We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine old hotel at reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
East Midlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fine old hotel at reasonable price”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Greeted by a very friendly and helpful Turkish receptionist and provided with a very comfortable room. The meal in the restaurant was very tasty, although the dining-room would benefit from softer lighting. The bar area was also very bright and sparsely furnished, Overnight stay with parking was reasonably priced, and the transfer to the airport a mere £3. Very good when taking the price into account.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    369
    238
    154
    216
See reviews for
261
704
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Cambridge for a night before our holidays. Having used the hotel before we found that it had tired a bit and was in need of some TLC. The room was on the first floor and had an extra bed there. It had the usual tea and coffee making facilities but was very basic.
As we were away quite early we did not use the shower so cannot comment on others remarks about a long waiting time for hot water.
We did eat there the night before using the standard menu and found the meal was reasonable value for money but the drinks were a little expensive.
The car was in the drive on our return having used the transfer cab provided by the hotel, they charge £3/head for this two way service. The transport is from rank 9 at the south terminal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda3491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felsted
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Shower just stopped halfway through, had to wait 5 minutes before it started again. Had to turn the radiator off as it was banging and gurgling. Room clean but tired. No lift (although I appreciate that this is a listed building, so may be too difficult). Tried to book a double room and a family room (family room for 3 of us) and were told that no family rooms were available, so we had to book 3 rooms. When we got there one of our rooms had 3 beds so I felt as if we'd been ripped off. Taxi service to airport was efficient, coming back was rubbish - they told us to wait with 6 others already there and then sent a taxi with 8 seats for 11 of us so we had to wait another 20 minutes for another one. Had 15 days car parking so would have been good value if we hadn't had to pay for an extra room.

Room Tip: Go to Holiday Inn instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felstedmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Horley hotels

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in February for one night with 10 days car parking on site. Our room was small but adequate for a one night stay, the bathroom was good, and tea and coffee facilities were in our room. The hotel is a grade 2 listed building, therefore a little creaky on the stairs and the room floorboards, but this was no problem to us. We booked our 7.30 am transfer the night before, this cost £3.00 per person return which is very reasonable. The mini bus was on time. When we arrived back at Gatwick, after a phone call to the hotel, the mini bus picked us up within 15 minutes, where our car was waiting for us at the front of the hotel. We will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryhenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Another great stay at the cambridge hotel everything went smoothly from check in wake up call fantastic breakie lovely comfortable room and quick transfers to airport Thankyou for another great stay all at the gatwich will look forward to our 6th stay .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellrestedKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed once again on 17th February and were just as impressed as last year. Staff very pleasant,. Food superb with everywhere spotless also plenty of hot water and very white bed linen and towels in the rooms! Altogether another lovely stay - thank you

Room Tip: Rear room away from road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teeshhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to flying out of Gatwick. Used the parking which help make the hotel "ok" for the price.

Our room was very basic, although only two people we had three beds, with the third single bed blocking the only cupboard, which seemed quite pointless.

Hotel was quiet at night - although on a main road, the room was very quiet.

The bed was not very comfortable, but the price was not high.

Breakfast was exceptionally ordinary - to the point where we had to wait for coffee to brew, as only one pot - orange juice sat empty for a long time. We were not advised or given a choice of hot food - we had to ask what it was going to be so that you could select.

The shuttle service was punctual and perfect.

Room Tip: Have a look around, must be better places. Don't bother with profressional photos - they do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Property: Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 by Grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport at a cost of £3.00 per person each way. The hotel hosts the highly acclaimed Kemal Restaurant, which serves the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing