We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get place to stay before flight.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gable End Guest House
Ranked #3 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Rather than stay at an airport hotel,I checked Trip Advisor for guest houses near to Gatwick Airport,and found wonderful reviews for Gable End,and rightly so.We were greeted by Joseph,and we're fed a good hearty breakfast the following morning.Only downside?Didnt get to meet Mary,as she was away at the time.Hopefully next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginnyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hello there, am sorry I didnt get to meet you too......I hope that I will get to meet you next time you are visiting. thank you for your lovely review.

Kind regards

Mary (& Joseph)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 951 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Gable End the night before we flew and on our return and can thoroughly recommend this fantastic guest house. Great breakfast and Mary and Joseph are the loveliest of people. We will definitely book again when flying from Gatwick or visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisLiverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had our Dads and an uncle along with us on our visit to the London area. Mary and Joseph were very helpful during our stay and very attentive to the needs of their guests. The breakfast was wonderful and each was individually tailored to the travelers tastes. We will gladly stay here again when we visit London in the future. Many thanks for a wonderful stay Mary and Joseph!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Rick it was lovely to meet you all and so glad you had a great time here with us. We hope that we will meet again in the future.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been a customer of Gable End for a few years. Theres always a nice warm welcome, clean room, hot shower and one of Marys cooked breakfasts in the morning, then dropped off at the airport....what more do you need??

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeAzerbaijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We always look forward to seeing you and thank you for your lovely review.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What amazing sevice and all with a smile. Incredible value for money. The lift to and from the airport excellent.
Would definitely recommend this wonderful place to everyone
Excellent pub a very short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 980rosie980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review, we hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This superb Guest House offers a warm Irish welcome in a beautiful immaculately decorated Edwardian House a few minutes drive from Gatwick Airport. But, even better, they will park your car for a very reasonable price while you are away and take and fetch you to/from the airport. Very comfortable rooms and good breakfast. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobcat605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we hope to see you back again with us soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Mary and Joe have raised the bar for the B & B segment worldwide with their cent per cent Irish hospitality amidst cent per cent British environs. All guest rooms have been tastefully designed and impeccably maintained. There's absolutely no room for compromise - whether in room comfort & guest privacy or in the sumptuous morning breakfast.

While Joe is agility and ability personified, Mary goes out of her way to make every single guest feel at home. Ciara manages the reception with amazing flair and agility. Tina is ever prompt in housekeeping. This is one house meant truly for guests. Gable End Guest House is also known for its inspiring and informative Facebook updates encompassing everything from tourist information to travel trivia. Thanks to Mary & Joe, Horley is now assumed strategic importance as a celebrated gateway to London and adjoining UK.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but no 5 is extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudhir_Raikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Sudhir it was truly wonderful to have you and your family stay with us and we thank you for your lovely review. We hope that you will come back and visit us again in the UK and we will once again extend our Irish welcome to you all. (in Irish - Céad míle fáilte romhat).

Ciara sends her best regards to you all too, it was lovely to meet you all in person she said.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horley hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cumberland House Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Trumbles Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Guest House

Address: 23 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: $74 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatwick Gable End Guest House is a beautiful Edwardian House that was originally opened for business in March 1995. Mary, Joseph and their girls acquired the business in August 2000 and offer a warm Irish welcome to their family run guesthouse, only five minutes from Gatwick airport.We provide courtesy transfers from 7am to 9pm, outside these hours a taxi will cost approximately £5.We have free Wi-Fi access which is for use with your own laptop throughout the house.We are a completely NON SMOKING guest house. All our rooms are ensuite with tea/coffee making faclities; TV, hairdryer and iron are available on request. We serve a hearty English / vegetarian cooked breakfast from 7.30am to 9am. Outside these hours we serve a substantial continental breakfast of cereals, juices, fresh fruits, yogurts, toast and tea or coffee.We offer car parking for Gatwick airport for our guests and also non guests at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable End Guest House Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing