We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southbourne Guest House
Ranked #8 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived at 4 pm - greeted with a smile and explained how the breakfast worked. We left at 5 am next morning so didn't get chance to sample the breakfast but all looked clean, well set out and organised. We also used a local taxi company to and from the airport which were very reliable.

It's a perfect place for a overnight stop inbetween flights, Horley is a sweet place, we had a walk around the centre for fresh air and a stretch of the legs we were travelling with a 4 year old.

The guest house is quite old fashioned, but clean and simple, couldn't ask for more for a couple of nights. Didn't hear any other guest and rooms were average size with tea and coffee making facilities.

Pre arrival, all communication by email was very thorough :)

We went to the Ye Olde Six Bells which was fantastic, I'm ex pat so needed a traditional English feel evening - this place is a pub but mainly a restaurant - I recommend booking - details are on the Southbourne Guest House website.

A pleasant stay was had and not too far from the airport :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chester98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    40
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
55
66
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Risca, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good size clean rooms, freshly cooked breakfast, which was served promptly. Plenty of good pubs and restaurants in walking distance. (beware if your a large party taking advantage of the ferry to the airport that he may only be able to manage 4 at a time with a lot of luggage so there will be a wait for the 2nd or 3rd group)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at Southbourne Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your accommodation and breakfast and also the local pubs and restaurants.

For airport transfers, as you know we use a seven seat minivan in which we can carry up to six passengers with cabin baggage or five passengers with hold plus cabin baggage, however with ski groups when passengers have cabin plus hold baggage plus skis and ski boots, for comfort and safety we generally like to restrict the number of passengers to four.

Transfer time to the airport is approximately five minutes each way but for large groups this will often depend on how well organised the group is, for instance this week we had one group of eighteen adult passengers with cabin baggage which took less than thirty minutes to transfer from start to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had an early morning flight arriving at the guest house late due to traffic problems. On arriving, Tony, our host, had already booked us a taxi for 5am the next morning and informed us that he would leave a continental breakfast out for us. When we came back we waited five minutes before Tony picked us up in his people carrier. We are a family of five and places like this to stay are hard to find. Book, you wont be disappointed. You can even leave your car there for the duration of the holiday for less than one of the larger airport carparks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godmanchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just had our sixth stay at the Southbourne and it was up to the usual height standard.
The rooms are clean and well decorated, the breakfast is good. We usually check our cases in at Gatwick the night before our flight, stay at the Southbourne and then Tony the owner takes us to and from the airport.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

First-time stay at the Southbourne having been recommended to us by a neighbour - Arrived early Sunday evening - Everything was explained to us about the guest house and the (numerous) places to eat that evening - The room was at the front of the building - Clean, well presented and well equipped - Tea and coffee also in the room - The rooms are be spring-cleaned as we speak - We ate at Ye Olde 6 Bells which is within walking distance, but be pepared to wait for a table as it seems to be very popular even on a Sunday evening - Needless to say the food was superb - Going back to the guest house, we had the continental option for breakfast with copious amounts of tea and/or coffee - Cooked breakfast it also available - After breakfast we were taken to the airport in a large, clean people carrier and dropped off right outside the terminal - Cannot praise the guest house, the service and facilities we received, highly enough - We will definately state at the Southbourne agin when we fly from Gatwick.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RossandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The owner of this establishment is a joke and seriously needs to work on his social skills. He is the rudest person I have ever encountered in the service industry. We were a party of 12 and will never use this place ever again. I shall also use other travel sites to ensure that people are made aware of this. His transportation is also totally inadequate, so beware if you are a party of 4 or more as he will need to make several journeys and leave you waiting at Gatwick Airport for over an hour. There is an upside to this jest house - it is on a very nice road with plenty of other Guest Houses and the 6 Bells public house is great for both food and wine. Avoid this place at all costs - especially if you want your holiday to get off to a good start.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pegsSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Staying here was easy. Arrived at 22:00 and left at 08:00.
The breakfast was pretty good, consisting of Waitrose ham, mini Babybel cheeses, yoghurt pots, a fruit bowl (very well-stocked), crossaints, butter brioches, waffles, Cadbury's mini-rolls, tiny Battenberg cakes; raisin bread, tea or coffee. It was possible to eat all the above at any time of the morning (minus the tea and coffee) as it was all laid out! Conveniently, there is tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and bourbon chocolate biscuits in the room with a kettle and a cup.
The room was a little cold, but there were two wooly blankets provided.
It's rightly positioned as a transit hotel for travellers to and from Gatwick.
The free internet access was good and fast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinervaMountainriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbourne Guest House

Property: Southbourne Guest House
Address: 34 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southbourne Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 miles from Gatwick Airport but not under the flight path, this imposing Victorian House offers 4-star en-suite guest accommodation, parking and free WiFi. Each room features an en-suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the property's breakfast room. Overnight parking is available on site and guests can book long-term holiday parking by prior arrangement with the property for a surcharge. Transportation to and from Gatwick Airport is available for an additional cost. Gatwick Southbourne Guest House is 500 yards from Horley Railway Station, with regular direct trains to Gatwick Airport. Central London is 35 minutes away by train, and Brighton can be reached in 25 minutes by train. The property is a 5 minutes' walk from Horley town centre, where guests will find restaurants, shops and pubs. This property is also rated for the best value in Horley! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Southbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbourne Guest House Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing