We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vulcan Lodge Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$65
$59
Travelodge
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$138
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$60
$56
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Russ Hill Hotel(Charlwood)
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$76
$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$53
Travelocity
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Internet
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
106
12
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
12
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bminute taxi ridecomfortable roomsguest housegatwick airportperfect hostscontinental breakfastprivate bathrooma great place to staywithin walking distancehome from homefull englishclose to the airportstay overnightbreakfast was excellentsingle roomstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 119 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at Vulcan in July when I visited Goodwood Festival of Speed with some friends. Only positive things to say about this place! Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and the owners are very helpful:-) Will be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steffens1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Greetings Steffan
Thank you for posting such a glowing report on TripAdvisor, it is always a delight to hear that people have enjoyed their stay, as both Colin and I do our best to make you feel welcome, and comfortable.

Look forward to welcoming you again next year, and our regards to Morten and Preben.

Kind regards
Karen & Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed one night in July before our flight the next day from Gatwick.
The house is delightful as are the Lady and Gent owners.
Worth a stay before flying off from Gatwick or simply staying for afew days.
Extremely comfortable rooms.Great ensuite bathroom.

Breakfast is a choice of continental (gratis) or cooked 5 pounds extra.

My kids loved the two collie dogs and the cat Max.

Thank you Karen and Colin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Carol, thank you for your kind words, and pleased to hear that you eventually made it home safe, and sound.
Sorry that I missed you when you collected the car, and hope that your trip to the playground was an enjoyable one.
Hoping the next time you find yourselves in this part of the country, we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you and the children again.
Kind regards from Me, and Woofs from Oscar & Sake and a big Purr from Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As usual, when a London overnight is required, my first port of call is Karen at the Vulcan Lodge. Once again, she remembered my partner's aversion to dogs and had the household pets secured away on our arrival.

Room was quiet and comfy and breakfast was excellent. It is however the "what happened next" which prompted my second review of Vulcan Lodge.

On our return to the UK, we suffered a flight delay at Melbourne Airport. This meant we missed out connecting flight back home to the Isle of Man and we therefore needed an extra unplanned night in the UK.

Karen alas had no spare rooms but agreed to make a booking elsewhere in Horley and text us the details. She also phoned the taxi firm which was picking us up at Heathrow just to make sure they were aware of the 15 hour delay.

Sure enough, the booking was there at one of her competitors when we arrived and the taxi was there too.

An excellent stay at the Lodge and Karen's assistance was very much above and beyond the call of duty. Her assistance is defintely something you won't get at the new chain hotel at the airport terminal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for such a glowing report!

Frankly though, for such long standing customers, sorting out taxis and alternative accommodations, is not only part of the service ... it is an absolute pleasure. That's what the hospitality industry is all about.

We really do understand that dogs are not everyones 'cup-of-tea' and not everyone likes to be licked and nuzzled and have dog's toys thrust at them.

Looking forward to seeing you towards the end of the year when you will be undertaking your annual pilgrimage to 'Twickers.'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at Vulcan before a trip out of Gatwick, Karen & Colin are very welcoming. Everything you could need is provided and breakfast is very good.
We left our car for the duration of our trip and collected this without any issues.
Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovemybeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for writing such a glowing report, and trust that you had a fantastic time in Egypt.

Pleased that you didn't have any problems collecting the car, or the taxi from LGW.

Regards to those who recommended.

Kind regards
Karen & Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stay here every time we fly from Gatwick and it is always the same. Treated like family, immaculately clean nothing to much trouble and the family (including the animals) are gems

the pub close by Ye Olde 6 Bells is good for a quick pub supper but do book (can be done on line) as they are always busy

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sampford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thanks for telling the world about our little hostelry. It is always a pleasant to receive such pleasant, yet unsolicited comments, from our regular customers.

We were glad to hear upon your return that you had once again thoroughly enjoyed your pilgrimage to the Caribbean, and that we will most likely see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews