We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The night i stopped over at The Gatwick White House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gatwick White House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed March 9, 2013

i stayed at this hotel for 1 night and when i arrived there was no one anywhere to be seen. i wasn't sure if i had the right hotel and i looked at check-in list as it was visible on top of the desk and i saw my name on the list room rate £54 AND NOT £33 i had booked online. i walked outside and around the outside perimeter to the back of the hotel and back in to reception when a man accompanied by a young woman appeared from somewhere inside the hotel. They didn't answered when i said hello but the man went behind the reception desk and so i guessed he was the receptionist. i said my booking was for £33 not £54 and he said it must be a systems error and that it was £33 but i had to pay £6 to park my car or park it outside. i gave him the £6 as he was hostile and arrogant. i couldn't sleep all night due to a loud constant creaking noise above my room. MY ADVICE IS DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7. Very loud noise from central heating pipes which banged and creeked all night so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 459 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

My daughter said if you're going to London and you want to be cheap, it's a good place to go. We walked to the train station, when we figured out how to get around. (Although the promised ride from the airport was NOT honored) We really loved the little restaurants in the neighborhood, including a place with great pub food and a great little Indian place. And the train went straight into London. It wasn't great, but the rooms were comfortable. There was a sign saying not to take food to our rooms and we were supposed to eat in their dining room, but they weren't open when we were needing food.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank lldavids44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we stayed at the hotel after flyin in from tunissa on 10thfeb we were picked up from airport very quicke the room was very clean with all we wanted tea etc,we had a good breakfast nothing to much trouble they even printed my boarding pass for our next morning flight to malta and also took us back to airport on 11th feb price and service exellent will tell all my friends

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterwaleseastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

yeah most of the reviews on this place does sum it up, it was by a long way very unpleasant, the staff were nt that friendly, it felt very greasy through out and grimmy, the constant smell of god knows what it was but almost felt like staying in a chip shop, vinagrie stench, really in need of a re-furb, but the room was ok-ish i suppose and for £43 for a double room and 8 days parking ,i musnt grumble, all i can say is if your in transit or waiting to catch a flight get here as late as you possibly can as you wont want to be in there for long

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquiietpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Looking at the website of the hotel it would give you the impression that this is a modern, well located and graded hotel.

Far from the truth.

There is 121 terrible reports of this hotel, that should be a red flag to anyone wanting to book a room at this place.

But, ignoring prior comments I stayed, only for a day.

Rooms are dirty cramped and poorly decorated.

Breakfast is only a bowl of creal with stale milk. Nice.

Travelodge is across the main road, go there.

You are told to clean your own room on arrival if your staying more than one night.

What the hell is that about.

Don't stay here ever never no.

Room Tip: Do not book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKINSPIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked this room on Laterooms.com and thought what a bargain as I only paid £28 as the room had been reduced from a staggering £250!

It was dark when I arrived so the outside was not an immediate giveaway to what was about to unfold on the inside.

Having entered reception I was greeted by the aroma of cheap chip fat and an empty reception desk. The barmaid greeted me in broken European English telling me to wait as the receptionist was at the airport: 15 minutes later he arrived. No apology.

Room was 1st floor and overlooked the main road. The windows were closed but seemed open due to the traffic noise. It was basically furnished with the usual budget hotel stains and ripped carpet. The bathroom / shower had very attractive mildew where there was once tile grout.

I didn't eat there or have breakfast as the smell was off-putting.

Owners need to be educated in hotel management covering all areas.

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffrey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in worse hotels as I do tend to experiment with the cheaper end on the market when traveling on business. However whilst cheap the standard of service here is so poor that even.if it were free it would be overpriced.

If you like super heated rooms with dubious stains on linen and on bathroom tiles and have plenty.of free time to stand around in reception being ignored as you try to hand in or collect your key then this is the hotel for you.

Also whilst breakfast is served 7 to 9 you may find that at 7 the cook is still in bed so don't expect hot food until at least 7:45.

Overall the old adage you get what you pay for very much applies here. Though, in my view, that does not excuse the general rudeness of the owner / family / staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gainsborough Lodge
Gainsborough Lodge
#9 of 11 in Horley
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick White House Hotel

Address: 50-52 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: $58 - $1,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gatwick White House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gatwick White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick White Hotel
Hotel Gatwick White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing