We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER Memorable Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“ANOTHER Memorable Stay !”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the second year in a row during a stop over on the way to Greece and for another night 18 days later during a stop over on the way back. I found it every bit as comfortable, inviting and convenient as I did the year before. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and accommodating which is SO welcome upon arrival. The bar areas are attractive and the menu items are very, very good. Room service is prompt and well thought out. The check out time of 12:00 noon is fantastic as it give you a little extra time if you have an afternoon flight. I booked a standard room with a Queen Size Bed on the way and a larger room with more amenities and a chesterfield on the way back. Unfortunately, there was no chesterfield and the room was not what I had booked. Upon my arrival home in Canada, I called Holiday Inn and expressed my disappointment and WITHIN DAYS received a cheque for the difference between the second room rate and a standard room rate. Impressive! No long story required, no arguments, a sincere apology and no wait for the funds...I cannot imagine staying with another hotel chain. Well Done!!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms might be a tad quieter than the first floor. If you are 'jet lagged' (as I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your great comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Regards,

Luke Sturman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    788
    437
    116
    82
See reviews for
394
878
130
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The website of this hotel claims that it's 0.5 miles form the airport, which to me means a 10 minute walk. Unfortunately, because of its location, the bus (or a taxi) is your only option, meaning that in reality you're approx 30 mins away from the airport (bus every 15 mins, takes about 15 mins). At the airport (and on the hotel's website) there is no information re how to get to the hotel - I had to ring up the 10p a min information line to find out that I had to get a bus from stop #8 by the South terminal.

Either pay more and stay in one of the hotels actually at the airport, or pay considerably less and stay in Crawley where it'll still take about the same amount of time to get to the airport - this one represents a pretty poor distance / price combination!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear senaUk,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your experience with us. I am sorry for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret you found our location not satisfactory to your needs. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changchun, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I drove here on a very wet evening and even with a sat nav had trouble finding the hotel as it's down a long lane that seems to be going nowhere. Eventually reaching the car park, I discovered that there was a hefty fee to leave the car there for the night even though the hotel was in the middle of nowhere! The hotel itself was very comfortable and good value for money. The drive to the airport car park in the morning was reasonably straightforward.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are aware that some Sat Navs do not direct you straight to our hotel. Due to this we are currently installing more signage in the area to make it clearer and easier to get to the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Luke Sturman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night 21st Sept 2012, before flying out the next morning. We arrived early to avoid the Friday late afternoon traffic and were allowed to check in early. We actually got our room upgraded at no extra charge. The girl on reception was most helpful and sorted out our airport transfers and car parking. The transfers run every 15 mins and take about 10-15 mins. In the evening we had a lovely meal in the restaurant and a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed. On returning to collect our car two weeks later we were again dealt with efficientally and courteously.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredBirmingham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank You for taking your time to write this wonderful review.

Kind Regards

Luke Sturman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Booked by travel agent for us as we were on an early flight the following morning. Probably wouldn't have chosen hotel. Unlikely to use this chain again. Twice as expensive as Hilton and Marriott, but not the same standard - mainly because of the food!
Room
Check in prompt and efficient. Reasonable. Air conditioned. Two single beds, as requested.
Food - Traders Bar & Grill
Waiter helpful and friendly. Service prompt. That's where the good things end.
The menu promises locally sourced ingredients. My wife and son chose rump steaks, my daughter bacon wrapped chicken and I decided to have a sirloin. There was the choice of sauces - so my wife chose 'peppercorn'. Choice of potatoes - chunky chips, mash or wedges. All sounds very nice doesn't it? The execution was lacking. Peppercorn sauce - no peppercorns, told this was because it was made from powder. It was just gravy. No hint of pepper at all. Smelled like Bisto. 'Chunky chips'. Not really. Aunt Bessie's? Certainly frozen, not what I usually get as chunky chips. The mash tasted like powdered mash.
Overall very overpriced for a poor quality pub food.
Waiter asked us what we thought. I do not like to knock the frontline staff, especially when they are polite and efficient. So apologetically told him the food wasn't up to the standard we would expect for the price, but the service had been good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g4Sandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear g4Sandman,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to know that you had a good experience at check in and you found our room accommodations suitable enough for your stay. I would like to apologize if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the service you received at the restaurant. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It is located 30 minutes away from the airport by bus. The buses leave from bay 9 or 8 on the south terminal and go to both terminals and another hotel before reaching the Holiday Inn. We arrived at 11pm and when we checked in there were 2 receptionists. We were not acknowledged when we reached the desk and when we interrupted her to check in she said to her colleague, "is your computer on, i shut mine already" we were checked in by her male colleague and he too seemed that we were a bother rather than his job. The shuttle buses to the airport run every 30 minutes in the morning and cost £3 per person per journey. Tickets can be bought at the reception desk and the service runs on time. The rooms are classic Holiday Inn standard and very clean, we had a floor on the ground floor and there was no noise whatsoever. At check out, as everything was prepaid so the interaction with reception was minimal but it seemed that the morning shift was also not happy to be facing guests that early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeya_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during your stay with us. Obviously this is not up to our usual high standards of customer service. Therefore we would like the opportunity to investigate this matter. Please could you e-mail details of the check in staff names/descriptions to adrian.arnott@ihg.com so we can look into the matter further.
Again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards,

Luke Sturman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After the Nightmare of Travel Lodge central Gatwick, We walked around the corner to the Holiday Inn and what a relief friendly staff,welcoming foyer, very comfortable bed, tasty restaurant. Green motion rental cars attached to hotel{brand new car all inc for 1 week £300} Train ticket one way to Durham £155 Hire a car with GPS much better deal. Happy travels, Steve the Kiwi.

Room Tip: Dont use Travel Lodge central Gatwick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Steve the Kiwi!

I recall meeting you and having as chat about Alicia on our front desk. Her Manager has been informed about your kind comments and she has been given a recognition reward. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service you received.

Hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#7 of 11 in Horley
1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing