We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gatwick House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gatwick House
Ranked #12 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kent
1 review
“Hospitality!!!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Tony and Linda,
Thankyou for a wonderfull weekend! You both made us feel extremely welcome at your guest house. We would not hesitate to stay with you again and would recomend to anyone to use your facilities, as it is rare, in this day and age to find a place to stay where the hosts find the time of day to talk to their guests and make them feel welcome and at ease in the surroundings!!
Thankyou again and we look forward to our next stay!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncccricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    34
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
40
92
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newport
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We recently had an overnight stay at Gatwick House and really all that can be said is "first class!!"...Tony and Linda field run a first class operation at this excellent hotel and although our flight was early on the saturday morning and a taxi had to be arranged ( dont blame Tony not getting up at 5:30 ), Linda sorted this with no fuss whatsoever, and also offered for us to help ourselves to breakfast when we woke. On our return a quick phone call to Tony and within a few minutes he was at the airport to pick us up. On our return to the hotel our car was ready for us to just drive away. We have had overnight stays before in the Gatwick area and without question this was the best yet....and I see no reason for us to look elsewhere the next time we fly from Gatwick.
Phil and Debbie

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil1962Newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Gatwick House is located approx 5 minutes from the North Terminal.
It really is a lovely place. Tony & Linda, the owners, are the nicest of people. They treat you as part of their family.
Our car was parked for the 2 weeks whilst we were in The Maldives and everything was ok on our return.
Tony drove us to the airport very promptly after our arrival at Gatwick House as part of the free ferry service they offer. After our two weeks holiday, a free phone call from the north terminal off airport Hotels point; he picked us up within ten minutes.
The room was perfect. Bed was comfy and after 2 weeks of Maldivian style English breakfasts, where they just can't seem to get the beans, sausages and bacon right, it was mouth-watering to have our full English in the morning before our drive home to Somerset. Absolutely perfect!
And I don't even need to mention the 14th century pub at the back called Ye Olde Six Bells. You have to visit it to appreciate the place! The food served there was incredible.
We are already planning next year’s visit to The Maldives and have told Tony & Linda that we will always use their B & B every time we fly from Gatwick in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerbrauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

A very disappointing start to a weekend away. We were given Room No.1 which seemed to be a family room. Upon entering the room the first thing we saw was a single bed. There wasn't much room to maneuvre between the single and double bed. The bathroom was very small and there was hair in the shower tray. The room was cold and we were unable to find out how to turn the radiators on. The worst part was the bed. It was low, extremely hard and had a lump running down the middle. The bed seemed to slope to the sides so I felt like I was going to fall out. Very lumpy and very uncomfortable. We had a terrible night's sleep. On a positive note, the owners were very friendly over the phone and the price and location is good. But I am afraid I won't be recommending or returning.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallulah_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadown100, Manager. at Gatwick House, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
We do try to do our best to keep guests happy but are not mind readers.Some guests turn the radiators off in the rooms we have to give people the choice some like it warmer or colder than others.The guesthouse is kept at a constant 21 degrees with the option of turning up the radiators.
In Tallula's profile It states she is a five star girl all the way.
We are a 3 star budget b&b a double room cost around£ 60 .
5 star at Gatwick cost around £160.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

If you are looking for a place convenient to Gatwick or even as a jumping off point for southern England, this is the place. We paid 68 GBP for one night which was a steal for England. The pictures on Tripadvisor made it look almost dorm-like but, in reality this was not the case. The room was comfortable and immaculately clean. We departed to early to take advantage of full breakfast but the continental breakfast was satisfying and plentiful. The owners are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Be sure to take advantage of the pub next door. If you, like us, have been underwhelmed by the food, particularly the pub grub, around the UK, it will be a welcome surprise-excellent food, beer and character. Just walk down the path past the spooky cemetary and church and you will find it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchristenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We stayed here the night before a morning flight from Gatwick. The flight wasn't very early but we thought that we would save ourselves from the morning M25 car park. A double room and breakfast cost us £60 and parking for the week another £20 (which rises to £25 in April). We wern't expecting much but were very pleasantly surprised. Tony and Linda were the perfect hosts, the bedroom and en-suite were immaculately clean and the breakfast superb.

There is a pub (forget the name) at the rear of the B&B which serves reasonable pub grub. We were told that we needed to be there not much later than 2100 hrs to ensure we caught the kitchen but they seemed to be taking orders up to 2130 hrs.

Gatwick House is about 10 minutes drive from the airport and they offer a free transfer to and from the airport between 0900 & 2100 and they have a little flexibility outside those hours. The transfer arrangements were all very laid back but 100% efficient. There is also a very efficient system in place for collecting your car if you return outside of the normal hours.

Gatwick House completely took away the stress I usually associate with a morning flight from Gatwick we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sittingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Nothing was ever too much trouble for Tony and Linda to make me feel at home. The highlight was of course "The English Breakfast". I stayed at Gatwick House every five weeks for a night or two over a period of several years during travel to and from New Zealand to North Africa. A pleasant interlude during a very tiring journey.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collwobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick House

Property: Gatwick House
Address: 3 Brighton Road, Horley RH6 7HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatwick House guesthouse, situated next to a 15th century riverside pub and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gatwick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick House Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing