We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yew tree guest house horley gatwick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yew Tree Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yew Tree Guest House
Ranked #20 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yew tree guest house horley gatwick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at the Yew Tree for four weeks while on a coarse , period property with amazing rear gardens. very handy location as you have all the facilitys of Horley on your doorstep, takeaways , supermarkets , pub/restaurants and shops and Gatwick Airport a stones throw away.
I personnaly found the rooms more than adequate, clean and tidy , fresh towels Tv etc. rooms cleaned daily and the same for the bathrooms as well , a cleaning lady attends on a daily basis ,
The parking facilitys are good , no knocks or dinks and like i say I stayed for four weeks .
Good value for money compared to what other B+B / hotels charge ,
If you get a chance , spend a bit of time with John the owner , He is a smashin fella , who I could talk with for hours .

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank gjw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
14
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The review is late as we stayed here 2 years ago when we returned from Egypt, we landed at about 10.00pm and by the time we got to the Yew tree it was about 11.00pm and we knocked and knocked on the door rang the bell and were just getting into the car when the owner appeared at the door saying he forgot we were coming! Jeez. The room was ok but very dated and all the toilets and shower were shared- nothing en-suite, breakfast was just about ok but that's it, would not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Horley hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Room was ok but toilets - disgusting and we were also woken up every time someone flushed due to paper thin walls, shower facilities - disgusting, no hot water, continental breakfast was awful the croissants literally had specs of mould so had to be thrown away.

Paid extra for parking (as was flying from gatwick so left the car at the B&B - the only reason we stayed there) the spaces were tight, the owner maintained they were the same size as Tesco car park but they were not, I was almost brushing wing mirrors with the car next to me and I only have a civic and the car next to me was a focus so average sized cars. This resulted in my car being scuffed and scratched while I was away as people tried squeezing themselves and/or their bags between cars.

I raised these two issues (damaged car due to stupidly tight parking) and the mould on my croissants with the owner once we arrived back after our holiday to collect our car and I found his attitude abbrasive, unapologetic, argumentative and almost angry as he denied there was a problem with anything. I suggested he got rid of a parking space or two and he refused saying the spaces are more than big enough and its not his problem if someone damaged my car on his property, I said if he insists on having room for 10 cars (try to picture that as you arrive if you can) then I won't be using his B&B again, with that he said "fine" and slammed the door.

Won't be using again, looks nice from the outside and the room looks ok at first glance but overall experience was terrible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaminben89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Yew Tree Guest House, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
We have been running Yew Tree for 22 years and never had such bad reviews.I is not in our interest to give our guests a bad experience.
Please note the following points.
1. We only have five rooms Family en suite,one Twin and one double room and Two single rooms,so a maximum of six people would be sharing a seperate bathroom and a seperate toilet.
2. Most of the internal walls are block and plaster as the house was built in 1939 so noise has not been a ploblem in the past.
3. Maintenance for central heating and electrical is carried out by British Gas under home agreement contract.
4. We only provide continental breakfasts,croissants are purched from Tesco on average three times a week.
5. Car parking has been a problem as some guests do not seem to understand the request to park between marker posts. We have checked the spacing which is the same space as Tesco parking !
6. We have an annual inspection by the Guest House Association.
One last note. This reviewer had slight damage to his car which resulted in a very belligerant
responce on his part. We did not charge him extra for parking only our £2 per day
John Stroud
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

my wife and myself have travelled the world over the last 40 yrs and yew tree must be the worst b&b that we have ever stayed in.The bathroom light bulb needed replacing;the tv was unwatchable due to a very poor signal;the continental breakfast was an absolute joke;the general feel of the property was run down with poor maintenance the only excuse being that the owner was elderly.We had booked for two nights but one was enough so we found an excellent guest house ioo metres away which was clean,efficient and friendly.We do not normally complain but there are limits.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dumpling09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

stayed in here last march for 3nights. very clean and cousy. the owners are very friendly :) its cheap to stay here. there is only one bathroom and you will have to share it with the other guests, no towels were provided or toiletries. (there is one en-suite room though) the rooms are not "sound proof" you will be able to hear other guests tv and people talking. the bathroom is very cold and the water takes ages to heat up. they provide a super mini breakfast, a couple of mini croissants with jam and a juice/tea/coffee, and some tiny wee cookies. its a nice cheap place to stay if you are only staying for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strellicya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.6 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Lawn Guest House
The Lawn Guest House
#17 of 30 in Horley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Guest House

Property: Yew Tree Guest House
Address: 31 Massetts Road | Near Gatwick Airport, Horley RH6 7DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run Guest House. Near Gatwick Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Yew Tree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing