We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay close to Gatwick Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lawn Guest House
Ranked #17 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at the Lawn in June 2009 during a 2 day layover in London while waiting to fly to Greece out of Gatwick airport. Quasim picked us up from the airport upon our arrival and brought us back to the Lawn, which is a beautiful English-style house with a nice little garden located in a really nice neighborhood. He and his wife were very friendly and helpful, and they were always more than happy to answer our questions. The rooms were a good size and clean. The centre of Horley and the train station is easily walkable, so even if you don`t have a car you`re not stuck at the BnB. If we ever fly out of Gatwick again we would definitely go back to the lawn. *On a side note, we got some take-out Indian food one night from this small place called Spice Boys and it was amazing, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephane_Joelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 305 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

We spent one night here after arriving at Gatwick airport in the evening. Upon arrival at the airport, we used the guest house telephone to place a free call to the B&B requesting to be picked up. After about 10 min, a lovely and friendly lady came and picked us up in a comfortable van. The B&B is family run and the staff is very friendly and professional. The room was small and cozy, impeccably clean and well-stocked. Anything you miss like toothbrush or else you can buy at cheap price right at the reception. A large folder was available with the story of the B&B and menus of near-by restaurants. The breakfast was good as well. Only one minus: the mattress in the bed was not very good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadow_girlDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stayed here on 20th june for one night prior to our flight and was very happy with the service we recieved, as our flight was not till the evening on the 21st we also had an extended booking for the room this was an after thought to us but did not create any problem to the owners and our key was duly returned to us and our tea and coffee ect all replenished.We had a room for three adults but the room was for four and still had plenty of room to move around and the bathroom was huge,we left our car here for the duration and transfers to and from gatwick were done without any hassle ,so if you are on the look out for a friendly cosy b and b then look no further as this is the one you want.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We were told about The Lawns by our neighbour in Wales. We were very disappointed with the Russ Hotel. We wanted something smaller and quiet. The place is spotless, fresh and welcoming. We had the full english breakfast which was just right. The family room was comfortable, clean and cosy, perfect for our family. I wish more people would offer this service. We will not be going anywhere else for our trips from gatwick. We will always the Lawns Guest House.

June Purnell and family

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

fantastic experiance at the lawns, this family run bed and breakfast has some great victorian architecture and the house is kept so clean and tidy, i felt just at home. From the little things like the hot water bottle and the tea tray, we simply couldnt have asked for more, i will be back next year when flying from gatwick.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hisandhersSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Previous owners run an immaculate guesthouse - this was our 3rd visit. We noticed wet towel left behind the door from previous occupant - torn bathtowel - you could put your fist through the hole! Bottom of shower curtain going mouldy. Transfers OK,welcome OK,
breakfast OK - but not sure about the care to room detail.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetheworldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Arrived to a lovely warm welcome after arriving back from a wet and windy Turkey!!! The gentleman owner was very helpful taking luggage to our room and offering suggestions for local eating places.

We had a family room which was well equipped and very warm (no scrimping on the heating here). All the usual bits and pieces ie; hairdryer, tea & coffee and a bonus having a phone in the room case your mobile goes flat!!!

Lovely restaurant nearly opposite which we have visited before called La Gourmet which is Mediteranean. Very nice owners who are from Madeira. Try the olives, which are gorgeous but the owner still refuses to tell me what is in the marinade.

Very good breakfast selection with cereals, yoghurts, tinned fruit and a "Full English" cooked to order.

Altogether an excellent stay, so much so, that we are booked in again in December.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank notforturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horley hotels
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Verde Gatwick
Villa Verde Gatwick
#9 of 30 in Horley
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flexistay Ambers Gatwick Aparthotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawn Guest House

Address: 30 Massetts Road | Horley Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: $64 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lawn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawn Guest House Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing