We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a handily located airport Travelodge. Its really cheap. Is it going to be the best hotel you've ever stayed in? No. Is it a clean, warm, surprisingly quiet and cheap place to stay while you wait for a morning flight connection? Yes, yes it is.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank jarethshair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,231 - 3,237 of 3,680 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Decided to try a hotel near Gatwick for a 6:55am flight to Barcelona instead of the usual 3am taxi. After checking various options at exorbitant prices, I found a £32 deal at Travelodge. We arrived at 6:30pm and checked in using the machine - very easy. Room was one of the newly refurbished ones, with comfy bed, blackout curtains and tv - great We tried the onsite restaurant for dinner and took dessert and a bottle of wine back to the room - good.

Sleep was good, until people started leaving around 3am and the corridor lights filtered under the door. Not sure why this design is an issue, as many other hotels I've stayed in don't have this issue.
Also, the only free wifi was in the restaurant area, in your room you would have to pay to access. Seems weird in 2013.

Overall a good choice at a good price for what we got, and if we had a early flight I would use this hotel again. Easy to get to and from via shuttle-bus from both terminals @ £3 per person each way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Michelle074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This Travelodge hotel is great!, you can get the shuttle bus from the Airport (both terminals) for only £3.00 each, they drop you right by the door. The hotel is one Travelodge has taken over so the room sizes are really generous and comfortable, the lounge and bar area are Hugh!!, more could have been done to make it more intermit, however the bar prices are really reasonable and the food on offer looked really nice, plus for the seasoned traveller the bar is open 24 hours ...... Hic!!. would we stay here again?....YES we would.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingswoodkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed the night before our early morning flight and deceided to try this Travelodge as we stayed at Lowfield Heath last year. Much improved from their other hotel, but it's still quite souless and the staff, although friendly enough, don't go out of their way to provide great customer service. There wern't many parking spaces left when we arrived which was about 9pm and then we had trouble getting the parking ticket out the machine. One of the receptionists had to hoist it out with her fingers. Nice!
Room was fine and it did the trick for one nights stay. Didn't have dinner or breakfast, so can't comment im afraid. Would I stay here again? At those prices, yes of course!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

location is good for both Gatwick terminals. BUT Travelodge say that they do not own or control the car park for which there is a £7-50p charge for 12 hours this is more expensive than the airport itself. So pay up or risk being clamped by a very keen parking crew. Only found out about the charges after I had arrived ( A rip off).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank agadir-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your review agadir-44. We are sorry to learn you were unhappy with the car park charges at this hotel. We can confirm that this car park is operated by a 3rd party, APCOA, and you can prepay for this service by following the link on your confirmation email or a link on our website once you have booked your room. Customer may also pay on arrival. Car parking charges are £7.50 per 24 hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Not normally a hotel chain I would consider due to previous bad experiences but arriving at gatwick after midnight with all hotels full to the brim,gave it a shot and surprisingly better than expected.Allocated a newly refurbished bedroom,basic but practical with a large bed and plump pillows Quiet accommodation allowing for restful sleep.Got a few funny looks arriving in a suit and tie but staff attentive.Instructed to go back outside and feed a parking machine at £7.50 for 5 hours parking a bit steep especially when the machine didn't produce a ticket and the night porter then provided me with a scribbled note for my windscreen. Not my first choice when visiting Gatwick but the experience hasn't put me off from going again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Steelers 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The room provided all our needs, very clean, comfortable firm bed with fresh smelling pillows and a mirror in the bedroom to use when the bathroom is occupied. Inexpensive, so no frills, but more than adequate. The breakfast was good, too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: $61 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing