food issue, as this is mainly a transit Hotel with one night occupancy, we are very careful what is taken into the rooms, as this would leave lingering adverse odours for subsequent users. However, as most guests are in transit, we offer a wide variety of fare in our Restaurant and allow snacks and sandwiches in rooms. We do apologise if this was an inconvenience to you and hope it did not detract from your stay. We have other family rooms with single beds, should you wish. (Rather than bunk beds). If you travel from Gatwick again and choose us, please book direct (requesting specific rooms) as we offer a loyalty discount to returning guests and hopefully we can raise the bar with our service to you. Kind regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Taking a 6am flight from Gatwick, we decided to stay somewhere close where we could leave the car and get transfers to the airport.
The Cambridge fitted the bill Booking was easy. We didn't book dinner as hadn't planned to eat there (we were also put off by some adverse online feedback we'd read) but on arrival, there was a bright clean reception with a bustling restaurant in full swing. We had dinner which was well prepared, tasty and reasonably priced. The menu was varied and they'd be something for everyone. They also had a comprehensive bar. The room was spacious, clean, smart with a nice bathroom and plenty of space. The bed was comfy and we slept well (well to 3am anyway!)

The transfers were so smooth. Collected bang on time and on the return journey we barely made it out to the collection point when our mini bus arrived. A very good, professional service - which is ideal when you are tired and just want to collect your car and get on your way home.

We would definitely stay there again if travelling from Gatwick. As I said, ideal, cost effective and painless.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear LesleyW. Milton Keynes. Thank you for taking the time for writing such a positive review. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on standards and service where possible. If you do travel from gatwick again and choose us, please call direct as we give a loyalty discount for returning guests and we can try and gain that extra brownie point from you. We look forward to familiar faces. Kind regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night before an early morning flight. Room was large and clean, a lot better than most airport-type hotels we've stayed in. Transfers to and from the airport were spot on - would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kholex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Kholex, Cheltenham. Thank you for writing a positive review on our Hotel. It is good to hear when we are getting things right. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on standards and service where possible. If you travel from Gatwick again and choose us, please call direct as we offer returning guests a loyalty discount. kind regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

On arrival at the hotel we were able to park easily right out side the hotel entrance . Check in was easy but our room was in the roof of the hotel so head height was restrictive, also the room although clean and adequate for a night stay prior to departure was in need of some TLC the carpet was stained the bedding well worn.
Having said that the transfers to Gatwick airport were spot on also the return journey was easy. We had left our keys for the car as requested and our car was ready at the front of the hotel ready for our return. However the car looked as though it had been driven through a field it was really dirty. So don't know where it was taken during our holiday.

Room Tip: Request a room with high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Susang.Cardiff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel and am sorry you felt it a tad disappointing. I do appreciate that some of our attic rooms have a restricted height area, but we do display notices indicating this in the room. We are currently reviewing and updating rooms. which address the issues you raised. Lastly, during your absence we had a sand storm, which affected all the vehicles in the outside compound and can assure you that all cars are only moved from the Hotel car park to the compound, which is a matter of metres. Kind regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.2 mi away
Gainsborough Lodge
Gainsborough Lodge
#9 of 11 in Horley
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: $53 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 by Grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport at a cost of £3.00 per person each way. The hotel hosts the highly acclaimed Kemal Restaurant, which serves the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing