We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive Drinks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive Drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night prior to an early flight from Gatwick. We booked the excellent value park and stay package. After a long drive down from Lincolnshire, we were both ready for dinner; there was no-one to show us to a table on arrival at the maitre'd desk so we just walked in. Whilst we found the food of average quality and value, we thought that circa £8.00 for a large glass of wine was somewhat excessive. The same bottle of wine would retail at less than £10.00!! Not impressed. Service in the restaurant was slow and erratic, bringing the wrong drinks order initially and missing out part of the food order. Rooms are very good, however, as I always find with HI hotels, the beds are on the very firm side.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Shaun845,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am saddened to read the poor experience and service issues you had in our restaurant. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you and regret the dissatisfaction you had with the level of service provided. Additionally, I am sorry if you found the prices to be expensive.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    749
    422
    111
    78
See reviews for
382
834
125
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Myself and my new bride chose to stay the night here before our early check in to go on honeymoon. We chose this hotel as the shuttle bus was very close to the airport and the service ran regularly 24/7. When we did our booking we noted that we were on honeymoon.

We arrived and were greeted by a friendly reception girl who quickly and efficiently got us checked in and we made our way to the room. We received a call 10 minutes later saying that if we chose to dine in their bar/restaurant they would give us a drink on the house because it was our honeymoon. The personal touch made our stay more than just a bed to sleep in before we got up and got on our flight.

The food was adequate if a touch on the expensive side as were the drinks selection. The staff were friendly and helpful and they had the most wonderful waiter calling system I've ever seen. You pressed a button for the type of service you wanted, eg bill, payment, service, food and they promptly came over to deal with any query or drop off the bill as requested.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edible-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

stayed one night tues left car for 15 days as hotel says dont trust sat nav took me of wrong road at last roundabout took a while to find way in hotel. room fine very clean had a good meal price good all staff very helpfull will use again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stokeferry1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here 18/6 before an early flight the next morning. We joined IHG Park, Stay & Go & have used it several times. Hotel is very comfortable, rooms well laid out. You can eat in the Restaurant or in the bar, or use room service. The restaurant & bar menu are very similar, it would be nice if they were more different giving you a larger choice. There is a transfer bus to both terminals every 15 minutes, & every 30 minutes from midnight until 5am, at £3pp each way. This hotel is an ideal stopover before or after your flight & we will be using it again ,

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeBeeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your positive review, we appreciate your comments.

Kind Regards,

Luke Sturman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one Friday night at the Gatwick Holiday Inn as we had a very early flight next day. We can't comment on value for money as we booked as part of a package.

The room was clean and fresh with a very nice bathroom. Everything looked modern and decorated well. Our room was a twin which was fine and there was plenty of room to walk between the beds etc. There was also a comfy chair. Overall pleased with the look and feel of our room and the public spaces were pleasant & welcoming. The only negative and it could be considered a big issue was the noise level, not from the two airport terminals but hotel guests!!!! The walls between the rooms seemed adequate as we heard nothing of our neighbours but the wall to the corridor was paper thin and sound really travelled along it. I could even tell when someone walked along in flipflops! Even past midnight guests were roaming the corridor, talking loudly and generally making a lot of noise. Very annoying and we struggled to get much sleep as a result. Perhaps we were unlucky to get a random bunch of inconsiderate people but if you sleep lightly bring earplugs.

Food and drink was expensive as expected but I have to say the meal we had in the bar was very nice and suitably filling. No need for a kebab later!

There was no free Wi-fi anywhere. However we scored a hit as phone signal was good and strong so we managed without.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank purplesuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pretty easy to find and pretty easy to park. Just note which colour area you are parked in as reception will ask so that they can move the car. Excellent in reception, friendly and helpful. Nice room with a TV that worked. A couple of options for eating both OK but as you would expect a bit pricey. If budget is an issue you can always turn left out of the hotel and walk a few hundred yards to a Tesco express! Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Transfer was easy and ran on time. Car was ready for us on our return. A stress free start to a holiday. We would certainly use again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beware – we booked this hotel with 2 weeks parking. We specifically booked this hotel under guidance from the holiday inn that I could take my car keys away with me but on arrival we were told that all keys needed to be handed in. This seemed to be common practice as cars were packed in bumper to bumper all around the edge of the car park up curbs and on the grass. Upon returning to the hotel after our holiday cars were still packed in in the same way. We have since discovered that this is the norm at this hotel so don’t book this hotel with parking unless you want your car driven up curbs , on rough grass and parked within millimetres of other cars whilst you are away.
The hotel itself was basic but clean and tidy, as expected from the Holiday Inn brand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolfie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Rolfie32,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing