We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frozen to Death”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acorn Lodge Gatwick
Ranked #18 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Left standing at Gatwick. Having been told 20 minutes when we rang from the warmth inside the terminal we went to the bus stop. It was another hour before we were collected. It seems the hotel had too many people booked for the very worn mini bus to cope with.
Also when we eventually got to our car it had kitchen laundry on the back seat. What else did they use it for?
Pity for the money (£75) seemed a good deal. Also had an evening meal for two with beer and wine which was OK cost £83!!
Not exactly cheap parking.

When we fly from Gatwick in June it's back to our usual excellent meet and great company RS09 for only £49 and you are not left in the cold.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandMe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinapotap, Guest Relations Manager at Acorn Lodge Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear customer,

We are very sorry to hear you had to wait so long in the cold for our minibus.We sincerely apologize for your experience but unfortunately there was a small period when we had to keep up with only one vehicle. We would greatly appreciate for our customer's understanding in this situation.

Kind Regards,

Marina Potap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 631 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

This will be our third time at the Acorn Lodge , Staying before we go on holiday and if a late flight when we return the reason for this is the very very good price for a room and car parking coupled with a clean well presented accomadation and paying less than a 14 nt car park fee,why travel late after a return flight when this affordable hotel is available ?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank guliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinapotap, Guest Relations Manager at Acorn Lodge Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Many thanks for taking out the time to write this review. We hope we will have the pleasure to accommodate you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Marina Potap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel recently because we had an early flight booked and left the car for six nights. It cost just a little more than parking only with Airparks and the accommodation was excellent, nice clean room, good bar food and decent breakfast. Transferred to airport by taxi as there were only four of us, picked up on our return and taken back to our car. Forget Ripitoffitel and stay here, spend the saving on a lovely meal when you are away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinapotap, Guest Relations Manager at Acorn Lodge Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear guest,

It is with pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your choice for a night stay and car parking in our hotel. Many thanks for staying with us and we hope you will make the same choice should you travel from Gatwick again.

Kin Regards,

Marina Potap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here with Delia for one night on our RETURN from the canary islands. We didn't encounter any problems and we were pleased with our flying visit. We phoned from the bus stop at 1am and 'matey' arrived within 10 minutes to pick us up and take us to the hotel. We also enjoyed the cooked breakfast which was hot and tasty. A great stay for a great price. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunzee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinapotap, Guest Relations Manager at Acorn Lodge Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Many thanks for your nice review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a hassle-free stay and we do hope we will have the chance to accommodate you soon in the future.

Kind Regards,

Marina Potap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

3rd time we have stayed here after returning to gatwick from kenya the best thing we have ever done it is so dangerous to drive back after travelling for 12 hours!anyway hotel really clean,good big rooms,friendly staff and great food wether you want posh nosh in the restaurant or proper english grub in the bar after eating foriegn food for 2 weeks its just what you need!!would deff recommend.

Room Tip: the one closest to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinapotap, Guest Relations Manager at Acorn Lodge Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Natalie,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will choose to stay at Acorn again should you be flying from Gatwick.

Kind Regards,

Marina Potapidou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked this hotel and most reviews were positive. The Hotel itself was easy to find and the facilities adequate. our room was large and clean, however, at about 0100 hours my wife and i both woke up as the room was like a steam room, we had to open a window which was not so good as the Hotel is close to a busy road, we had a very disturbed night as did our friends who told of similar problems in another room. We had to leave early so we missed the cooked breakfast but had the continental choice which was adequate. Upon our return from warmer climates at 0700 hours on a cold damp February morning we phoned up for collection and we waited 1 hour 10 minutes for collection back to our car, we were freezing as we were told we had to wait at the bus stop and there was nowhere close to shelter. When we got to the Hotel we complained to the manager who said he had to get 46 people to the Hotel and there was only 1 minibus! We were not happy! We noted other local hotels had plenty of shuttle buses to and from the airport. The Hotel claim yo will be collected within 30 minutes! Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abrahamwinkleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinapotap, Guest Relations Manager at Acorn Lodge Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear customer,

We are very sorry to hear your experience with us wasn't pleasant. The radiators in the heaters can be easily arranged according to each individual's preference.

Some rooms of our hotel are facing the main road, which is leading to Gatwick airport. If requested in advance we are always happy to reserve quite rooms for our customers

.Also, we are sorry for the inconvenience of waiting for such long time, it must have been not a very good ending to your holidays. This moment we have only one minibus and we're expecting the following week to receive a second one. We are doing our best to keep the standards of customer service to the highest levels and we are one of the few hotels with a 24 hours quick transfer service but sometimes we are extremely grateful for the understanding of our customers in certain circumstances.

Kind Regards,

Marina
Gatwick Acorn Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at Acorn Lodge before going on holiday last November, we had booked one night plus 12 day's parking. We had to wait a short time to book in as there only seemed to be one member of staff about and she was serving behind the bar. We had a double room which was nice, the bathroom was a bit small but was clean and the room was big enough for the two of us. I was not impressed with the bed at all, we were awake most of the night as every time one of us turned over the whole bed shook, the mattress was too soft for my liking but then you can't help that. I had the continental breakfast in the morning and my boyfriend had the cooked option, both were good and plenty on offer. The system with the car parking was good, when we got back we only had to wait about 10 mins until we were picked up and shown to the sister hotel to get our car. Overall the hotel was ok but we thought by booking at a hotel before our holiday would be better than travelling through the night but due to the lack of sleep we both felt worn out by the time we got to our holiday destination.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horley hotels
0.3 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Lodge Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Lodge Gatwick

Address: 79 Massetts Road | Gatwick, Horley RH6 7EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: $51 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn Lodge Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Lodge Gatwick is a small family-run hotel that offers a high standard Gatwick accommodation and parking at affordable prices. * Only 5 minutes away from London Gatwick Airport. * 24 Hours courtesy transport from the hotel to the Gatwick Airport and from the Gatwick Airport to the hotel for the additional cost of £3 per person each way . * Restaurant and bar facilities with extensive freshly prepared menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Acorn Lodge Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Lodge Gatwick Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing