We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop-over for Gatwick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southbourne Guest House
Ranked #9 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

First-time stay at the Southbourne having been recommended to us by a neighbour - Arrived early Sunday evening - Everything was explained to us about the guest house and the (numerous) places to eat that evening - The room was at the front of the building - Clean, well presented and well equipped - Tea and coffee also in the room - The rooms are be spring-cleaned as we speak - We ate at Ye Olde 6 Bells which is within walking distance, but be pepared to wait for a table as it seems to be very popular even on a Sunday evening - Needless to say the food was superb - Going back to the guest house, we had the continental option for breakfast with copious amounts of tea and/or coffee - Cooked breakfast it also available - After breakfast we were taken to the airport in a large, clean people carrier and dropped off right outside the terminal - Cannot praise the guest house, the service and facilities we received, highly enough - We will definately state at the Southbourne agin when we fly from Gatwick.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RossandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Southbourne Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

The owner of this establishment is a joke and seriously needs to work on his social skills. He is the rudest person I have ever encountered in the service industry. We were a party of 12 and will never use this place ever again. I shall also use other travel sites to ensure that people are made aware of this. His transportation is also totally inadequate, so beware if you are a party of 4 or more as he will need to make several journeys and leave you waiting at Gatwick Airport for over an hour. There is an upside to this jest house - it is on a very nice road with plenty of other Guest Houses and the 6 Bells public house is great for both food and wine. Avoid this place at all costs - especially if you want your holiday to get off to a good start.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pegsSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Staying here was easy. Arrived at 22:00 and left at 08:00.
The breakfast was pretty good, consisting of Waitrose ham, mini Babybel cheeses, yoghurt pots, a fruit bowl (very well-stocked), crossaints, butter brioches, waffles, Cadbury's mini-rolls, tiny Battenberg cakes; raisin bread, tea or coffee. It was possible to eat all the above at any time of the morning (minus the tea and coffee) as it was all laid out! Conveniently, there is tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and bourbon chocolate biscuits in the room with a kettle and a cup.
The room was a little cold, but there were two wooly blankets provided.
It's rightly positioned as a transit hotel for travellers to and from Gatwick.
The free internet access was good and fast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinervaMountainriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here the night before an early flight out of Gatwick, and I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough.
On arrival everything was explained to us with regard to the continental breakfast the following morning, what the area had to offer that evening and what to do on arrival back at Gatwick for transfer back to the guest house. Since we had a very early departure and a late arrival back at Gatwick we used the local taxi Company recommended by Southbourne and we cannot praise this taxi operator highly enough. They were on time and courteous throughout and at only £5 per journey also exceptional value !
Would most certainly enjoy the facilities of this exceptional guest house in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cathrynearnshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Southbourne guest house beats the hotels hands down if you want a friendly welcome, the car parked, a spotless room, breakfast available in the morning and we were leaving at 4.45 am am and transport there and back from the airport. There is a great pub to eat at (5 Bells l think) reasonably priced. We had 15 nights, breakfast, transport and parking £138 well spent.
When you arrive back from your destination you ring Southbourne guest house they tell you what bus stop to stand at and hey presto 5 minutes later you are picked up. When you arrive at the guest house the car is there at the entrance, the keys are handed to you and you drive off, it was that simple.
Situated only 1.1 miles from Gatwick it could not be easier. We will definitely use this guest house again!!!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at the back of the house so did not hear people walking up and down stair...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mauritius45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at the southbourn guest house before our flight out of gatwick back home. The location was great 5 mins from the airport and a 10min walk to the trains. The owners were very nice and gave a good lay of the land for restaurants and sightseeing tips for London. We had a nice sized room with a English decor that echoed thought the house. We opted for the cooked breakfast @3.50 pp witch I enjoyed. The only draw back was we had a room in the front of the house, and with single pained glass windows a early wake up call of cars on the the road was had. I would recommend this guesthouse , just ask for a room at the back of the house if possible. Cheers!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveandKeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Southbourne B&B, Tony and Breda provide a very efficient service in a comfortable house away from the flight path of Gatwick despite being 5 minutes drive from the airport! We were checked in before our holiday, Tony took us to the airport, we left our car for a week and returned late on Sunday night to spend a good night and depart after a tasty breakfast ready for the journey home. As a fellow B&B owner in a different sphere of the business, I applaud their dedication to making all their guests welcome and giving them what they need before and/or after a holiday. Many thanks; we shall return when we can get away again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clanville_Manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbourne Guest House

Address: 34 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southbourne Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 miles from Gatwick Airport but not under the flight path, this imposing Victorian House offers 4-star en-suite guest accommodation, parking and free WiFi. Each room features an en-suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the property's breakfast room. Overnight parking is available on site and guests can book long-term holiday parking by prior arrangement with the property for a surcharge. Transportation to and from Gatwick Airport is available for an additional cost. Gatwick Southbourne Guest House is 500 yards from Horley Railway Station, with regular direct trains to Gatwick Airport. Central London is 35 minutes away by train, and Brighton can be reached in 25 minutes by train. The property is a 5 minutes' walk from Horley town centre, where guests will find restaurants, shops and pubs. This property is also rated for the best value in Horley! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbourne Guest House Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing