We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A convient place to stay - but be warned the transfer bus may be full!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A convient place to stay - but be warned the transfer bus may be full!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions. I have always booked the car parking package. My last stay was at the beginning of June. There are four aspects that an airport hotel has to offer.

1. EASE OF PARKING - The whole process from arriving at hotel and checking the car in is very easy. My car has always been treated well and have never had any problems leaving the car at this hotel. It should be noted that you have to leave your car keys with the hotel during your holiday. The car is moved whilst you are away but I believe only a short distance. My car has always been ready for me on return and you can be on theroad within a few minutes of returning to thehotel following your holiday.

2. ROOMS - The rooms are fairly standard. They are clean. The beds are comfortable. I would recommend using the "pillow menu" and getting your personal choice of pillow for a comfortable nights sleep.

3. RESTAURANT- The restaurant is based on the ground floor near the bar. It serves a standard grill type menu. There is a great deal of choice and unfortunately the food can be greasy. You can also get food in the bar next door. The service in the restaurant can be sporadic depending on how busy it is.

4. TRANSFER BUS - Be warned the number of hotels that the transfer bus that serves the hotel has recently been changed. Up until very recently the transfer bus only called at two hotels. It now calls at three. The holiday inn is the last hotel for pick ups. I had an early flight and expected to easily get on the bus at 4:30am. Imagine my surprise when the bus turned up all ready three quarters full. This meant that not everyone waiting could get on the bus. Everyone had a flight to catch and there was a great deal of anger and disappointment. The driver highlighted that another bus would be along in 15 minutes. The problem is with thr holiday inn being last on the circuit there is now noguarantee that this will not be a regukar occurrence. This may affect me booking with the hotel again. The only reason for staying is to make it easier to get to the airport and if this is no longer possible what is the point?

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift. In this way you are not disturbed by tge banging of doors as peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear sunseeker999,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am pleased that we have hosted you on a number of visits and our parking situation was convenient for your needs. However, I am disappointed that the transfer bus situation was an inconvenience. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    773
    433
    114
    81
See reviews for
388
864
129
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for just 1 night prior to heading off to Alicante early the next morning. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and we had also arranged to leave the car parked there during our holiday in Spain. This was easy and handled very well. When on our return my car would not start they were very helpful and provided jump leads and we were off in seconds. Airport shuttle bus is extra but it was a good, easy and quick service. Did not eat anything there as we arrived late and had a very early flight to catch. I would certainly use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for you great review. We are glad that we were able to assist with your car and that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,

Adrian
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Clean, older building. Staff very helpful & professional. Needs air conditioning to keep up with competition. Very kind to let us in hours earlier, without additional charge. Good stop over for airport. Easy shuttle service to & from airport (pick up & drop off right at hotel door, 3 pound per person. Can buy tickets from bus driver or from hotel front desk). Hotel also provides a park & fly service. Variety of food choices available on site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Cathy M,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciated our hotel, the service you received and the food choices. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the air conditioning at our property. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very convenient to spend a night at this hotel and leave your car there for 15 days.Great value for money.A nice and clean room with tea making kit etc.But the terminal bus does not come in the price,to drop yours and your partners case off the day before your flight allow another £24.00 for all coach trips.
The food at this hotel is very expensive for pub grub,something like £12.00 for burger and chips.Next time we use this hotel we will have a picnic,bar prices are very reasonable.
Very convenient,we previously used the Europa,this hotel is far, far better.

Room Tip: As a one off I am unable to specify but I would want an east facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuzco48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear cuzco48,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry We fell below your expectation regarding the shuttle service arrangement. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked this hotel (2 rooms) for the night before our 10 day holiday in Florida.

We arrived quite late and check in was smooth with no problems at all. We went straight to our rooms which were clean and well laid out. We had requested adjacent rooms which we did not get but the rooms were only a few doors apart so there was no issue as it was only for one night.

We ate in the Hotel at the Hub and the food was very good, as was the service. We could not fault it.

The parking arrangements were as arranged and I could not find any fault with the hotel whatsoever.

On returning to the hotel our car was parked in the pick up area and was in the same condition it had been left in.

I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamorgan991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your great review! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Adrian
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here after a late flight meant I could not take the Gatwick Express into London. Booked the room the day before on Late Rooms and got a decent deal. Taking the bus from the airport was fairly straight forward, just need to wait for half an hour after midnight for the bus but the jourmey is only 10 minutes.

The room was clean enough and there was plenty space. The bathroom in particluar was well equiped and the shower/bath was new and modern. Check in was quick and service was generally fine. However it is a little dated and being an airport hotel there is noise with people coming and going during the night (like me!). However, it was listed as a 4* - think it is more a decent 3*.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilleMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear FamilleMac,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about our hotel. We are truly delighted you liked our clean and spacious rooms. Please accept my apologies for any noise that kept you awake during your stay and condition of the property that was less than satisfactory. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My first impression wasn't that great and this started when I arrived into Gatwick (South) - it wasn't too clear where the shuttle bus departs from (found it to be stand 9 - service G1/G3). The bus (which you have to pay for) was full and with most people going to the Holiday Inn, the queue to check in was huge, indeed took around 15-20 minutes! I was though upgraded to an 'executive room' which perhaps diffused some of my frustration. Room was the usual Holiday Inn standard and quiet

Room Tip: Try to get off the shuttle bus first to check in to avoid queues
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djgwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Djgwright,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate delays in checking prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing