We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Horley and surrounding areas by Far!”
Review of Da Peppino

Da Peppino
Ranked #6 of 116 Restaurants in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Horley and surrounding areas by Far!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have been to this restaurant now about 6 times at all different times of the week and enjoyed NYE here as well. New years eve was the best NYE we have had in many years and the food and drinks were served throughout the evening - All being wondeful. People were dancing and singing the night away and as a table of 18 the staff coped extremly well ensuring we had drinks all night and that our food all came out at the same time. On every occasion we have been the food has been OUTSTANDING and the service and atmosphere has made for the best restaurant in the local area. All the staff are so warm and attentive and it has a great feeling of a real family Italian Resaurant. I am very fussy when it comes to food and service and i could honestly not fault the staff, the food or the service here. It is always busy and the atmosphere is buzzing so it would seem a bit silly for people to come for a quiet meal when they have LIVE entertainment on - Which is clearly advertised! (Although this is only once a month!) I am shocked to see any negative reviews on here as it is very rare to have a place where the management, staff, service and food is sooooooooo good. Well done Da Peppino and thanks for coming to Horley!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KazAntLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    106
    39
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ive had better service in Horley”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This was probably the worst experience I've had with a restaurant in a very long time, I will try to be fair and factual. We booked a table for 7.30pm on a Saturday night, we can understand this is peak hour but these are the facts. After we were seated, we waited for 20 minutes before we could order drinks. We didn't mind too much at that point because we could see the restaurant was busy. However, it wasn't until half an hour after we were seated when the drinks came, then they took our food order. In summary, starters arrived 1 hour and 15 minutes after we were seated and mains arrived just a bit over two hours after we were seated. We were literally about to stand up and put our coats on but the waitress was just coming out with our mains. Oh and they forgot our second batch of drinks order so glasses we empty most of the evening. I could go on but let's just leave with the facts here.

We didn't leave much of the tip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Thuha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“oh dear what has happened?”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I wrote a good review a month ago, we had a good meal and although it was noisey it was as expected...I understand there were issues over the New Year and they were closed when they said they were open and so let down a lot of people.. Maybe they need to look at the website again..So what about this time?
Again it was busy, but there were only a few staff and they were working very hard..A waitress took our order by memory which is always a bad sign, a long time later ie an hour plus the food arrived...but no drinks, she had forgotten them.........starters were good but when the main meal arrived it was obviously wrong ie I'm allergic to fish and guess what they served me!! anyhow we mentioned this and it was removed....a short time later our meals arrived, cold,...these were were sent back...a while later plates were returned obviously microwaved (not a good thing to do to pasta), food was dry and not very nice at all...The quality of the meat was poor, mostly fat.. the waiter realising we were not happy brought us a free round of drinks without asking and made a big thing about have some complimentary drinks, however I was driving so couldn't drink it and they charged my wife for hers (always check the bill as they often get it wrong)...We were totally unimpressed with what went on.. the final straw?

Ok whe waitress needs to write things down, the waiter was lovely but there wasn't enough staff but the manager...what a slob.. all the staff had black suits, white shirts and looked the part..he turned up and being very big and very loud went to all the people he recognised, checked they had their drinks etc etc..(scr*w the rest of us who had been waiting longer).. he turned up half way through the eveningdressed in a pair of jeans and an untucked shirt, he looked like a tramp...The management need to look at who they have in charge and where it is all going wrong, they have now lost us as customers as well as several of our friends who have had similar experiences..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Les666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Credit to Horley in difficult times”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Horley suffered floods, power outages and horrific weather over the Xmas New Year.

Many of the restaurents closed the one we booked at was flooded and therefore closed,

Fortunately for locals and visitors and people unexpectedly staying over because of airline cancellations the team at Da Pepapino accomodated as many as possible.

We had not booked but were accomodated as were others we spoke with and exchanged experiences.

We learned that several of the staff had worked very long hours and our thanks go to them for understanding and accomodating us and others at a difficult time.

Prices were reasonble, service was good but understanably they seemed a little shorthanded,
menu selection was good. Food was served hot and was very appetising. Drinks selection excellent.

Unfair perhaps to comment but tables by the door leave a little to be desired but hopefully in this new establishment a simple screen will cure that.

Our thanks to the team for recognising a need and accomodating us and others in a time of need at a very difficult and unpleasant situation.

.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was really disappointed by my visit here. We were a table of eight on a busy night, but if they couldn't have handled it, they shouldn't have taken the booking. By the time our main course arrived, we'd been there two hours, they forgot our drinks order completely, and after a reminder and a further wait, found they didn't have what we'd ordered anyway. There was no apology or attempt to redeem themselves, even the big guy (who I presume was in charge) pretty much just threw the bill on the table at the end of the night. He obviously realised we were displeased, but didn't care. I won't be going there again. Go to Il Sorriso, it's ten times better. (Food was average too..despite attempts to make it look posh by drizzling sauce around the outside of it!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Peppino also viewed

 

Been to Da Peppino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing