We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a party!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Sorriso

Il Sorriso
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Il Sorriso Restaurant is located a 5 minute drive from Gatwick Airport. We are a warm, welcoming and child- friendly restaurant, who use nothing but fresh ingredients to cook our many varied menu, which includes many mouth watering pasta dishes, chicken and fresh fish. We serve the best Pizza's around which are cooked fresh and baked in our special pizza oven by our pizza chef. We cater for parties and special occasions, and children's menu is available. A superb wine list is also available for those wine lovers out there.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a party!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Joined work colleagues for our Christmas dinner here. Service very welcoming and friendly. Drinks order taken and arrived swiftly. Allowed more than enough time to enjoy our 1st round of drinks and look at the menu before ordering our food. Picked at a lovely selection of garlic & pizza breads. Then followed by a nice selection of starters for the table. My main course was a lovely traditional spaghetti polpette (meat balls in tomato sauce!!). And everyone else at the table enjoyed what they had chosen for theirs. Didn't have a chance to try dessert as was to full. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone having a party or just a nice evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    109
    27
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I went last night, me and my girlfriend for a dinner. The restaurant was very busy, food was excelent. We were looked after very well, specially we just arrived from the north.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food - but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Food is always good, served hot and wide choice. Staff changes have caused attitude changes. At times it seems as though they believe they are doing you a favour by serving you. We witnessed a lady customer on a nearby table being shouted at by the manager for complaining about her meal after she had eaten some of it!!.

The entire restaurant was privileged to the outburst. It is very noticeable that on entering your coat is quickly taken and menus provided but on leaving there is no thank you, goddbye or anything else and find your coat if you can.,

This restaurant does provide good food at reasonable prices but they do need to remember that we are in a recession and locals and vistors do have a choice and also have memories.

We do not enjot isoteric foods and therefore enjoy itilian restaurants for the future we would choose to travel a little further in return for a more relaxing atmosphere.

Bizz4

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good atmosphere, reasonable prices, very friendly staff. Have eaten here several times over many years. Menu is not very imaginative, but the food and service and is always great, and prepared fresh.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A group of us turned up for a meal at peak time on Saturday night. We had forgot to advise them of extra people but that was no problem and we were soon seated. Drinks arrived quickly along with the fist course and everything looked good, then the main meals arrived and they were FANTASTIC, more wine and coffee and the bill arrived, only £30 a head and worth every penny. It seems to get crowded and noisy, which is exactly what you would get in Italy, so maybe not the place if your after a quiet romantic meal. This is authentic Italian food at its best. I have booked again for this Friday as there are so many delights on the menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank Les666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Sorriso also viewed

 

Been to Il Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing