We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Gatwick airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel
Ranked #27 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We used this hotel for an overnight stay and free parking for one week. The road directions were not that accurate and it took a few extra miles to actually find the hotel. However, when we arrived we were greeted by very pleasant and helpful staff. This "Days Hotel" is not as modern as others we have stayed in but the room was of good size, clean and fully equipped. Being winter we would have appreciated a more efficient source of hot air through the air con unit, and the bathroom towel rail radiator was permanently off, making the bathroom a might chilly. In common with many hotel rooms these days energy saving bulbs do not give sufficient light for reading. An over-bed spotlight would have been nice. Having an early flight we did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Again, the morning reception staff were cheerful and helpful and our shuttle to the airport (£5 ppn. return) quick and comfortable. Will we stay there again? Yes, as it is convenient for the airport and free parkling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglesclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had the end attic room. Sparsely furnished but ok. However the heating vent is near the ceiling which is fine if you are tall but it took a while to warm the lower part of the room. It was windy and the air vent in the bathroom seemed to let all the cold air in. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was acceptable but suggest that you only opt for breakfast if you want full english as the price is the same. We only wanted continental and got very little for our £5 each. There was only one waiter on duty and he could not cope with the number of guests. It would be better to wait until you get to the airport to eat..

Room Tip: Rear rooms have train noise. Front rooms have road noise but did not affect sleep too mucb
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruardean89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We recently stayed here before flying to Morocco and found it ideal for travellers using Gatwick Airport. The hotel is about three miles from the airport and the shuttle service to and from the airport was very quick and efficient. The hotel is modern and very pleasantly decorated and clean. The bedrooms are comfortable and well equipped, as are the bathrooms. The dining room serves both Indian and European menus and the Indian menu dinner which we chose was very good indeed. The breakfast was buffet style and the orange juice and coffee weren't great but it was perfectly acceptable. We would certainly not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue2652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Reading the reviews I can guess that we had one of the newly renovated rooms on the ground floor. Sufficient space for our luggage, clean, well presented with a fairly new bathroom. Tea and coffee, the usual stuff. Efficient check in. Hassle free. Bus to Gatwick on time. Exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Parked my car here for a week and stayed the night before a flight from Gatwick. Great value. Room was absolutely fine, staff were friendly, transfer was easy and my car was as I had left it. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llandow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrive late at night and no food or drink available. Not wot I expect of an airport hotel! Also I went fr breakfast next lot in and waited 10 minue for a waiter to appear and left without eating! It was 8.30!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had booked a parking and overnight stay via Holiday Extras prior to an early flight.
Days (formerly Skylane, and often still referred to as such by taxi drivers and signs) was easy to find, even in the dark, and it was easy to find a parking space near the entrance - important as we had heavy luggage for two weeks.
Check-in was efficient rather than friendly - we had to sign disclaimer forms for the parking - and were allocated a nice, clean room on 2nd floor, comparable with Premier Inn or Travelodge.
The bar & restaurant were in the basement, and offered a simple English menu or an extensive and very impressive Indian menu. We are not at all knowlegeable about Indian cuisine, but couldn't resist the appearance and aromas of the food coming to nearby tables, so ordered blindly - and it was superb! The service was good and the wine & beer reasonable. Got our holiday off to a great start. I would certainly stay here again for Gatwick flights.
They have a courtesy minibus, but we were not too sure about the "on demand" description, so played safe and paid slightly more for a taxi transfer, (Roadrunners, via Holiday Extras) as we also had a very early return. It was probably not necessary, as the minibus was in action both ways at our times.
The only problem we experienced was not down to the hotel or taxi, but the appalling baggage delay at North terminal, who took 55 minutes to get our luggage through, despite being the only incoming flight at the time. I guess we fell foul of a shift changeover at 6.00am. All you need after a 9 hour flight. Typically, there was no-one to complain to or take responsibility.

Room Tip: Our room was a bit chilly on arrival (zero outside) but we followed the simple instructions provided...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigal257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Address: 34 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: $51 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel, the shortest of short-hauls away from London Gatwick Airport, is ideal for overnight stays en route to foreign destinations and just the ticket for short breaks close to London too. The hotel is as affordable as it is affable, combining great value with friendly service and warm Best Western personality. And as you would expect from a conveniently located London Gatwick Airport hotel, we offer parking and transfers to make your journeys a joy. Situated in the south east of England, the BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel also puts you within touching distance of Central London, with a 45 minute train ride making departures to London Gatwick Airport equally hassle free. From our bar to our breakout areas and our restaurant to our rooms, the hotel has everything you might need for functions, conferences, meetings, weddings, private parties and great nights sleeps! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing