We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to the Holiday Inn” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go to the Holiday Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Waste of money... cheap it is yes and you get what you pay for. The room was ok it was reasonably clean and large enough in the quiet end of the hotel but I've stayed there before it can get very noisy in other areas. No twin beds just double and a put up bed so one of you has to be even more uncomfy if your not a couple! The lights in the corridor didnt like turning on so you were left walking around in darkness. Food was awful we ordered simple burgers and it was cheap rubbish meat that wasnt cooked properly and tasted disgusting the food was spat out and refunded.... went to the holiday inn up the road where the food was fantastic so look again before booking as by the time you add taxi costs on from the airport it isn't worth it!
Also there was a big sign saying kingsize beds in our rooms but we were told it was a lie as the hotel has none so why advertise it?!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank DanBoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thanks for your review DanBoozer. Travelodge are currently completing a refurbishment programme across all of our hotels and our Gatwick Airport Central hotel have king sized, pocket-sprung ‘Dreamer’ beds in all of the rooms. We are sorry to learn that your meal did not meet with your expectations. Our staff know the importance of providing a great service and we’ll be sure to make our Hotel Management team aware of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    986
    554
    259
    271
See reviews for
776
1,115
414
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed here for one night as I had a 7am check in at Gatwick. I normally stay in the Premier Inn but I was able to book the Traveldoge much more cheaply at £26 and decided to try it.

I took the airport hoppa bus to the hotel at about 9.30pm which was very easy, Buses leave from Stand 9 outside the South Terminal (not sure of the number for North Terminal) and run every 10 minutes. It is £3 each way (you cannot buy a return). It took about 10 minutes to reach the Travelodge and stops right outside the door.

I used the self service checkin kiosk and went straight to my room - although finding it was not the easiest - signage could be improved.

The room was similar to a Premier Inn (my usual choice) but smaller. This was of no matter though as I was only there to sleep and shower. Everything was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I wasn't aware of any noise from planes/traffic/other guests.

I did not book any meals so cant comment on the food.

There was no one on reception when I was leaving the next morning so I simply left my key card on the desk and took the hoppa bus back to the airport. All very simple, no fuss! I can't comment on service as I didnt speak to anyone! The journey back to the airport took 17 minutes as we had a short wait at one of the hotels on route.

I would definitely stay here again for an early flight,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank samfan121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
258 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Perfect location for Gatwick airport (5 mins by taxi), and at £26 for 2 people for a night, it is difficult to complain. you know what you get with a Travelodge. It serves a purpose perfectly, with restaurant on site and good security from ground floor up to rooms. However, I have given it 3 stars as it was the worst bed I have ever slept on at a hotel, EVER. I had booked a twin room but was allocated a family, so there was a lovely, comfy double bed and two pop up beds (that come out from under the main bed frame). The pull out bed was like sleeping on a bit of board. So so uncomfortable that I was awake for longer than I was asleep, and I have no problems sleeping in most places. The next day my back ached, my neck ached and I did not feel well rested to beign my holiday. I slept better sat up in economy on EasyJet! Such a shame. Great place to stay, but avoid the pop up bed AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel twice now, first because I had a very early flight and second as couldn't get a hotel room in London cheap last minute. Both times was very happy with the room.

The rooms are generally clean and spacious- in fact on first stay think I had a family room where they took out the extra bed, as there was lots of floor space. Showers are bit small, but again clean. Food in bar is OK, bit cold for my liking, but nice. there is a shuttle bus that runs from both terminals for a small fee. Hotel also has check-in machines which is handy when get off the shuttle bus with a mass of other people. There is also a little garage with a shop on the corner if you need anything else. One downside no hairdryer in room, but reception have some you can borrow. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night prior to a flight. Check in was quick, staff cheerful and helpful. Room was basic but clean, but there was a large empty space I'm guessing used to house a sofa. Now there is just one chair, so one of you has to perch on the bed. The air con worked, but not very powerful, so it was a bit tovwarm but the bed was very comfy, and the pillows just right. We had dinner in the restaurant. The decor is a bit 'upmarket canteen', food portions were generous. The quality and price were about on a level with your average Harvester type restaurant. Breakfast was a limited buffet, but was good quality, especially the Cumberland sausage. This hotel is great for a stopover, doesn't pretend to be anything else, and at £24.00 a night we were happy. Would stay here again. Parking rates are a bit steep, but it is convenient.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theatrephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Wyrley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I required a hotel overnight before a flight from Gatwick the next day, and chose the Travelodge Gatwick Central based on price. It was cheaper than the other hotels in the area, including my preferred Gatwick hotel, Premier Inn North Terminal.

The hotel is easily accessed by shuttle bus, of which there is a charge of £3 each way. Compared to some shuttle buses (i.e. Heathrow, Manchester) this is cheap and we were at the hotel from South Terminal in about 10 minutes (Travelodge is the second drop off).

The hotel has recently received the 'new' Travelodge look and is fairly nice inside. My room was on the ground floor, at the very back of the hotel in an annexe. It's a very odd layout, and at first it was hard to find my room! The rooms are not numbered logically and there are lots of corridors to navigate with some poor signage in places. However, I found it in the end.

My double room had the usual Travelodge amenities, and was well sized compared to some of their newer hotels (presumably because this was another hotel prior to Travelodge taking it on). The 'new' look is quite nice, but the rooms are still a bit sparse.

We opted for dinner in the hotel, as we've had previous experience with Travelodge bar cafes and found them to be satisfactory. There is now a meal deal (main and drink) for £9.95 which is good value considering it's a hotel. Sadly, the restaurant lets the hotel down. It's like walking into a school canteen. Very big, open, echoey and clinical. Half of the restaurant is shut off in the evening, with tables already laid for breakfast the next morning. Not sure how this would work if the restaurant was full! The food was distinctly average, compared to our previous Travelodge experiences. The food wasn't very hot when it came out, and the fish was a bit hard. Chips were nice though! Drinks prices are expensive and I wouldn't have a drink outside of the meal deal.

I had a good nights sleep, which is quite important for a hotel at an airport, and the environment was very quiet given we were in an annexe at the back of the hotel with no roads or paths bordering us. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here, but the restaurant does need looking at. I'd certainly come back, if only for the cheap room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMTaylor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had one nights stay here before flying from Gatwick Airport.
Room was very reasonably priced and I had a great nights sleep. Room was clean with tv and coffee/tea asking facilities. The Travellodge had a 24 hour snack and drink service which was great.
Ideal for a stop over before or after a flight. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Suewebb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.0 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Property: Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing