We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor check in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor check in service”
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed for one night before flying on to Orlando. The only bad part of the hotel was check-in. We booked through BA and they had messed up the names which was not the hotels fault, but the fact that they put a poor trainee on a busy front desk with no help (he actually asked for help and was told very abruptly to look on the computer!) did not help. Check in took half an hour, which seems like ages at 11.30pm when you are with an 8 year old!
The family room we booked was fine, clean and an ok size for one night.
The breakfast the next day was good and the transfers to/from the airport were also handy. I would stay here again as it would probably only be for one night.

  • Liked — close to airport
  • Disliked — check-in!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenBonJovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    766
    426
    114
    78
See reviews for
384
851
127
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

I was stuck in London one night and needed to stay close to the airport to get out early the next day. On recommendation of my mother I booked the Holiday Inn at the airport, and it was a great choice. First of all, there is a shuttle that runs every 15 minutes from the hotel to the airport for 3 pounds, which is much less than a cab, and very convenient. Also, there is a bar/restaurant in the lobby of the hotel with reasonably priced food which is good. The room was typical of a Holiday Inn room, however, was clean and the bed comfy. I got a rate of 79 pounds online, which is very reasonable by London standards. London is one of my favorite places to visit and if I were coming for vacation, I would definitely pick somewhere closer to town, however, for an airport hotel, this one is really good. Also, it is pretty convenient to get to downtown London b/c all you have to do is go to the airport and take the Gatwick Express straight to Victoria Station.

  • Liked — Close proximity to the airport
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scmommy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed here for one night before an early morning flight from Gatwick Airport which is just a short ride from the hotel. We went by taxi to the airport which actually worked out cheaper than getting the shuttle which we did on the return journey. Part of the package was parking for our car while we were away.

The hotel was comfortable, the service was good and we enjoyed a buffet meal in the restaurant. Our grandchildren ate free which was a bonus.

We were able to go to the airport to check in for our flight the evening before travelling so we were able to enjoy our dinner knowing that we already had our boarding passes for the next morning.

A relaxed way to start a holiday.

  • Liked — Convenience for the Airport
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire,UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed here for a night before an early flight in July 08 on a deal which includes 2 weeks car parking. Rooms are fine & you leave the car parked in the hotels car park (they may move it while you're away but it's parked right next to the hotel exit for your return) We took a short (20 minute) walk to a great pub (The Black Horse on Reigate Road which served good value food & drinks) if you'd prefer to eat off site. Buses run every 15 minutes from the hotel to the airport & back. Stress free way to start a holiday.

  • Liked — convenience for Gatwick Airport with good pub nearby
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank IanMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for 1 night in between flights at the Gatwick Airport. I didn't use the shuttle from the airport because I was traveling with lots of luggage and a small child but the taxi cost only about 7 Euros.
I was greeted as soon as I walked in and directed to the Front Desk where I was checked in quickly. Our room with 2 single beds was very clean and very quiet.
I didn't visit the Restaurant or the Pub but was downstairs briefly and it seemed to be a very busy place even at 11pm.
There was internet in the lobby near the bar but you have to pay with your credit card to access.
The bus came in the morning to take us to the airport and it cost a couple Euros. I thought it was supposed to be free, but maybe there was a free shuttle I missed?!
All in all it was a very nice stay. Maybe a bit overpriced but most nice hotels on Airport grounds cost a bit more than the others further away.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lupapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY Metro area
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is not your average airport hotel! A five minute walk from a historic 14th century pub in Crawley, the HI Gatwick was comfortable, although not luxurious and a terrific deal for families (kids under 14 eat free from a special but generous menu). After 3 weeks in Europe with 6 lodging changes our family of 5 needed a [affordable] place to rest and relax before our flight home.

Upon arrival, there were several business people in the lounge area. However, by 5pm, reception area was hopping with kids and families. No pool (small fee to use the one at a nearby hotel) but no worries once the kids found our there was a Pillow Menu.

Enjoyed mainly by locals, it is a perfect place for families to leave their car and enjoy a decent night's rest before flying. Our rooms were interconnected - one with 2 twins and a rollaway and the other with a king. They did offer single rooms that could accommodate 5 and they are reconfiguring rooms that will host 6-7, in an effort to attract even MORE families.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmomcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Having stayed in some dreadful airport hotels, I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, modern and bright. Reception was busy but we didn't need to wait too long. The restaurant served good quality food and the service was good. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. Parking services were very efficient, probably one of the easiest airport parking experiences I've ever had. We will definitely use this hotel next time we have an early or late flight.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMillsTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing