We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night only as I had to catch an early flight. I did not expect anything special, only a comfy bed. But I was a bit annoyed when it turned out there was no hot chocolate and sugar (standard...), so I had to call room service to get some. When I wanted to have a bath, the bathtub turned out to be dirty, I cleaned it myself... When I wanted to close the curtains I saw that it was badly thorn.. I know that this hotel is supposed to accommodate people like me, staying for 1 night to catch a flight, but still...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bedike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,759 - 1,765 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

Everything you need upon arriving or in my case departing is here at the holiday inn. It's positioned near the north terminal. There is a express bus that takes you to the airport terminal.

The rooms are nice and clean and there is a handle next to the bath to aid in getting and out of the bath if needed together with a rubber mat. Highly recommend the room service when your tired. The curtains are nice and dark and the rooms are quiet. They do a buffet breaky which has everything.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitkat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

On first impression the hotel looks ok. Check-in very slow. The Hub Restaurant, food nice, once it came - very slow service staff not on the ball at all. Not really thoughtful toward children, or couples without children.
Anyway the sofa bed was the worst ever - feet higher than head, uncomfortable metal bar across the neck. Noisy room.
Reception desk staff very pleasant and helpful.
I have written to Holiday Inn but I have not had a response at all.
Would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philpottfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My 13 year old son and I spent one night here before our return flight from Gatwick. Our room was great- very roomy & clean. We had dinner at their Hub restaurant , where kids up to 14 eat free. Food and service were just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankeeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed here the night prior to travelling to Greece. Found a parking space easily enough & check in was both speedy & professional. The room, on ground floor, had ample room for 3. Usually my daughter ends up on a camp bed, but had a 'proper' single bed. Room, including bathroom, was clean and well maintained.
We chose to eat in the bar area and hence chose meals from the bar menu, when I say 'meal' I use the term very loosely. I had mozzarella & tomato in Ciabatta, its the first time I had butter (spread very thickly) on Ciabatta, I am not a food snob but olive oil (or even nothing) would have been more in keeping. My husband chose a sort of Indian chicken dish with Indian bread, he was very hungry after eating it as it was more like an appetiser! My daughters Pizza & chips was actually a 'slice' of Pizza and about 15 chips. This was a bit of a joke considering the price!
Next morning & on our return the coach transfer was smooth & quick. On return to hotel, keys were obtained quickly, again good service & the car was where we had parked it. So in a nutshell good hotel with the exception of the food!

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here on 8th June for an early departure from Gatwick. This is our second stay this year. Will definately use again later in the year. Ideal for leaving the car, regular buses to and from the airport (£3.00 charge each way) and very helpful, polite staff. No complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed here as a 'room and parking' deal before an early flight. The room was fine and the bus to the airport was quick and convenient. The prices for food and drink was very high (captive audience, or perhaps the thought is that people have already started their holiday and won't cut costs). Take your own food!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonfoodie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: $89 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing