We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over generous review.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gatwick White House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horley
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over generous review.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Don't expect too much when staying here because your be disappointed. For £35 a night you get a bed, sheets that nearly fit, either traffic noise with the window open or a sauna because of the heating being on permanent. The room I was in was very tired and in need of severe refurbishment inside and out. The window in the bathroom didn't open and the shower door didn't close properly. The cleaners walked in to my room without even knocking, the lock on the door didn't work on the inside. The Gatwick White House Hotel was a three star rated hotel but is now rated a two star. I think the owners are extracting as much money out of the bricks and mortar as possible before it falls down. They insist on payment up front and are so laid back they hardly know your there after payment, communication on a social scale doesn't exist. This hotel belongs to a small chain of hotels in the Horley area I hope the others are better than this run down disregarded over rated hotel. I've read the other reviews and can relate to what's been said. The owners need to invest if they care about their guests. I'm applying to the AA for a rating for my garage in case anyone wants to stay over.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sell-it-yourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    75
    76
    52
    181
See reviews for
81
138
69
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Service wasn't great
Rooms very basic

If you looking for a cheap night stay that's what you'll get but no bells and whistles.

Transport to gatwick for £6 per room which is good and price is £35 per room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

First time we stayed we were given a "family room" as a couple, & found the managers courteous & eager to please. Hence we booked again..oh dear, room was stiflingly hot, room was dirty, mattress was cheap cheap cheap! Worse to come on the way home..we rang & were told taxi would be fifteen minutes. After twenty mins we rang again to be asked which terminal we were waiting at! At three o'clock on a frosty October morning this was no joke!
Eventually the driver turned up saying "Sorry" but left it to another (vexed& exhausted) couple in the car to explain that they had also been waiting over half an hour for the taxi. Poor things were staying overnight...
No more, no more!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for better quality...you know you're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lelly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in mid Oct having flown into Gatwick on a very late flight. We'd arranged to leave the car prior to the hol, so had an inkling of what may face us! Despite booking the transfers and reiterating the times on arrival, we were still left waiting at the airport for 35mins at 3am - not fun. No apology was offered after 2 calls and the bus finally arriving. When we arrived at the hotel, the place smelt strongly of stale frying. The reception was unfriendly, and given the time of morning all they wanted was for us to pay (we'd already booked with credit card details online). When we finally got to our to our room, it was cold, dated, in poor repair and small. It seemed clean enough, although the bathroom was in really bad condition, but I have to say I didn't look too closely!! It was noisy, and we managed about 4 hours sleep before checking out. On check out, we were told to sort out the parking ourselves, as we were boxed in.

I wish I'd read more about it before booking. Seriously, don't bother! I can't stop itching since I've read about the bed bugs! I'm really struggling to understand why neither environmental health nor the owners are addressing these problems.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wew had pre booked and had no choice but to stay at the White House as we had already paid up front .
What was good we were collected and dropped off at Gatwick aorport .
The Hotel as such was grubby, the beds uncomfortableand dirty, our room non smoking was not ready when we arrived 11 pm and had been sprayed with a deoderant to hide the smoke smell.Breakfast was slow and not very appertising, service was non existant and the staff very rude. We witnessed a guest being asked to leave the breakfast room while still eating as it was past 9am.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there choose ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfreak550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

It had 4 diamond rating, how...I dont know!! Less of a hotel more of a persons house. The room was fine, but small. Bed and floor creaked!! It was clean but thats it. Breakfast was appalling. I have never, never known anything like it. We went in, the manager looked at us and just walked around doing odd things. We had to say we are here for breakfast. He said help yourself. Help yourself to what!!! no bread left, one glass of orange juice left in the jug. There was one hot plate with metal dishes on. Sausages, 1 slice of bacon left, 2 spoonfulls of beans, 2 cold very over cooked eggs in it and that was it. I said to my husband this is absolutely awful.Lets just eat and leave. We told the manager there was no bacon, he went off,cooked some then came out the kitchen with a frying pan walking round to people saying 'u want bacon, u want bacon??' omg!! oh and no knives left, we found our own in a drawer. 5 mins later saw his 4 year old son going through the drawers just playing with the cutlery.what the hell!! Do not go here, please pay a bit more and go somewhere decent. Wish I had looked on here now before booked.

Room Tip: Dont go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucky_claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was the first time my daughter and myself had used a hotel at Gatwick to make things easier for ourselves for a early flight BUT i have never been so speechless in my life...When we got there,no one spoke to us and there was no where to park outside and when my daughter asked where we should park,the man shrugged his shoulders! we were thrown a key that was heavier than our suitcase and not even shown to our room.Then after tripping over the carpet to our room,when we opened the door it smelt inside and was so old and dated.The tv didnt work,the window was broke ,so didnt shut properly,and unless you are a size 10 then you couldnt get in the shower....the overall stay was horrible ,like something out of the movies,it gave us the creeps,even the airport driver never spoke or helped with our suitcases.we will never go there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gainsborough Lodge
Gainsborough Lodge
#9 of 11 in Horley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick White House Hotel

Property: Gatwick White House Hotel
Address: 50-52 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gatwick White House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gatwick White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick White Hotel
Hotel Gatwick White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing