We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facilities OK. Service needs to be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel I guess is aimed very much at the traveller who is staying just for one night either prior to or just after a flight into Gatwick.
My room was fine - probably one of the refurbished rooms. The bed was comfy. The bathroom amenities very good. It's a shame that the refurb did not extend to updating the room security though. You get a door key which opens the room from the outside, but there is no way to lock it from the inside - not even a security chain.

For this hotel to gain a greater score, all the owners have to do is step up the service levels.

Example 1.
When I booked the room, I expected my card to have secured the booking only. No, the whole room rate was debited. Not good.
Example 2.
The receptionists need to understand that a request for a taxi might not be for Gatwick. They need to listen.
Example 3.
Breakfast was a bit...... well strange really. There was a choice of 2 fruit juices, and just three cereals, plus tea and coffee - all of which was by self service. I was then asked whether I'd like brown or white toasted bread, which arrived in a basket. There was no other choices. No fruit. No muesli, No porridge, No menu!! But then bizarrely, just as I was finishing my toast, the waiter brings me a full English cooked breakfast. This was lovely, and very hot. How odd though to assume that that is what I wanted? I wasn't asked..... I might have been a vegetarian. Quite strange really.

So, for one night. It's fine. But with a few changes, it could be a really good hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank SaxonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hello Saxonman, Thank you for your very comprehensive review. We value our customers and their opinions, to improve on the standards and service we offer.
With regard to room security, there is no need for a lock on the inside. Once inside the room the door will not open without a key. It is a secure one way system.
When booking we normally only take a £20 deposit from the card. Unless it is taken from an internet booking agency.
If a taxi is needed, then certainly we only need to know details of name, time and destination and if return is required. It is an oversight on our part. And indeed listening is a big part of the role.
Breakfast is normally discussed when booking in at reception, if there is a specific need, so it can be catered for. We are reviewing our continental breakfast option. Our waiters should ask if brown or white toast is required. They should also ask if a guest is ready for the full english breakfast. I agree we should also review what options could be available and a breakfast card showing what is served. I hope we are able to give an even better service in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here, and found no problems whatsoever. The Kemal Restaurant served a very good meal, with friendly staff and a good choice for vegetarians. The shuttle to the airport was fast and when we returned around midnight the service was equally good. Our room was clean, perhaps in need of a little makeover but ideal for a stopover. For those guests who are less mobile we would suggest a room near to Reception as we could not find a lift.

Room Tip: We could not find a lift, so for those less mobile choose a room near to Reception. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Dylan65 - It is good to see you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the food. I must say that now we have finished renovating the public areas, we are now looking to update our rooms. Because our hotel is listed, we are unable to install lifts, however there is always a member of staff on hand to help with luggage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Hi we stayed at this hotel we were a little unsure as there were a few unhappy reports. We left the room at 4.30 pm returned at 6pm to find our room was entered not broken in but with key, we had my wife's purse stolen, iPhone, laptop and a pair of beats head phones. We complains they said you must have miss laid them there no CCTV I tried to speak to manager he still not got back to me after 2weeks. Police took a report my advise don't trust this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob19721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Bob19721, I believe your inquiry to the Hotel was answered directly to you. It would be unprofessional to make any comments at this time. Except to say that our staff are highly professional and trustworthy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from a short break and stayed at the Cambridge the night before our flight from Gatwick. Staff are all very friendly and helpful, this was our 4th stay here and we have never had any problems with rooms, food or transfers. We will be staying again in January and treat our stay at the Cambridge as the first day of our holiday.

Room Tip: If you have any impairments with stairs, ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello Newsportscooby, Love the pooch. Thank you for taking the time for writing such a glowing review. Top Marks is a welcome result. We do try to accommodate our guests at all times, and look forward to those familiar faces in January. Burrrr!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Cambridge on many occasions over a period of ten years or more, we have never had a poor stay, the rooms are always clean and comfortable. They have always been very helpful, during this time the hotel has changed hands but the service has always remained good. Under the latest ownership it has improved tremendously, the drop off and pickup service has no time restrictions, so is available at any time to suit you. We used the restaurant on our last stay for breakfast and evening meal and were very pleased with the food and service. I have no hesitation on recommending this hotel for overnight stays and holiday parking.. (but please leave room for us).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello Jenny B, Thank you for writing such a positive review, we appreciate you taking the time to give your view. We would always welcome back familiar faces and indeed make sure you are always accommodated. We value our guests and their opinions and endeavour to improve on our service and standards where possible. Next time you are flying from Gatwick, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night before our holiday, had 7 days parking included.
room was fine, was a little dated especially the bathroom but was clean.
Tea and coffee in room and tv with few channels.
was a little annoyed about having to leave car keys and it being moved whilst away, as i dont recall reading that when booking but overall would probably stay again for what we had paid.

Room Tip: no lift so high floors could be difficult if you have lots of luggage plus children etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reyno555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello Reyno555. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I can confirm that we have renovated all the public areas of the hotel and are now looking at individual rooms. We have fitted all new double glazed wooden windows in keeping with the style of the hotel. All mattresses have been replaced and the decor of rooms is now being looked at. The TVs should have the new flat screen tv's have the usual 7/8 channels available. We keep the cars safely, locked in an onsite compound for the duration of a guest's absence. The building is a grade II listed building, with historical value, as it was owned by Prince George II, Duke of Cambridge and it is therefore against regulations to install lifts, but there is always staff available to assist our guests with luggage. Or for an overnight stay, guests are welcome to leave luggage in reception and take an overnight bag to the room, which can be then put in the car until the guest's return, should they wish. As we do not require the keys until the morning. I hope this clarifies the situation. We value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on our service and standards where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel was perfect for what we wanted, a one night stopover before our flight in the morning, The lobby and restaurant/bar were lovely. The room wasn't the most up to date room in the world but it was clean, had bath and shower, comfy bed and tea and coffee. The parking was superb, car was found on our return in perfect condition (unlike when left at APH) and the car was in the hotel carpark not miles away. We ate at the Hotel in the evening and the meal was excellent!! Absolutely delicious food, great choice and a very nice setting.The shuttle service to the hotel was £5 each return and was fast and very efficient. On our return to the uk we telephoned for our shuttle and only had to wait for maybe 10 minutes. We will definately book this hotel again when we fly from Gatwick next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misspinky3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Director of Sales at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello Misspinky3000, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our hotel. We endeavour to give the service expected of our guests and appreciate when customers tell us we are getting things right. We look forward to a familiar face on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,298 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
2.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: $55 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 by Grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport at a cost of £3.00 per person each way. The hotel hosts the highly acclaimed Kemal Restaurant, which serves the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing