We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming home, from from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gable End Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ludington, MI
1 review
“A welcoming home, from from home!”
Reviewed December 21, 2009

My wife and I, along with my daughter and son in law, were en route to Millau, France, to spend Christmas with my son in law's parents. Due to snow delays at the airport in Detroit, we missed our flight out to France. Fortunately, my daughter and son in law had stayed with you on a previous visit and had brought along your business card. We called, and Mary came and picked us up at the airport. We felt totally welcome from our first contact. Our rooms were very comfortable, and our "cooked Breakfast" was incredible After breakfast, Joseph drove us to the airport to catch our flight to France. Our visit with the two of you and your wonderful inn was one of the highlights of our entire trip. Thanks for your hospitality. You will forever be a part of our Christmas memories!

Tom and Judy Riggs, Ludington, Michigan, USA

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graybeard066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    68
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
217
358
111
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Booked this because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. PIck up and drop offs to airport were prompt and the welcome from Mary was amazing. The breakfast was very good and the room was clean. I've hesitated about making any negative comments, hence the delay in adding my view because Mary and Joseph are very nice. However we found the room to be very average. There was an unnecessary collection of soft toys on top of the unit in the lobby and there was religious bric-a-brac (a cross above the bed) and 1970's ornaments in the room (pot tramp on a bench) The decor was dated ;-pink emulsioned walls with a flowery border and terracotta coloured bedspreads. I've also just noticed that there are loads more comments about this hotel than the others in the area, which now makes me suspicious. If you like homeliness, this is for you; It was like staying at your Auntie's house. If u prefer modern neutral, it's not.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LgrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I was going through quite a rough time in my life and came across this guest house to stay a few days before heading back home from Nov 13th-17th

I truly never expect the hospitality, the service, nor the warmth to be exceptional anywhere I stay..., but this was one of a kind, it really helped me to smile again, appreciate life again

This house feels like your own home. The people treat you with respect and love as if you are one of theirs. They take the time to show you the roads, make you a warm much needed meal...and simply be there if you need them...

May the road rise to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face.
And rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the hollow of His hand.

If i ever return to London, I will definitely go back there, without question....Thanks for reading

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonsingh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I visited Gable End guest-house for a weekend with my boyfriend. And I was really pleased with everything ^_^
From pick-up at the airport, which is a very comfortable thing! The hosts of the guest-house are warm and welcoming, gave a cozy feeling from the moment we enetered the place.
Rooms are very cozy and comfortable. They are small,but well kept. And the bathroom is brand new and also very comfortable.
If departing early in the morning, the owner will order a taxi. If leaving later - You can be taken to the airport by the host himself.
All in all - it was truly a very pleasant weekend and I will definitely come back here in the future!!

Catherine F.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyqCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Gatwick is not the most relaxing airport to start your holiday so having been recommended by my sister of this good guest house we looked for forward to our holiday, and we were not disapointed. As my husband is disabled we were accomodated in a ground floor room which was clean and comfortable. Once we checked in and handed our car keys over we decided that we would like to check in our suitcase at the airport as we had an early morning flight, no problem said the the proprieter's daughter and took us to the terminal building. We don't know how long we will be we said, no problem was the reply just give me a ring when you want picking up. We were duly picked up and then decided we would like to go to Wetherspoons for a drink and something to eat, no problem and we were dropped of there. We really appreciated this personnal touch and but did not want to take advantage so we took a taxi back to Gable End.
We had a very early flight and knew we would miss out on a cooked breakfast but the breakfast room was laid out with a selection of cereals, fruit and bread to make toast so we did not go short.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthPensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey, channel islands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Not only is the Gable End cosy, warm and clean. It is situated five minutes from Gatwick Airport. The owners 'Mary and Joseph' will come to the Airport to pick you up, them drop you off when you need to return. It is spotlessly clean and the choice of breakfast is great too. From Cereal to full English.
As we live in Jersey (Channel Islands) it is necessary for us to stay near Gatwick overnight whenever we go on holiday. 'The Gable End' is always my first choice.
(David Ratcliffe - Jersey).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratcliffejersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

A brilliant overnight stay. We could see from the room the owners still took pride in their work and their customer service and attitude was brilliant. They could not have been more helpful. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingducksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.2 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Guest House

Property: Gable End Guest House
Address: 23 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatwick Gable End Guest House is a beautiful Edwardian House that was originally opened for business in March 1995. Mary, Joseph and their girls acquired the business in August 2000 and offer a warm Irish welcome to their family run guesthouse, only five minutes from Gatwick airport.We provide courtesy transfers from 7am to 9pm, outside these hours a taxi will cost approximately £5.We have free Wi-Fi access which is for use with your own laptop throughout the house.We are a completely NON SMOKING guest house. All our rooms are ensuite with tea/coffee making faclities; TV, hairdryer and iron are available on request. We serve a hearty English / vegetarian cooked breakfast from 7.30am to 9am. Outside these hours we serve a substantial continental breakfast of cereals, juices, fresh fruits, yogurts, toast and tea or coffee.We offer car parking for Gatwick airport for our guests and also non guests at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gable End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable End Guest House Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing