We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Turnover” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“High Turnover”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Sorry. Not the best hotel experience I've ever had. Check-in was difficult - nothing was offered, we had to ask for everything; room was 'ok'; food in the bar was 'ok'; service was 'ok'.

Hotel itself is somewhat rundown, staff is jaded.

But it is at Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
ebookpunkie,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    749
    422
    111
    78
See reviews for
382
834
125
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
490 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

...with a warm welcome, super-fast check-in, loyalty recognition and reward, swift and subtle bar service, clean and well-maintained rooms and great supervisory / management presence, this hotel tops my list of airport hotels.

Room Tip: Hotel has large elevators so don't worry about high floors even if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaysChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the hotel. First, upon entering my room, I noticed many of the complaints mentioned in other reviews were true. If I had control over the hotel selection, I would never have selected this one. I was attending a training class and the fee included hotel and meals. A little wary after getting onto my room, I decided to try my luck during dinner in the dining room. Much to my surprise, the food was outstanding for all meals. As to the complaints about the food being pricey...those reviews were all correct, but probably fair considering location. I noticed that the rack rate was in excess of 200 pounds per night. Given that rate, you are better off going down the road. If you can get it for 60-70 pounds a night, it might be considered a much better deal.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear zenengineer,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns via Tripadvisor. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

I am glad to hear you did enjoy good food and service in our restaurant. I was disappointed to read that you had issue with other aspects, I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croxley Green
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is second time I stayed at this hotel before an early flight.

The common areas are a bit worn but this hotel has high throughput of guests so it's to be expected and doesn't bother me I just need comfortable, non expensive quick to check in hotel that I can leave my car at too.

Check in was quick, room properly prepared and They even brought up a fish tank with 2 fish in to keep the family company!!!!!! Double bed plus double sofa bed meant 2 adults and 2 tots got good nights sleep and shower!

Car parking whilst we took our holiday was included its secure and cheap.

Airport shuttle runs every 15 mins and costs £3 per adult (little kids are free), make sure you get these at check in so you're not rushed in morning.

Check out was quick and staff are really good, helpful and friendly.

All was great here, if room was a little bigger and breakfast started earlier for us 05.30 am leavers it would be perfect BUT this is the airport hotel for me every time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTall_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We recently got a very good deal for parking and a night's stay prior to flying out on holiday. Very efficient and friendly welcome from the receptionist and she guided us to the car park behind the hotel. The room was quite adequate for a night's stay and although were on the front of the hotel, facing the main road, the double glazing ensured that we had a fantastic night's sleep in a wonderfully comfortable bed. Drinks and snacks in the bar were priced to match the location but very efficient service and nice environment. Shuttle bus transported us to the terminal in a matter of minutes. On our return, our keys were returned to us with no delay and our car was literally parked just outside the door - what more could you want after a long day? Good deal, good position and very efficient service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyPMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here in December 2011 to enjoy the best that Gatwick has to offer. We found the room to be spacious, clean and exactly what we needed for the activities we had planned. The hotel bar was well equipped and judging by the people there was ideal for a wedding reception. The shuttle buss to Gatwick was reliable and we were entertained by two twin brothers who seemed to be regulars at the establishment. Sadly, though, we didn't manage to get much sleep owing to extenuating circumstances. With excellent views of the airport and not too far to travel in desperate, urgent need of the room, we would recommend this hotel to any like minded couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrecsandGuaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

The hotel is good, I stayed in an Exec room which was as good as a premier inn. Nothing too special, I think you get a bit of free internet as well.

The staff were very helpful, there is room service (the hot chocolate was terrible) and the room was clean.

There is food on the site, it costs about £8 to go the airport north terminal.

Nothing against this hotel but again nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing