We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful!”
Review of Castle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Lodge
Ranked #10 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So helpful!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I can not recommend Castle Lodge enough. The staff are helpful and friendly, if you are flying in the morning there is a buffet breakfast and they take you to the airport and keep your car safe and secure while you are away!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    82
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
118
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel was such good value and our early morning transfer to the airport went very smoothly. We were also picked up very quickly when we arrived back. The accommodation was comfortable and clean if a little dated, but that mattered little. We were a bit too early for the breakfast but we had a look and it was very good with a variety of items. We will certainly use this hotel again as it was such good value and made for a hassle free beginning and end to the holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88TraceyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culcairn, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Judy & Paul went out of their way to make sure I enjoyed my stay.
From the time I made a booking, Judy was in touch advising me that she would be happy to pick me up from the train and also drop me at the airport in time for my flight the following day.
Within minutes of contacting her from the station, Judy was there as promised, helping me with luggage and showing me my very pleasant room.
As I had a late flight, my luggage was stored, while I enjoyed a day in the village of Horley.
Paul then drove me to nearby Gatwick airport at a time that suited me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Seven of us stayed here in two comfortable, well-appointed and clean rooms. The hosts were very helpful and eager to please without being obstrusive. We enjoyed an extensive, self-serve contential breakfast.

The location is perfect, a two minute walk to shops and restaurants, on a busy, tree-lined street. The fre shuttle to Gatwick airport was much appreciated.
I would not hesitate to recommend Castle Lodge to anyone wanting a clean, comfortable and reasonable place to stay. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laypreacher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for 1 night before travelling from Gatwick,clean and tidy rooms and a very friendly welcome.We parked our car for 15 nights ,and it was ready for us when we came back.Only had the continental breakfast in the morning because we had an early flight,but there was plenty of choice to choose from.We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kipperNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Castle Lodge for three nights - having chosen it largely because of the many favourable reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately it never really came close to matching our expectations - or indeed living up to those favourable reviews.

Let's start with a couple of the more positive aspects. Of the numerous b&b's located along Massetts Road, Castle Lodge is certainly the closest to Horley town centre. That makes it a five minute walk to the shops, supermarkets, pubs and the railway station - great when you don't want to drive, because you can leave your car in their car park and then take the train to and from London Victoria or London Bridge at a very reasonable price. You can also use Horley to make the short rail journey to and from Gatwick airport itself - although if you're flying from the North Terminal you'll have to take the free shuttle from the South Terminal where the railway station is located. Alternatively, there is also a local bus service available. Speaking of Gatwick, we didn't make use of the b&b's airport collection service - but we noticed that many guests did and this is undoubtedly an important consideration for many people.

Our first impression on walking into Castle Lodge was that it seemed a little bit 'tired' - and this impression was confirmed when we entered our room. We had room number 1 - a triple located on the first floor and accessed via a pretty steep carpeted staircase. We can only speak from our experience of that room but, whilst it was clean enough & generally tidy, the overall appearance and fixtures and fittings would have greatly benefited from a make-over. In particular, there were gaps between the wall and the skirting board, the flooring had definitely seen better days, the television was so small it was not worth watching and the bathroom featured probably the worst shower we have ever experienced - it simply wasn't fit for the purpose.

Breakfast was included - but we were certainly expecting something a little better than what tasted like very 'basic' orange juice, bread, and (inedible) croissants from the supermarket around the corner. On the third morning the coffee percolator finally had fresh water and coffee beans ready to be made into a decent brew - but on the previous two days we had to make do with some kind of pretty awful instant variety from a jar. The percolator had already been used by previous guests and had not been cleaned out or replenished. It's true that there were also cereals, yoghurt & fruit - but, for us, breakfast wasn't a great start to the day.

It's likely that this review won't be very sympathetically received. Paul and Judy will no doubt quite rightly point out that most guests appear happier than we were. However, based on over forty years experience staying in accommodation ranging from backpackers to five-star hotels, our visit to Castle Lodge was certainly not a highlight in any way. What it really lacked more than anything was 'attention to detail' and, with that in mind, an 'average' rating is entirely appropriate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeSurrey, Owner at Castle Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We would like to thank you for the positive aspects of your feedback however we would like to respond to the negative comments you have raised . Firstly we are disappointed that you felt Castle Lodge seemed a bit dated, it is an old Victorian property and certain aspects have been maintained in keeping with that style however all our rooms are regularly maintained and have been updated. If you found the shower to be inadequate, which we weren’t aware of, you only needed to mention this at the time and we would have moved you to another room .
The food we provide is certainly not inedible judging the quantities that are consumed each day and also if this was the case we would be receiving many complaints along this line. The self service continental breakfast we provide is much appreciated by many guests as it provides flexibility for early departures and also for those guests who have had a late night arrival and wish to take breakfast later in the morning. We are sorry you had to ’make do’ with instant coffee you only needed to have asked us to replenish the coffee percolator and we would have been more than happy to do so .
We do understand that everyone’s expectations differ and we have many guests who return to us on a regular basis as they enjoy the service we provide and, like yourselves, many of our guests are seasoned travellers who have stayed in a vast number of other hotels and guesthouses but after having stayed at Castle Lodge say they would not stay anywhere else should they need accommodation in the Gatwick area.
We do strive to provide a friendly, efficient service and we are disappointed that you did not raise these issues with us during your stay as we could have remedied certain aspects, we are extremely sorry you feel we did not meet your expectations.
Paul & Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, room was small, but comfortable, and quiet, which was a huge plus for us. Paul's transport service to the airport was excellent. Very convenient for flights out of Gatwick and also within easy walking distance of the train station for trips into London.
Missed having the option of a hot breakfast, but there was certainly plenty of choice with the Continental breakfast on offer. Would definitely recommend this B and B

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Lawn Guest House
The Lawn Guest House
#18 of 30 in Horley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southbourne Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge

Property: Castle Lodge
Address: St. John Ambulance Hall 28 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing