We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good before you fly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“good before you fly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night before an early flight. Room was adequate. Left the car for 2 weeks for free.
The restaurant in the hotel is excellent, very good food, drop off and pick up at the airport was good, slight wait for collection at airport, but only about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simmo3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    360
    233
    153
    214
See reviews for
258
691
51
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

First of all, this hotel is easy to find being so close to the M25.We would highly recommended it for comfortable rooms,transfer service to the airport,secure parking on site for long stay,and above all the helpful and very friendly staff.For what we paid we consider it to be excellent value. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gragmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed one night before our flight from Gatwick, and paid approx £90 to include parking for 10 days, which was good value. However there was no lift, which is madness when most people have cases. Although the reception was clean and bright, the room and landing was shabby and needed painting and updating. The room was fairly small as double bed and bunk bed in room.
The receptionist was OK, however not over friendly. There seemed to be a lot of staff "hanging about" around the reception area chatting. We was not issued with a receipt however when we asked for one the following morning, the man behind reception could not obilige.
The transfers were good and third of the price of a taxi.

Room Tip: If you can't lift your suitcase ask for a room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillmenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coningsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I Booked this Hotel on line to enable My partner and I to catch an early flight from Gatwick on Xmas Morning. To be honest was not expecting much as the booking 2 weeks secure parking plus hotel room for one night at a price £85.00. How wrong could I be from arriving at the reception to checking out the following morning including the transfer to airport by taxi the staff were helpful and very professional at all times.
The rooms were large airy light and bed was very comfy.
had an evening meal in the Hotel restaurant, fantastic food and service at what I considered to be a reasonable price considering the hotels location.

Would highly recommend this hotel either as I did as a stay and park for airport or even as a relaxing break
P.S no aircraft noise !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Please note did not stay but did have second thoughts after mixed reviews plus photos.I emailed the hotel re early start as breakfast included plus the issues of transfers.The transfers were first come first served and this seemed a bit hap hazard for me so just wanted a bit of reassurrance re the policy.
I emailed the hotel and got an unexpected reply on a Sunday night from a chap asking for a booking reference.Fair enough.I then received a reply saying as I have booked through a third party they would not receive confirmation until tommorrow.Ok but I did wonder what that side of things was to do with me?I asked for an answer re our concerns,but,felt a bit miffed about the lack of reply so cancelled.If this is the standard of customer service for an expensive deal then forget it.Also a note avoid the Holiday Extras website.They whack on hidden charges for cards & cancellations ,

Room Tip: Go to Premier Inn instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived for a one night stay at 10 pm on Christmas Eve. We were greeted by the receptionist and given our room key - she then told us there was no lift. The staircase was all marked from suitcases being knocked against it, not a pretty sight. The general feel of the hotel was old, tired and shabby, but having said that, we paid £96 for bed (no breakfast as we were leaving early the next morning) and parking for 16 days,so you get what you pay for, and therefore it was value for money. The room, although large with a double bed and bunk beds, again was tired and extremely hot - even without heating. The lighting was so bright we even tried to take out a light bulb, but failed. We had a drink in the bar, the person who served us was pleasant even if he could not work the credit card machine! The TV in the bar did not work. We had arranged transport to Gatwick, at £6 return per person, again good value. It arrived on time for both journeys and was trouble free. All in all, a basic hotel which served its purpose, but should we fly from Gatwick again, would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley Shiers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We paid just over £100 for a weeks parking and one night stay (with breakfast) on return from holiday. The room was clean but very dated - like 1970/80's decor and bathroom. Although the room had three single beds, there was only one small wardrobe with three hangers (one each I guess!)

£3 per person return transfer to Gatwick which we couldn't fault. Only had to wait a few minutes for the minibus after making the call on arrival at the Airport bus stop.

Receptionists very pleasant and helpful.

We were a little concerned that what seemed to be fire doors on a couple of the landings were wedged open. It was apparent that on some of these doors, the 'fire door, keep shut' signs had been removed or were missing. Also, one of the electrical sockets in the room had been damaged.

To summarise - ok for one night but wouldn't use it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsleofWightTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
0.9 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Redhill Reigate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Property: Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 by Grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport at a cost of £3.00 per person each way. The hotel hosts the highly acclaimed Kemal Restaurant, which serves the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing