We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guesthouse and fantastics hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gable End Guest House
Ranked #3 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I wish to take this opportunity to thank Mary and Joe for their hospitality during my stay at The Gable-end Guest House. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the big breakfast was more than I could handle!

For me it was another Home away from Home and it's reassuring to know that I have an excellent place to use while on Holidays or on business in the future!

Many thanks once again

Stephen

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephenmilligan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Stephen, thank you for your review we hope to see you back again with us soon, either on business or for pleasure.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Gable End Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 918 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

We (family of four - 2 adults, 2 kids) stayed before flying off to Florida in Oct 2012. Easy to find, easy to park, good places to eat nearby (we had pizza in Horley). We had a big room with a double, a single and bunks so could have fit one more! Breakfast very plentiful! We had booked to be driven to the airport and this was dealt with very well - no waiting, right on time. When we returned there was no wait for the pickup. Our car was waiting for it with no problems encountered. Mary and Joseph run a very nice b and b and excellent airport service. We will use them again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2beesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we hope to see you back again with us soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's the very best of the 100's of B/B's I've stayed in throughout the UK.
Joseph and Mary are genuinely warm and caring people who could easily
write a book on what constitutes a GREAT Guest House experience.
Only two blocks to a pub that is welcoming and that provides a quality
food menu at reasonable prices. Even when visiting London, Gable End
is ideal. It's only 30 minutes, via regularly scheduled trains. All of these
glowing comments come from an American who demands, expects and
who understands what great customer service is. I could not say enough
good about Gable End and the lovely duo. Have stayed with them 6 times
and am always eager to tell folks about my experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg4454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Greg, thank you so much for your review, its always a pleasure to see you and we look forward to seeing you with us again soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I reciently stayed for the third time at Gable end. I was traveling back to Canada after 7 months abroad. Mary and Joseph welcomed me with open arms and smiles. My room was very comfortable and clean and Mary made a wonderful vegetarian breakfast for me the next morning. I've stayed at other guest houses in the area and I have to say Gable end is the best! Mary's incredible smile is always on and lights up the whole house and Joseph got me to the airport in perfect time.
Gable end is the place to stay and I will be returning again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elysa X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you so much for coming back to us again and we look forward to seeing you soon we hope.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed one night at either end of my journey in December and January. Mary and Joseph were so friendly and helpful - they made me feel very welcome. The 2 rooms I stayed in were spacious, clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was brilliant. Just what I needed after a late arrival following a delayed flight into the early hours. There was a simple system for ensuring that I could get in at that time as well! I had a lovely meal at the Six Bells Inn, a 5 minute walk away. I'm delighted to have found this B&B following an internet search and will definitely be back next time I'm flying from Gatwick. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Ruth, thank you for your review, we are so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was traveling to Gatwick to sit CAA exams and Gable End was just what I needed.
Lovely welcome from Mary and Joseph, despite a booking error on my part. The room was really nice, warm, quiet and comfortable with a desk that help me with some last minute studying.
Breakfast was flexible and tasty. Overall fantastic value and in a very handy location with easy links to Gatwick and the surrounding area, with no traffic problems even at 9AM on a weekday.
I will be staying again next time I am in the area.
Many thanks guys!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonburford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you back again with either on business or pleasure.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed the night before and on return from trip to Florida.
The warmest welcome ever from Mary, we felt like family nothing was too much trouble.
Pick up and drop offs at Gatwick went smoothly spot on time Joseph friendly and helpful.
Would highly recommend a stay at this wonderful friendly B&B, fantastic choice of breakfast service second to none.
Mary and Joseph know how to make every guest feel special looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Our upstairs room was quieter when other visitors are leaving for early morning flights.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psaron12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you back at Gable End again soon.

Kind regards
Mary & Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.1 mi away
Cumberland House Gatwick
2.6 mi away
Trumbles Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Guest House

Address: 23 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatwick Gable End Guest House is a beautiful Edwardian House that was originally opened for business in March 1995. Mary, Joseph and their girls acquired the business in August 2000 and offer a warm Irish welcome to their family run guesthouse, only five minutes from Gatwick airport.We provide courtesy transfers from 7am to 9pm, outside these hours a taxi will cost approximately £5.We have free Wi-Fi access which is for use with your own laptop throughout the house.We are a completely NON SMOKING guest house. All our rooms are ensuite with tea/coffee making faclities; TV, hairdryer and iron are available on request. We serve a hearty English / vegetarian cooked breakfast from 7.30am to 9am. Outside these hours we serve a substantial continental breakfast of cereals, juices, fresh fruits, yogurts, toast and tea or coffee.We offer car parking for Gatwick airport for our guests and also non guests at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable End Guest House Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing