We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lawn Guest House
Ranked #18 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cheerful welcome!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A firendly and cheerful welcome from the owner despite relatively late hour of arrival. Shown to warm clean room with nice selection of teas etc to relax with while watching freeview TV. No disturbance from airport. Comfortable bed and good night's sleep although woken early by people in room above getting up and floorboards creaking! Good breakfast, although slight shame to be able to hear microwave "bings" and clattering of clearing plates - not really complaining about that, just observations to hopefully help improve what is already good. Felt comfortable with car in their car parking. Overall would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    82
    42
    29
    21
See reviews for
74
120
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in 2012. Was excellent. Went back last night Friday March '13. So different. No plug in basin. no shower / shampoo gel in container in shower. Had to ask for a second towel Breakfast was scant (continental only). 3 figs in fridge 3 apples one pack of 4 yoghurts Cereal & fruit juice. Had to turn the toaster off at the plug. No one around to make sure things were running smoothly.

Room Tip: Check room before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLawnGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am ever so sorry to hear that you didnt have anything less than a wonderful stay on this occasion.
Your breakfast included was a Continental and therefore was a helpyourself service as you was leaving early. This is also the reason why we was not there to ensure everything ran smoothly.
Please note we are redecorating our rooms on a room by room basis with 2 just done this winter and will take on your comments above to further improve guest experiance in the room you stayed in.
We would really like to offer you to stay with us again so we can put things right.

With best regards,
Quasim Suhail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in the Lawn Guest House for one night when I arrived late in the evening at Gatwick Airport. The room was beautiful and cosy, and very clean. It was very quiet and I slept through the whole night, even with my tendency to wake up at every sound. The staff was very friendly and helpful, I even got a free lift to the airport in the morning. The quality/price ratio was excellent. I can recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After a drive from Berkshire to The Lawn arriving around 2100 it was really nice welcome from Mr Suhail showing me to my room. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and for an "english cooked" fat free was a real change. Some people have commented on the decor but this is being done on a room by room basis when they become available and as I was shown a newly decorated room can assure guests of the future you will not be be making these comments again.I had a room big enough for my needs, tea/coffee, kettle etc, the shower room was a little small but enough for me to do as required and as it had a heater nice and warm when you get out. It was snowing outside but the heating and hot water seemed endless and warming when I got back to my room. I found the Lawn to be friendly and homely, wether you are on buisness or a gatwick flight ( only a few minutes drive but didnt hear any aircraft!) youwill find this guest house to your liking.

Room Tip: I had room 4 and was on the side of the guest house so away from the road and car park but not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We received a friendly welcome and were given plenty of information about nearby restaurants for dinner. The room was comfortable if dusty, with tea and coffee kit; the bathroom curtains could do with a wash. In spite of being handy for the airport there is almost no aircraft noise. The breakfast was tasty and quickly served with a good choice. Transfers to and from Gatwick were included and were very efficient; the car stayed at the guest house. The proprietors are in the process of upgrading some rooms. All in all a good value stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed one night at The Lawn Guest House in December 2012 prior to a christening the following day. Upon arrival we were met by a cheerful and helpful guy who showed us to our room. Once inside our room we were slightly disappointed with the décor, the room looked 'tired' and in need of some TLC. The bathroom could also have done with some re-grouting.
Breakfast was also a little disappointing as they had run out of mushrooms and my partner asked for a full English breakfast and was given two pieces of bacon, one half of tomato, one fried egg and some toast.
All staff that we met were friendly and helpful but don't expect 4* from the visual accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ging1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is run by a delightful family who give you a very warm welcome. The rooms are extremely comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities in the room. Loads of hot water. TV with free view. Very comfortable bed.Plenty of restaurants very close by for supper. Car looked after in their private car park. Transfer to the airport less than 10 minutes away. Super full English breakfast. No noise at all from the aircraft. Very highly recommended. We have been going for years and would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are super with no noise at all from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaBrentwoodUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
0.3 mi away
Cumberland House Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawn Guest House

Property: The Lawn Guest House
Address: 30 Massetts Road | Horley Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lawn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawn Guest House Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing