We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked one night and ten days parking through Holiday Extras. We were impressed from the beginning! The hotel was clean and tidy and the man on reception very welcoming. We were asked if we wanted to leave our car keys and, as we said we didnt, my husband was taken across to the parking compound and shown where to park.

The room was ridiculously hot I will admit. We had all the windows open and were still sweating buckets. However, I asked reception if they had a desk fan anywhere that we could borrow and they asked us to give them half an hour to see what they could do. Ten minutes later there was a knock at the door and we were given an industrial size fan! it was magic and cooled the room in no time. To me, that was a nice touch as it clearly wasnt part of the normal service! (I wondered if perhaps the chef in the hot kitchen had had his only source of air con half inched!)

Our travel to and from the airport was great, the driver took care with our luggage unlike the handlers at gatwick who broke my daughter's buggy (but thats another story). No complaints.

The only slight negative point is the 'double bed' was way too small - I suspect it was only a 4 footer and my husband and I aren't little people! Oh and the bathroom tap dripped loudly all night. But hey, you cant have it all!

I am slightly puzzled about one thing. We paid £89 for our stay and parking. We were expecting a budget hotel for that price; akin to our usual Premier Inn stays. The rooms were certainly as expected and yet the restaurant was of a much higher class and price. It didnt really make sense to me! We thoroughly enjoyed our meals but felt a bit strange sitting in our holiday shorts and tshirts and ordering Cauliflower Au Gratin for the baby lol !

We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    371
    238
    154
    216
See reviews for
264
705
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst the car stayed for two weeks. No problems, good size room, quiet and clean. We were 'upgraded' from the Acorn (same owners I believe). Did not have breakfast due to early flight. No problems being collected from the airport or collecting the car.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanLaw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed overnight and left our car for a week while we went on holiday for ten days. We returned at the end of our holiday to collect the keys to our car to find two large holes in our key fob where you press to lock and unlock. I went to collect the car from their car park, when I pushed the fob button it did not work I tried using the key manually but that activated the alarm and would not unlock our boot. We were outside the hotel alarm going and unable to open the boot to load our luggage or to get home to Bristol. I asked to speak to the manager and explained about the damaged key fob, he did not seem to care one bit and just said that we would have to prove that it was in working order when we arrived and that the two holes were wear and tear. He then disappeared back in to his hotel leaving us and our luggage to fend for ourselves.
We found a local mechanic who eventually managed to disarm the alarm, he told us that the micro switches in the key fob had been damaged by being abused ie being stabbed by a pen or other keys. I've had to pay to sort all this out and I haven't bothered trying to get compensation from the manager because he was so unreasonable I know it would be a waste of time. The most annoying thing about all this is that he just left us in the rain at 2100hrs with no means to put our luggage in the boot and two hours drive from home, in all I think he was a nasty man and if you do stay there park the car yourself and keep your keys with you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Arrived on the 20th May for one overnight stay and 10 days parking along with another couple of friends so we booked 2 rooms and as our flight was early did not bother to book a breafast.
On arrival checking in was fine just a small form to fill out car reg, dates,flight numbers and mobile number also at this point it ask if your willing to leave your keys as the car may be moved around so the new arrivals cars are ready at the front , no prob for us we left our keys we did this the following morning so we could chuck our travelling clothes back in the car. We did have the chance to checkin the cases at the airport but thought we would not bother as we would to put our old clothes in hand luggage along with some toiletries.Also ask what time you want your transfers and give you a card with return number to phone and to go to bus stop number 9
After filling in the form we were asked if we wanted to book a table at the resturant we said yes and was asked what time we went for 7.30. We were given our keys and told they were up the stairs which we had to carry our own cases up at this point wishing we had packed less . It would have been a nice touch for a member of staff to do this for you they lossed a point on this one.
Our rooms faced each other and were fine nice and clean everything there that you would expect ,was surprised on just how warm the rooms were had to open a window to cool down a bit (but that could be an age thing ).
We went down to the loby to have a look around the bar was shut it was about 2.30 ish the staff would have opened for us but we thought we would walk out and maybe find a local pub.
We came out of the hotel and turned left its very industrial but kept walking a couple passed us on a bike and told us up the road a bit is a harvester it took about 20/25 mins. We had a light lunch and a drink and walked back.
Went down for dinner at 7.30 there was a couple of set meals wich included a choice of starter, mains, and dessert one was 19.99 and the other 21.99 each a litte expensive but as we had had the harvester earlier did not want to bother with a starter.Our meals were excellent and we all had different and the service was good the price was not much cheaper for doing it seperatly so would advice to have the set menu. Had a couple of drinks in the bar watched a bit of tv .
Our rooms were at the back of the hotel so nice and quite no traffic found the bed nice and comffy and slept well. Again took our own cases down stairs and waited for our transfer spoke to another couple while waiting they had a room at the front and said it was noicey so a good tip ask for a room at the back.
Transfers came our cases were put in for us by the driver and taken out no probs.
On our way home got our luggage give them a call went to bus stop number 9 within 5 minutes they were there luggage again put in for us and taken out.
Went into reception to pick up car keys and the car had been moved but was ready at the front waiing for us.
So all in all really pleased and would use the hotel again

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back no trafic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classicbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed one night before flight, hotel staff friendly room clean bed comfortable and a very nice meal that would have seen a lot of good restaurant off..Car parking was ok and no fuss getting to airport .Would stay again any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here on 18th May for 1 night prior to our flight on 19th May with 8 days secure parking for our car while we were away. Room was clean and comfortably furnished and good shower in bathroom which was also very clean. Excellent breakfast in the morning included in the deal, and the hotel transferred us from there to the airport for our flight. They also met us on our return, all we had to do was phone them from the bus stop outside the airport and the minibus was there to meet us within 10 minutes. What more can you ask, no hassle with parking and no early morning rush to get to the airport on time. Three course dinners also served in the hotel dining room in the evening, a good way to start the holiday. Food excellent if a little expensive.Our room was quiet, we heard nothing of the busy road outside. Would recommend for overnight stay either before flight from Gatwick and indeed again on your return if you dont fancy a long drive home after landing back at Gatwick.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely, it was at the front of the hotel but no problem with traffic noise although roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 125Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed overnight before flight and used their car park for duration of holiday. Room clean and comfortable and restaurant is actually quite good and reasonably priced. Like a couple of other reviews we were disturbed into the night by an irritating bit of plant or machinery that made noise periodically into the small hours. Probably not so bad normally but with the stress of needing to rise promptly and an impending long journey it was just enough to disturb sleep. Otherwise though there was surprisingly little noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
0.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
5.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Property: Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 by Grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport at a cost of £3.00 per person each way. The hotel hosts the highly acclaimed Kemal Restaurant, which serves the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing